Goal review cheating a new AFL low

Re: Goal review cheating a new AFL low

Changes have been made - all games must now have goal line technology.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl ... n%20Sunday.

The AFL has committed to ensuring goal-line cameras are in place for every match until the end of the season after copping flak over their glaring absence from Alice Springs' Traeger Park on Saturday night.

Melbourne's three-point win over St Kilda came after the Demons possibly benefited from the lack of goal-line cameras during the final quarter when a Christian Petracca goal stood despite the protests of Saints defender Dougal Howard who claimed he had got a finger to the ball before it crossed the line.

The goal umpire's "soft call" was a goal. The score was reviewed to the AFL's ARC (centralised review centre) however the camera angles offered were largely unhelpful. The AFL has goal-line cameras in place at its major venues, but this did not include Traeger Park, which generally holds just one match per season.

Demons coach Simon Goodwin said after the match that the AFL needed to ensure that the technology was in place at all venues.

"I think I spoke about this a while ago around the importance of getting it right. If we can't get the technology to a point where you can't make critical calls, you are better off not having it," Goodwin said.

"I think it's there designed to pick up the obvious ones but when you are trying to pick up touch ones from a fair way out or on the goal line, you need the technology there at every venue."

The league heeded Goodwin's call on Sunday, announcing that the cameras would be installed at every game until the end of the year. This includes fringe venue Cazaly Stadium in Cairns where the Dees play in the coming weeks.

"The AFL advises all venues hosting AFL matches for the rest of the 2020 Toyota AFL premiership season (including finals) will have goal-line cameras installed, ensuring the best available vision and consistent technology is in place for each of the remaining games," the league said in a statement on Sunday.

However the league gave the all-clear to those who had been in place on the night, saying they had done the best they could given the limitations.

"The AFL fully supports the decisions of the goal umpire and the score reviewer in the circumstances during last night’s game at TIO Traeger Park, Alice Springs."

Channel Seven, which broadcast Saturday night's match in the Red Centre, declined to comment when contacted on Sunday.

Saints coach Brett Ratten, dealing with his fourth loss by six points or less, did not press the issue.

"It doesn't really worry me. It's the AFL's call whether they want to put the money in or the resources into it or just back in the umpire," he said.

"We have got bigger things to worry about at our end, trying to kick straight, trying to convert."

I’m not going to get into the argument of if the ball was touched or not touched but how can you not have the same technology available at all grounds? :roll:

Why don’t they have 2 field umpires instead of 3 for some games as well?!

Seriously, amateur hour by the AFL again.

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

SaintPav wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 4:52pm I’m not going to get into the argument of if the ball was touched or not touched but how can you not have the same technology available at all grounds? :roll:

Why don’t they have 2 field umpires instead of 3 for some games as well?!

Seriously, amateur hour by the AFL again.

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
It's all in the name of inclusion.

Joffa Burns wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 10:31am How can posters on this forum not realize the OP is trolling and taking the piss?

So it’s clearly a goal 😂

So we are to believe poster has vision that contradicts goal umpire who was 1mt away from the action and perfectly positioned who referred his decision as is normal in this circumstance to the review system.

And this vision is also better than that reviewed and shown live, because I was watching in my media room and none of the five people watching with me could make an accurate assessment.

For the record we all thought it was a goal but footage not conclusive.

I’ve got to hand it to the poster, he has been winding this forum up for years and people still bite 👍
I don’t believe he is trolling. I think he genuinely believes what he posts. :shock: :shock: :shock: Is without a scintilla of self reflection or willingness to consider other points of view. What to do? Is as tedious as all f*** though.

AFL admit mistake made well well well

CURLY wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 5:50pm AFL admit mistake made well well well
Yep. Saints were just robbed of a finals spot by the AFL's incompetence.

CURLY wrote: Sat 29 Aug 2020 11:36pm
The_Dud wrote: Sat 29 Aug 2020 11:33pm Typical ridiculous thread from the usual.

Umpire a metre away called it a goal, looked like a goal on replay, but some people just have to have a whinge!
The umpire wanted to know was it touched. If the bloke a meter away said the ball was over the line di if he touched it or not it’s irrelevant fair enough but he didn’t. Was the ball touched?

Yes it was do it’s a point.

Umpire got it wrong
How do you even come up with this stuff.

Clearly a goal, stop trolling.

This is not the first time.

When we played Sydney in Wellington there was a similar incident late in the game.
One of our defenders touched the ball but the umpire thought it was a goal.
Turned out the only camera was on the WING!!!
But it looked like a point.

At that stage I think there was only one kick in it and Syd kicked another to win by 16 points.
So can't say it cost us the game, but it changed the momentum.

Yet another case of amateur hour by the AFL.

And as usual with these things - blackouts, sirengate, Hawkins point, voices in the sky ...
... it always seems to be StK on the receiving end!

The_Dud wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 6:37pm
The_Dud wrote: Sat 29 Aug 2020 11:33pm Typical ridiculous thread from the usual.

Umpire a metre away called it a goal, looked like a goal on replay, but some people just have to have a whinge!
The umpire wanted to know was it touched. If the bloke a meter away said the ball was over the line di if he touched it or not it’s irrelevant fair enough but he didn’t. Was the ball touched?

Umpire got it wrong

Tom Brown reporting on 7 News it was a mistake.

thats purely to appease you
the phone call abuse must be horrendous week in week out

CURLY wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 7:29pm

Umpire got it wrong

Where have the AFL said it was a mistake?

There should have been a goal line camera, that’s the mistake, but all it would have shown was it was a clear goal, as the umpire 1 metre away called it.

And you wonder why everyone thinks you’re clueless when it comes to umpiring :roll:

The_Dud wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 7:38pm

Umpire got it wrong

There should have been a goal line camera, that’s the mistake, but all it would have shown was it was a clear goal, as the umpire 1 metre away called it.

And you wonder why everyone thinks you’re clueless when it comes to umpiring :roll:

As you are clueless I will explain it to you.

Umpire called a goal on the proviso that the wasn’t touched.

The umpire was a meter away so he was aware of when the ball crossed the line.

Howard clearly touched it as the replay showed.

Umpire should have been advised he touched and a point called.

Umpire in fact should have signalled point to begin with.

Clear mistake and now again after StKilda has been f***ed over a change will NOW be made.

Umpire got it wrong

And the block who was even closer says he touch it before the whole footy crosed the line.

Yep someone is clueless all right and it ain't curly.

good

i’m glad we got f***ed over again

that’ll learn us

answer ... be far enough ahead on the scoreboard
so this sort of left field excuse list ‘n ‘cursed’ piffle
isn’t relevant

probably and fairly a tad karmic
... for thinking we should of / could of beat Brisbane
when only poor conversion saved us being smashed by them as well

Whether it was a goal or not we will never know & an extremely unfortunate bounce has probably has cost us our first final in almost a decade.

Pretty sure Ratts said that our defender was confident he touched it "before" it crossed the line.

Yes, that doesn't prove it was a point.
But nor does the fact that the goal umpire was well positioned and made a confident call prove that his call was right either.
We have seen a number of cases where the video review has overturned a "confident" call.

There a two facts from this debacle...

Fact 1 - people can speculate but we will NEVER EVER know what the true call should be.
Fact 2 - the AFL have shown massive incompetence, inconsistency and double standards.
Even the brain dead factional box-ticker Jenny Mikakos would have had enough nous to order side on cameras!

saynta wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 7:53pm

Umpire got it wrong

And the block who was even closer says he touch it before the whole footy crosed the line.

Yep someone is clueless all right and it ain't curly.
So I'm assuming the "block" you refer to is Howard who claimed he touched it before it fully crossed the line.

So we will refer to the player who sprinted and dived to touch the ball as having a better handle on the decision than a trained goal umpire who was perfectly positioned 1.5mts away.

Someone ever stated earlier that correct protocol was not followed.

I watched it with 5 others and none of us could make an accurate assessment of the call but all felt it was a goal. But here we are with our usual suspect who could confirm it was clearly touched and again the umpires are cheating. Incredible vision from the TV screen when the review was inconclusive and soft call referred.

I'm not sure who's taking the piss more, barnacle boy who keeps posting this tripe or mermaid man who backs him up :lol:

st.byron wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 5:41pm
Joffa Burns wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 10:31am How can posters on this forum not realize the OP is trolling and taking the piss?

So it’s clearly a goal 😂

So we are to believe poster has vision that contradicts goal umpire who was 1mt away from the action and perfectly positioned who referred his decision as is normal in this circumstance to the review system.

And this vision is also better than that reviewed and shown live, because I was watching in my media room and none of the five people watching with me could make an accurate assessment.

I’ve got to hand it to the poster, he has been winding this forum up for years and people still bite 👍
I don’t believe he is trolling. I think he genuinely believes what he posts. :shock: :shock: :shock: Is without a scintilla of self reflection or willingness to consider other points of view. What to do? Is as tedious as all f*** though.
No, not possible to be that stupid and remain a functioning adult.
Cannot be serious.
Definitely trolling.

Yep mistake made. Doesn’t amount to deliberate cheating though. You’re unable to separate the two. Just unwilling actually.

saynta wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 6:28pm
Cmon mate. You’re smarter than that. Saints robbed themselves with rubbish kicking, with winning the inside 50s by a mile and still only kicking 7 goals. No one to blame but our lame arse play. All this finger pointing....goddamn

Joffa Burns wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 8:43pm
st.byron wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 5:41pm

So it’s clearly a goal 😂

No, not possible to be that stupid and remain a functioning adult.
Cannot be serious.
Definitely trolling.
I thought that too. But don’t reckon it’s so. Is like a religious fundamentalist with a persecution complex. There’s only one valid point of view and they’re all out to get us. Only us.
Last edited by st.byron on Sun 30 Aug 2020 8:54pm, edited 1 time in total.

st.byron wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 8:49pm
saynta wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 6:28pm
Cmon mate. You’re smarter than that.
Are you sure? :wink:

a danger to himself..mentally..needs to let it go
Last edited by The Fireman on Sun 30 Aug 2020 8:54pm, edited 1 time in total.

bangaulegend wrote: Sun 30 Aug 2020 8:16pm Whether it was a goal or not we will never know & an extremely unfortunate bounce has probably has cost us our first final in almost a decade.
Oh FFS. WE buggered the game up. No one to blame but us. Accountability lies at our own doorstep.To quote OlderSaint from another thread :
“ Last night will not cost us finals- 5 goals up against freo and North and lose both, to teams which will finish bottom 4 , will be the reason we miss finals. ”