big news on and off field in next 72 hours

Re: big news on and off field in next 72 hours

BigMart wrote:McEvoy was perhaps the hardest working player on the list

In no particular order
Hayes, Steven, Curren, Ray, Dunnell, Saunders, Blake, Geary, Newnes, Jones

Would be the harest working players at StK IMO
And it showed in their potential vs output
There is a bloke who wears #12 on his back who works reasonably hard. His name is Riewoldt or something like that !!

Rooeys main work these days is rehab from week to week.... There was a time he smashed training... Now he manages his fragile body carefully, rarely trains and leaves his big effort for the weekend......

He is a freak for being able to perform the way he does with limited preparation week to week.... Really he just jogs laps midweek and does physio....

BigMart wrote:Rooeys main work these days is rehab from week to week.... There was a time he smashed training... Now he manages his fragile body carefully, rarely trains and leaves his big effort for the weekend......

He is a freak for being able to perform the way he does with limited preparation week to week.... Really he just jogs laps midweek and does physio....
i have heard some stupid things on this site in my time but this takes the cake ... so what would you have Roo do ?
as a 30 yearold managing injurys is the number one concern for a player his training program would be very very strickt on how long and how hard he can safely push himself ... same would be said about all the older guys .... Nick works pleanty hard enough ...

Dunell should try and locate the gymnasium.

In no particular order

There is a bloke who wears #12 on his back who works reasonably hard. His name is Riewoldt or something like that !!
McEvoy might work hard however so? he didnt win hit outs or get enough touches around the ground.

I can try hard too

The Redeemer wrote:

In no particular order

McEvoy might work hard however so? he didnt win hit outs or get enough touches around the ground.

I can try hard too

How do you know they work hard?

Serious question. Is this from watching training everyday? Or do you work in the gym?

How would Dunnell be better if he was more muscular?

Another myth in footy.... Size = improvement

In this day and age, player try to trim down and move better, the game is fluid than ever... If you're not a power runner, you're useless....

Size benefits some players... Like lumbering ruckmen, power fwds, power mids and key defenders...

Not running mids, flankers, small fwds, mobile ruckmen, wingmen, small backs.....

It's a myth, like hit outs = anything?

Nice, but statics prove.... Mean very little

I love Finey :)

Comments from coaches, players (McEvoy)
Awards (Tom curran)
Common sense (Hayes)
Geary.... Best endurance athlete at the club, along with Saunders and McEvoy.. They dominate pre season
Steven elevated performance due to running power and body shape change... He stated his work ethic had changed massively
Blake is a big bloke with a massive motor, hugely disciplined and professional... At 32 he carried no body fat
Jones, supremely fit and gets everything out of his ability.... He works his arse off...
Newnes is loved by the coaching staff because of the diligence he has displayed from day 1
Ray.... Big motor, hard trainer... Is fit

I completely forgot the hardest working guy on the list... By a margin though... Possibly the most professional player on the list

And yes, I live near Seaford

BM, some people might think you're being a c@ckhead on here...just putting it out there. Your posts are now kinda of rhetorical and sound a bit angry.

There is a thread going entitled "Reasons why Shane Savage loves the Saints". And it does take a bit of guessing to come up with reasons why an Auckland born Hawthorn player would love us.

Having said that, a new thread entitled "Reasons why BigMart loves the Saints" would leave most of us totally perplexed.

Don't get me wrong BM. You say you love the Saints and I have no reason to dispute that.

But in regards to why you love them; well from your posts I just wouldn't have a bloody clue! :?

Unbelievable

So just because I love the saints Doc, does that mean I should love and agree on everything they do?

They have made some blues Doc, in the last few years...... Would you agree on that?

Just call it as I see it, doesn't make me right?! Would you prefer I state what you and others would like me to think? Sorry, I won't even consider that....

I love my brother too.... He does some stupid things and I let him know about!

I follow stk
Not incompetence .... Recent history suggests nothing less than
Like it or not, it's just the way it is.... Buried head or not?

We might come out OK?

But how did we get in a mess?

Success.... No

Mismanaged yes!!! That my opinion, and I'm entitled to it

It's like I have to bow to peer pressure FFS

You can be as critical as you like. That is not the issue.

Just saying I can't work out what it is you actually like/enjoy about following the Saints. And I think that's a fair comment when such a large percentage of your posts are critical/negative.

Why do you keep following this basket case?

Most of us can see some light at the end of the tunnel. You never seem to be able to do so.

I worry you take it too seriously Mart- I know it's a bit rich from a forum full of people obsessed with footy- but to me it's like politics. I think most of the policies our current government are implementing are stupid ideas to placate stupid people but I just have to disengage and hope they don't do too much damage to the standard of living.

The current St Kilda board will make mistakes and get somethings right looking for s*** to go wrong before it's even happened will drive you crazy. Living in deluded contentedness is heaps better for you.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl ... 6738565668

ST KILDA coach Scott Watters and head of football Chris Pelchen have survived a review of the club's football operations.

The Saints last night confirmed there would be no major personnel changes at Seaford next season.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Chief executive Michael Nettlefold has announced he is leaving the club in December, while fitness boss Bill Davoren has quit to join Collingwood

But but but........what about Mark Williams?!

matrix wrote:But but but........what about Mark Williams?!

well whilst not a laidley fan I'm not a choco fan either- I do like what Scott has done with the young guys-- But I felt Jaymie Graham was doing an ok job as well
I am glad if Hudson, Sexton and McPhee continue to hang around..

whilst initially unsure of Sexton he did well as development and has managed to survive about 6 years with the club-- so must be doing something right.

Thanks SB that's a relief, I was worried the Finey stuff was about to happen as soon as the trade period ended. Stability never hurt anyone.

Dunno. Is he Fine with the outcome of the review?

BigMart wrote:Unbelievable

So just because I love the saints Doc, does that mean I should love and agree on everything they do?

They have made some blues Doc, in the last few years...... Would you agree on that?

Just call it as I see it, doesn't make me right?! Would you prefer I state what you and others would like me to think? Sorry, I won't even consider that....

I love my brother too.... He does some stupid things and I let him know about!

I follow stk
Not incompetence .... Recent history suggests nothing less than
Like it or not, it's just the way it is.... Buried head or not?

We might come out OK?

But how did we get in a mess?

Success.... No

Mismanaged yes!!! That my opinion, and I'm entitled to it

It's like I have to bow to peer pressure FFS
You get defensive and question posters questioning you. Relax. It is a forum and you have a fairly strong view and most often than not informative and closer to correct than not.

Thanks brat. Tonight you've saved my eyesight and my sanity.

gringo wrote:Thanks SB that's a relief, I was worried the Finey stuff was about to happen as soon as the trade period ended. Stability never hurt anyone.

finey is still ' discussing" issues-----

Foinally. This. Nonsense. Is. Over.

Now, can we have a new CEO and some sponsors?

SemperFidelis wrote:
Foinally. This. Nonsense. Is. Over.

Now, can we have a new CEO and some sponsors?

apparently not according to some

Finey read their reviews and check their health-------- wondering abour wright and ross.

struth I thought Finey was more of a football officinado than Me but I can see what and why they were played intermittantly..-- build them to consistent - Don't burn them out................