2015 GF - who will win and why

Re: 2015 GF - who will win and why

Can't stand West Coast. Nearly up there with Carlton with how much I can't stand them.
Hawks please. Don't care by how much.
Tipping the Hawks to win comfortably.

Can't remember such indifference to a GF result.

Weagles I guess

Hawthorn will probably win but I think they are second guessing themselves. Playing Schoemaker and Gunston and having Suckling as the sub seems a bit top heavy without the run of a sub like Hurtung late. They probably still win but if they lose they would only have themselves to blame.

bigballs

My pick leading into the finals was West Coast but now I'm leaning more towards the Hawks. Both sides will be nervous for various reasons but the added incentive to make it a three peat will get the Hawks over the line I reckon.

First Goal - Poppy Puopolo
Norm Smith - Josh Gibson

Don't think I'll be able to watch Channel 7 for much longer........ terrible they go to an advert after each goal ...... Really spoils it.

loris wrote:Don't think I'll be able to watch Channel 7 for much longer........ terrible they go to an advert after each goal ...... Really spoils it.
Champagne glass filling time (and the reverse) loris.

Q1 subtitled - making the most of opportunities. I expect Q2 to see a tightening of the scores.

perfectionist wrote:
loris wrote:Don't think I'll be able to watch Channel 7 for much longer........ terrible they go to an advert after each goal ...... Really spoils it.
Champagne glass filling time (and the reverse) loris.
Yes, bottoms up eh? :P

West Coast are toast.

I hope their arrogant supporters are enjoying this.

At least they can think of the free ride they get from the umps at Subiaco.

It's not Subi you flogs.

Game over

Hideously disappointing

How can you win or compete in a GF with a zoning Netball type set up... And some soft effort

They don't look like they want to compete

Half a dozen players are embarrassing

BigMart wrote:Hideously disappointing

How can you win or compete in a GF with a zoning Netball type set up... And some soft effort

They don't look like they want to compete

Half a dozen players are embarrassing
That is dismissing the Hawks.

How can you tell on TV.

Hawks are playing exceptionally well.

bigballs

Totally agree Loris. The sooner Fox Footy gets the right to show the Grand Final the better.

Hawks kicking skills are just another level. Just sublime.

How can I tell on the telly??

By watching the vision, checking the stats and reading the scoreboard

Are the 27 cameras not showing vision of the game??

Video and statistical evidence (what evidence coaches actually use to analyse games) suggests the ease Hawthorn are finding free targets means WC are not working hard enough to pressure the ball carrier or work back.

There have been four 50/50 contests where WC didn't body line the ball
LeCras twice
Cripps
Sheed

Hurn has not defended

They need a big second half

Either Darling or Kennedy needs to work up the ground and be a conduit... They are ineffectual and are filling the same space.
Put Yeo on the ball and allow him to hunt the footy
Hutchins fwd... Defensive role
Not sure who the sub is, but I'd activate him
Natinui to take the centre bounce (charge fwd)and all F50 taps and play i50
Sinclair start at CHF and do the reverse.

Does anyone wonder what would have happened if we win the Flag in 1971? Was that a sliding doors moment?

There is a whole different level of Footy going on here. The Hawks are on another plane.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Does anyone wonder what would have happened if we win the Flag in 1971? Was that a sliding doors moment?
I know what you mean Con.

I'm obsessed wit that particular GF because of how both clubs divirged since.

I'm not sure that it would have prevented an era of very poor management. Barry Breen talks about it in his interview with Mike Sheehan.

He said that we should have won at least 2 during the Jeans era.

He also said that with a bit of luck the club could have had 5 flags.

If only we got to meet a soft bit of butter like the Eagles in 09 or 10. We have been stiff.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Does anyone wonder what would have happened if we win the Flag in 1971? Was that a sliding doors moment?
The VFL changed zones because we were apparently too strong. Hawthorn got the Peninsula and the rest is history. Imagine us with Mathews, Brereton, et al.

Helps Hawthorn... That WC have been non-competitive!!

And when they got momentum
Shuey made a woeful decision (twice)

A team that does not play one on one footy
Will be found out

Jacks Back wrote:
The VFL changed zones because we were apparently too strong. Hawthorn got the Peninsula and the rest is history. Imagine us with Mathews, Brereton, et al.
A fact that is just consigned to history. It helped them but it still does not explain the great divergence.

Anyone who picked West Coast should be banned from posting on the site for a week

Hawthorn will win

SainterK wrote:Eagles.

Who cares they are young, they aren't burdened by history, eagles have flags and in recent memory.

They didn't just beat hawthorn, they smacked them.

Alistair has his players believing they were "flat" that day.

Dangerous strategy, I'd of challenged them to rise against a decent competitor as they will be shell shocked when they realise it had nothing to do with flatness.

Eagles by 23, Norm Smith to LeCras
LeCras is the biggest front running, hungriest goal sneak in the AFL.