McCartin

Re: McCartin

Here's what Knightmare on Bigfooty had to say regarding McCartin when asked about comparing him to other top KPF in recent years:

"McCartin isn't Boyd dominant and not as tall but he has a few more tricks.

On McCartin v the recent key forwards. I rate him behind Patton and Boyd certainly. I also favour Daniher and rated/still rate him more highly. Hogan and McCartin I have roughly in that same conversation.

McCartin is a guy I look at and think he has the opportunity to be a top 10 key forward in the game, but not a top few in the game key forward. So that is roughly what you could be looking at if things go right.

I think it's just the nature of this draft. I don't rate it as such a strong draft class for top end options. I'm just not seeing those franchise players or those top 2-3 on list level talents in this draft."

satchmo wrote: Pull yourself together son.
What if the internet is wrong...and real people are right?
No
And how dare you say that about the Internet.
I love you.

We're going to knuckle this ... I just know it.

tweedaletomanning wrote:
FQF wrote:Looks like we're taking him. Very surprised.
My mail is the same.

Direct from the aw crew. They seem adamant.

Disappointed if not a hoax.
Only St Kilda could look a gift horse in the mouth and frig it up

Take Petracca u muppets and stop trying to be cute to make a name for yourselves...........

tweedaletomanning

tweedaletomanning wrote:
FQF wrote:Looks like we're taking him. Very surprised.
My mail is the same.

Direct from the aw crew. They seem adamant.

Disappointed if not a hoax.
Only St Kilda could look a gift horse in the mouth and frig it up

Take Petracca u muppets and stop trying to be cute to make a name for yourselves...........
Agree! We were too cute on the Judd/ball pick.

Has history taught us nothing?

fugazi wrote:Let's put up a poll after draft day, for posterity, for those who voted Petracca and those who backed in the recruitment staff on McCartin......refer to it in 5 years time.

First pick is a list managers greatest dream and worst nightmare....and I reckon ours are about to blink.
So the recruitment staff have u given u the word on McCartin?

By phone? Text? Or in person?

I back the recruitment staff - but i didnt realise the draft had already happened.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Wed 26 Nov 2014 12:33am, edited 1 time in total.

Fair dinkum!

If the Saints don't pick McCartin he probably goes 2 or 3.

The way some are carrying on you'd think he slides to the Rookie Draft if we pass on him!

I dont know or claim to know who will get picked.

The recruiters need to stick to a simple philosophy and not fall into emotional or logical traps:

1) just pick the best player. dont theorize about other players or history or other clubs.
2) dont spend all your energy on just deciding on pick 1. The other pics are also important. You need to put the research into those too.

TwoTowers

Clearly most of our armchair experts and panic merchants know very little about these very young men. I don't profess to know them either. But our club now knows every one of them inside and out. You cannot just pick the 'best player' from a highlights reel and disregard everything else when you have a very high draft pick!! You want someone who is going to be exceptional in all areas - including character and integrity. You want someone who is going to be a 10 year player for you at the very least. Do you all know these players so well that you can confidently predict that they will even be around in another three years? How do each of the candidates respond to coaching? How do they respond to pressure? Do they have bad habits already? Are they measured enough not to drop their load when given criticism? The club will have assessed all of this as well as the player type that will suit us best for years to come.

Some of the better commentators think that Heeney and Brayshaw are at least the equal of Petracca. McCartin is the clear best key forward. Our club is on the right track. If Petracca comes then I will welcome him. If McCartin comes then I will welcome him. If Brayshaw comes then I will welcome him. We will get the best player available.

Another interesting article on McCartin in this morning's Herald Sun:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/a ... 7134050462

I just wish this draft was over so I know who to complain about.

Freebird

Are you saying to trust our club because when it comes to drafting they're to be trusted to take the best?

Surely history says otherwise

Freebird wrote:Are you saying to trust our club because when it comes to drafting they're to be trusted to take the best?

The club is the only one who can call out names on Thursday night.

So exactly what options to trust do we have?

Freebird wrote:Are you saying to trust our club because when it comes to drafting they're to be trusted to take the best?

Our history with number 1 draft picks is pretty poor. Riewoldt, Goddard. Let's hope we don't make another mistake like that.

I think Jason Dunstall said somthing along the lines of just get the best players rather than worry about recruiting for specific positions. I tend to listen to someone who has succeeded and is is still in a benchmark success environment. Then again we got Roo, Goddard, Kosi and still no premiership. Along the Hawthorn lines, I'm more about building a winning team as opposed to hoping one or two potential stars are going to do the job.

It's a concern our club is in the minority judging the no.1 pick this year. What makes our club a better judge than 17 other recruiting departments and media experts who follow junior footy?

19 pages of grief merchants following some bullsh1t tweet from mclure?!
Settle
Anyway if it falls to mccartin on draft day and we draft 2 gun mids at 21/22 plus a speculative outsider at 41 it's prob a good day. Maybe membrey is planned for the mid as well..? Meaning our mid stocks suddenly look quite solid but forward stocks lacking with the departure of the pug lover and roo only good for another couple..

Old Mate wrote:It's a concern our club is in the minority judging the no.1 pick this year. What makes our club a better judge than 17 other recruiting departments and media experts who follow junior footy?
Yes.
Howard we take it if they Gambled once more on the no. 1 player, this time?
Healey said it looks like we're going for the best leader rather than the best player.
We already did that with Mcevoy over Rioli.
How did that work out?

I think AR has it the wrong way around - it's goal-kicking mids that don't grow on trees.
Last edited by samoht on Wed 26 Nov 2014 8:51am, edited 1 time in total.

Irrespective of who we pick, by round 12 there'll be threads about "why didn't we pick (insert name)", who was picked at 5 or 6.

samoht wrote:
Old Mate wrote:It's a concern our club is in the minority judging the no.1 pick this year. What makes our club a better judge than 17 other recruiting departments and media experts who follow junior footy?
Yes.
Howard we take it if they Gambled once more on the no. 1 player, this time?
Healey said we're going for the best leader rather than the best player.
We already did that with Mcevoy over Rioli.
How did that work out?

I think AR has it the wrong way around - it's goal-kicking mids that don't grow on trees.
Paddy seems like a really good character and will be popular around the club. A real clubman. A similar personality to Big Kosi. Patracca an arrogant, alpha dog that exudes confidence and pushes his teammates to heights they didn't know they could reach.

HitTheBoundary wrote:Irrespective of who we pick, by round 12 there'll be threads about "why didn't we pick (insert name)", who was picked at 5 or 6.
You can bet on it - but should we go for the best leader or the best player?
Petracca has kicked as many goals as McCartin - from the midfield and as a half forward flanker!
I think the choice is obvious - I just hope we make that choice, tomorrow.

(Petracca will kick twice as many goals as Judd and as many as McCartin - my prediction).

samoht wrote:
HitTheBoundary wrote:Irrespective of who we pick, by round 12 there'll be threads about "why didn't we pick (insert name)", who was picked at 5 or 6.
Petracca has kicked as many goals as McCartin - from the midfield and as a half forward flanker!
Earlier in the year I was sure we would take McCartin and he was number one.
Then later in the year it all shifted to Petracca.

At this point I would take Petracca, but I won't be upset whoever we take.

I've never seen either of them play (I don't think youtube counts) I'm happy to leave it to the guys who get paid for it. And at the end of the day, it's only a game.....

samoht wrote:
They've already made the choice by all accounts...and all the mail suggests McCartin.
Agree with everything you say above, but be prepared to use that well worn Post-decision rationalizing softwear, that many seemed to have already pre-emptively switched on.

Once he's name is read out, and he's a Saint we should all get behind him.

amusingname

Realistically, about 10 of those clubs have not had to looked deep into this particular decision, as they were never going to have to make the choice. We have known that we would be at the pointy end of the draft for quite some time, so I would say our recruiters have done more due diligence than anyone.

fugazi wrote:
Of course. We'll all be behind him. But whether we'll get behind the recruiters/our recruiting team remains to be seen.

samoht wrote:
fugazi wrote:
Of course. We'll all be behind him. But whether we'll get behind the recruiters/our recruiting team remains to be seen.
Exactly. Nobody is disputing McCartin is a very good player and many other clubs may well select him as No.1.

But is he the right fir for a rebuilding club who is crying out for midfielders with class.

Saying get mids @21 and 21 is fine, but they are picks 21 and 22 for a reason and that reason is they are judged to be not as good as Petracca or Brayshaw.

I feel we will regret this for the next decade as we did when we missed out on Judd.

Really disappointed if we screw the pooch on this.