Did I hear correct - god help us

barneyboyz

Re: Did I hear correct - god help us

bigred wrote: Thu 20 Sep 2018 10:48pm Am I on my own now where I am getting tired of the Richo hate?

Like it or not, we are stuck with him.
I don't hate Richo. I have been very frustrated this year and expected that if it wasn't going to cost us heaps he would be gone. But I saw the speech, and thought he was reasonable

I also hope very much that he can turn us around, and would be most happy for him to become our second premiership coach. I'm on board.

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

bigred wrote: Thu 20 Sep 2018 10:48pm Am I on my own now where I am getting tired of the Richo hate?

Definitely not on your own, I'm placing myself squarely in the understanding and supportive camp. I thought he presented really professionally at the B&F. He's a pure professional and a great leader. I don't think we are stuck with him, more a case we have stuck fat and been smart and professional as an organisation and not reverted to type by making a head coach the scapegoat but rather work through the issues and seek to provide support to make the head coach better. Makes sense doesn't it.

Train9

I think a lot on here no matter what he said, would find something to rip into him about.
Time to get behind him for one more year and if it goes to s*** we will have a new coach end of next year.
It will be a long off season and season next year for the people that are ripping through him.

No Richo hate from me - just mercenary responses.

I would support Jack the Ripper if we stormed up the ladder - and criticize the Dalai Lama if he was coach and we were dishing up the shite from last year!

Regardless of context...what part of your ladder position does anyone control? Fire up the Delorean Professor!

axcellence

I've thought about this... I was amenable to an extent earlier.

BUT, GET RID OF HIM NOW.

Whether he goes at the end of round 5 2019 or now is the question. I'd rather get him out now and pick the best candidates from the assistant coaches who'd be free after the finals.

Start with a clean slate. Otherwise, the club will be stuck with the "strong at the contest and weak at the scoreboard" for a very long time!

regardless of my thoughts on his coaching..he spoke well

BenLong#21

People are easily pleased (pun intended).

After 5 years at 33% his speeches have lost all currency.
Zero credibility.

Just because it worked for Buckley and Hardwich does not mean it will work for the Cho.

Those blokes were still winning half their games. They were never as bad as the Cho.

"Success is stumbling from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm."
Winston Churchill

Aptly applies to Alan I believe.

Also think he speaks very well and is obviously highly intelligent. Seen alot of people speak publicly, he is up with the best.

The Fireman wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 12:14pm regardless of my thoughts on his coaching..he spoke well
strong
positive
pleasing
if we could just park the handful of games between AFLX and Rd 23...

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 2:03pm "Success is stumbling from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm."
Winston Churchill

Also think he speaks very well and is obviously highly intelligent. Seen alot of people speak publicly, he is up with the best.
"No solution can ever be found by running in three different directions".
Deepak Chopra

Sainter_Dad wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 11:01am

I would support Jack the Ripper if we stormed up the ladder - and criticize the Dalai Lama if he was coach and we were dishing up the shite from last year!
Hey, I remember running into the Dalai Lama at Crown Casino;
I asked him what brings him to this fine establishment?
His reply "Tibet" (to bet)

:mrgreen: :lol:

Sainter_Dad wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 11:01am

If the Dalai Lama was our coach, he would be seeking refuge in China after reading here.

chico2001

BenLong#21 wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 1:18pm People are easily pleased (pun intended).

After 5 years at 33% his speeches have lost all currency.
Zero credibility.

Just because it worked for Buckley and Hardwich does not mean it will work for the Cho.

Those blokes were still winning half their games. They were never as bad as the Cho.
Now we are starting to talk about Richardsons speaking ability at functions...Have you all gone mad? is that the best you can hang your hat on....."he speaks well" for a Head coach of 5 years.

Ask yourself this, If he was working in your business empire as a Manager and was losing you money, could not get any good employees to join the business and was always making excuses, not only that you had to hire extra people on good money to get him & the business through the bad period, would you sack him or extend his tenure?

SaintPav wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 2:09pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 2:03pm "Success is stumbling from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm."
Winston Churchill

Deepak Chopra
“I'm happy with the man I'm becoming.” – Justin Bieber

Cairnsman wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 10:11am

Definitely not on your own, I'm placing myself squarely in the understanding and supportive camp. I thought he presented really professionally at the B&F. He's a pure professional and a great leader. I don't think we are stuck with him, more a case we have stuck fat and been smart and professional as an organisation and not reverted to type by making a head coach the scapegoat but rather work through the issues and seek to provide support to make the head coach better. Makes sense doesn't it.

“Great leader”. Bloody hell......and the evidence of that would be??????

After one of the most disappointing seasons in decades, all I’ve seen from club management is one excuse after another with sfa accountability. Deflection, implied and later direct blaming of the players......and a post season “thorough” review that didn’t include the head coach. Including the recused head coach saying, “we will leave no stone unturned”.....except for that bloody big rock called Richo in the middle of the river. Just lame. Just shifting deck chairs. Yet to see any genuine accountability at the pointy end of the management triangle.....i.e. Richardson, Finnis, Lethlean, Sexton. At least Summers had the grace to pull the pin. And meanwhile the Saints faithful, resigned to another season with the Milky Bar Kid at the helm, try to find some optimism in rose coloured glasses viewing of said MBK : now he’s a “great leader”....a few new assistant coaches and a half buggered ex AA with private school connections to key management.
I guess hope springs eternal.....which would be strongly positive and pleasing, if it wasn’t so unfounded.

‘I can row a boat....Canoe’?

Rocky and Bullwinkle

"This is like Masturbating with a cheese grater"

~Bigred

st.byron wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 3:22pm

After one of the most disappointing seasons in decades, all I’ve seen from club management is one excuse after another with sfa accountability. Deflection, implied and later direct blaming of the players......and a post season “thorough” review that didn’t include the head coach. Including the recused head coach saying, “we will leave no stone unturned”.....except for that bloody big rock called Richo in the middle of the river. Just lame. Just shifting deck chairs. Yet to see any genuine accountability at the pointy end of the management triangle.....i.e. Richardson, Finnis, Lethlean, Sexton. At least Summers had the grace to pull the pin. And meanwhile the Saints faithful, resigned to another season with the Milky Bar Kid at the helm, try to find some optimism in rose coloured glasses viewing of said MBK : now he’s a “great leader”....a few new assistant coaches and a half buggered ex AA with private school connections to key management.
I guess hope springs eternal.....which would be strongly positive and pleasing, if it wasn’t so unfounded.
SB as I do every time I read a poster make the claim about the head coach "blaming" the players I always ask for evidence to back the claim up and to-date there has been no evidence cited.

I'm curious to find out what he actually blamed the players for?

Do you have any evidence, maybe a link to some media or quotes in the media to back the claim up.

AeonFlux

Don't worry Red. We're not stuck with him.

You just give me the word, and I'll make one phone call. :twisted:

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll:

Cairnsman wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 6:53pm

SB as I do every time I read a poster make the claim about the head coach "blaming" the players I always ask for evidence to back the claim up and to-date there has been no evidence cited.

Do you have any evidence, maybe a link to some media or quotes in the media to back the claim up.
Fair question CM. To be honest, I couldn’t be bothered scrolling through various editions of online news to find the quotes. It was in the last six weeks of the season it was Richardson clearly blaming the players, although much earlier in the season we had Tony74 directly blaming them. And he pretty much towed the club management line throughout the season. So IMO he was just reflecting a view widely held amongst the coaching staff. Take it or leave it if you accept it or not. Was clear to me. If It’s have some time to search for Richardson quotes I will, but it means listening to his pressers again......don’t think it’s going to happen.

st.byron wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 7:40pm
Cairnsman wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 6:53pm

Fair question CM. To be honest, I couldn’t be bothered scrolling through various editions of online news to find the quotes. It was in the last six weeks of the season it was Richardson clearly blaming the players, although much earlier in the season we had Tony74 directly blaming them. And he pretty much towed the club management line throughout the season. So IMO he was just reflecting a view widely held amongst the coaching staff. Take it or leave it if you accept it or not. Was clear to me. If It’s have some time to search for Richardson quotes I will, but it means listening to his pressers again......don’t think it’s going to happen.
So SB I put it to you that the head coach never "blamed" the players of anything, absolutely SFA, nada, nothing. And I ask again and again and again, what actually was it Richo was meant to have blamed the players of anyway.

It's an internet myth and anyone that perpetuates the myth just embarrasses themselves as a weak internet drone, possibly a Trump/Hanson supporter.

I apologise in advance for my stong stance on the issue and will promptly apologise if said evidence can be produced.

dragit wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 2:59pm
SaintPav wrote: Fri 21 Sep 2018 2:09pm
Winston Churchill

Deepak Chopra
“I'm happy with the man I'm becoming.” – Justin Bieber

Cairnsman:

What did you expect Richo to say? He didn't directly take responsibility but he did indirectly blame the players.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-04-29/r ... ills-again

You are correct in that Richo never directly said that it is the players' fault that we were sitting in 16th and unable to win more games of footy. He didn't however take responsibility that the players we'd drafted and that he'd been part of the list management team were failing to improve year on year. How the hell did the CEO and pres and the head coach think the group was good enough to challenge for a top 8 spot in the lead up to the year and then turn around and 'bemoan the skills of the players'?

He failed to say that the players he was selecting week in and week out were failing to get the job done. He also failed to do anything about the players who failed to be effective with their skills ( that article on afl.com is from very early in the year and Richo was pissweak when it came to selection integrity). He failed to replace those whose skills or attitude were letting down the team...until mounting injuries forced his hand.

AeonFlux

The folks at Carlton are saying, "'Thank God for Richo."
~ Kinky Friedman

Friday night footy was the footy night most people thought they were supposed to have fun and win. Trouble was, Richo didn't know what fun was, or how to win. So things usually ended up pretty ugly.
~ Kinky Friedman

The atheists were right. How can you look at Richo's contract extension, and still believe in intelligent design?
~ Kinky Friedman

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll: