2014 List Management - Draft & Trade Discussion

Re: 2014 List Management - Draft & Trade Discussion

See that Big Boy McEvoy had a ripping game against Port Adelaide.

magnifisaint wrote:See that Big Boy McEvoy had a ripping game against Port Adelaide.

He got injured. Im unsure how that is fair.

magnifisaint wrote:See that Big Boy McEvoy had a ripping game against Port Adelaide.

Really

magnifisaint wrote:

Really

Yes.

St Ick wrote:Cheers Pluggs, great to hear some inside knowledge. He is my pick of the bunch, but that's going on a lot less research than a recruiter!

I can't see us taking Wright, not while Stanley, Longer and Hickey are on our list. McCartin, or one of GWS's forwards and one of their mids (or major change) for me.
We'll go best available although I'm with you. Wright has a few strings to his bow but hasn't quite found his niche. Even this year he's being thrown around a bit. Whereas McCartin is a bonafide full forward. I also wouldn't be against Brayshaw, the best midfielder in the draft. Looks like another Ollie Wines.

plugger66 wrote:I have a mate who now had a job in recruitment at the pies. He wtaches only Victorian players as that is his role. Had a good chat to him last night about his opions on the draft. rates McCartin as clearly the best tall. Doesnt rate Wright at all. says he would be a bad pick. Goddard is also rated but isnt a true tall in his opinion. Loves Brayshaw. Top 5 in his opinion.

Pretty much how the draft seems to be shaping. Goddard has def drifted out a little for that reason. 2 meter Peter has some question marks, Mc Cartin is the tough nuggety KPF. Quite a few of the Bigfooty draft freaks rate Brayshaw really highly, some saying would prefer him over the talls. Seems like Mc Cartin could go 1 and Durdin 2 then Brayshaw at 3. A lot will depend on the way GWS go with talls. They are so over stocked already they might go Brayshaw at one expecting to loose a few gun mids to go home factor. At least Richmond might p$#@ off away from our pick 2 or 3 now.

This time of year has people shoot up the draft order as they mature and perform in big games. Hard to predict this far out.

McCartin is listed at 192 cm. Although he might grow some more, that's quite a lot shorter than your standard AFL key forward.

Obviously an absolute freak will make an exception, but in context:

Tom Boyd - 201 cm
Patton - 197 cm
Cameron - 196 cm
Hogan - 195 cm
Gunston - 193 cm

If we finish bottom 4 would it really be a bad move going Brayshaw over a key forward?? IMO we need the midfield depth more than a future key forward.

At this stage to help our team development we really need a couple of stronger bodies in the midfield and forward line, those with a couple of seasons in the 23-25 yo bracket, but I don't know if there's any likely players out there to pick up cheap. Speaking of slightly more mature players, I'm surprised Dunnel hasn't got a game yet- especially as a forward, as he is a better mark than Siposs for his size and has a better work rate...it's not like the senior team is so good that probably our best VFL player can't break in...also Lee should be in that team too. Other than that, I think once everyone is over the injury run, we are not too badly off.

FQF wrote:McCartin is listed at 192 cm. Although he might grow some more, that's quite a lot shorter than your standard AFL key forward.

Tom Boyd - 201 cm
Patton - 197 cm
Cameron - 196 cm
Hogan - 195 cm
Gunston - 193 cm

3 out of those 5 have done anything yet. he is 1 cm shorter than Gunstan and 4 shorter than Cameron. I wouldnt worry about his height as he is a true KPP probably a bit like cameron, Gunston and Rooy. Not saying he will reach that standard at all but isnt your stay at home marking forward.

McCartin is now listed at 193cm.

FQF wrote:McCartin is listed at 192 cm. Although he might grow some more, that's quite a lot shorter than your standard AFL key forward.

Tom Boyd - 201 cm
Patton - 197 cm
Cameron - 196 cm
Hogan - 195 cm
Gunston - 193 cm

3 out of those 5 have done anything yet. he is 1 cm shorter than Gunstan and 4 shorter than Cameron. I wouldnt worry about his height as he is a true KPP probably a bit like cameron, Gunston and Rooy. Not saying he will reach that standard at all but isnt your stay at home marking forward.
I mentioned those guys because they are the ones who are widely considered to be the next generation of forwards, and if that is the case, the average height is probably only getting bigger. If I listed established playing forwards like Roughead, Franklin, J Riewoldt, Tippett he's still the shortest.

As I said, that is not enough to rule him out of the equation by any means, and some players play taller than they are, but it is noteworthy.

Also, McCartin plays tall not unlike Darling but he's got a few centimetres on Darling. Height is not everything. He's got a wide frame and loves a contested mark.

Tac Cup Future Stars 2014

Ep 1

Ep 2

Ep 3

Mccartin only 17 so every chance he will grow another cm or two so not that concerned about his height. He looks a solid unit.

My only issue is I dont think he will drop to pick 3.....
He could be Lions bound....

Some questions.....

Would anyone do Patton for pick 3 (0r should we go for someone like Goddard?)

Also which of our players 25 and over might GWS be interested in if any ?

lloyd21

Better still Jeremy Cameron won't sign with Giants long term contract .
Saints offer him large $ x 5years 2015 no one will get near it
Draft best players available this year .

lloyd21 wrote:Better still Jeremy Cameron won't sign with Giants long term contract .
Saints offer him large $ x 5years 2015 no one will get near it
Draft best players available this year .
If we could get one player in the whole league to our club, well, he'd be hard to top I reckon.

That said, we don't want to get caught-out again tying up too much of our salary cap in too few. (We have to leave cap' room for Rory, the other Delaney brother... and don't forget some space to accommodate that Curren-O'Meara trade. :wink: ) I'd also like young Lamb from the upcoming draft... both on ability and the romance of the club connection... romance is good. :D

Ahhhh, what the hell... do the deals Pelican. :D

Should White and Pearce stay on the main list next year?

Both are development prospects and have no chance of getting a game for at least another season.

If they both go down to the rookie list it would be a direct swap for Templeton and Weller.

PJ wrote:Should White and Pearce stay on the main list next year?

Both are development prospects and have no chance of getting a game for at least another season.

If they both go down to the rookie list it would be a direct swap for Templeton and Weller.
I like the idea, but I don't think you can just swap players between lists like that… White & Pierce would need to be redrafted in the rookie draft and risk being taken by other sides.

I'm happy for one or both of Weller & Templeton to stay on the rookie list, the chances of not getting long term injuries is so low that I am sure they will be upgraded through the year if needed. We saw Dunell upgraded to the main list and he's barely cracked a game since… a waste of a main list spot really.

Old Mate wrote:McCartin is now listed at 193cm.
Wow he grew 1 cm between 1:59 and 3:48 on Tuesday.

Will be massive by the time the draft occurs

Assuming hes not injured in any way how would people feel about pick 3 for Sam Reid and pick 17ish.

So we get say Reid, pick 17, pick 21.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Assuming hes not injured in any way how would people feel about pick 3 for Sam Reid and pick 17ish.

I honestly haven't seen Reid play any outstanding footy, so I would say no to that.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Assuming hes not injured in any way how would people feel about pick 3 for Sam Reid and pick 17ish.

I honestly haven't seen Reid play any outstanding footy, so I would say no to that.
Interesting one.. he is only 22 so bloody young for a 195cm key fwd. Only 18 months older than Patton.

Worth keeping in back of mind.....

dragit wrote:Reid is in the Stanley zone ATM.
http://finalsiren.com/PlayerCompare.asp ... %2C2024%2C
I think you have the wrong Sam Reid.

Do It again with Sam Reid Sydney Swans not GWS....

Sam Reid Swans is miles ahead of Stanley and 12 months younger.