Richo has agreed to resign <mod edit>

Re: Richo has agreed to re-sign

Credit where it's due, I thought he conducted himself with dignity and grace throughout the past two seasons, especially last year when he had to front up week in weke out on AFL360. It must've been hell.

He'll get a job in the industry tomorrow I'm sure.

The Linton Street Flash

SaintPav wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:49am Hope you lot are all happy with yourselves.

Bastards!!
Struth!!!!

Look again it's the Flash!!

Takes a lot of character to do what he did. He's a good man, but unfortunately couldn't coach.

Bruce G McAbee

Yes, I wanted to replace him, but, I didn't want to. I wanted him to succeed which would mean the team is succeeding.
But it became clear that he wasn't able to do it and he showed his honesty and integrity by walking away and putting the team and club first.
Thank you Alan for trying and I hope all the best for your future endeavours.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Will make an interesting night at the Trivia Night tonight - Night Night!

The Craw

Feel for Richo .... inherited a basket case and an admin which was more focused on being a social awareness trail blazer than a football club.

Win loss record may not have been great but he has left the list in better shape than when he arrived.

Time was up though and all credit to him, he fell on his sword.
Last edited by The Craw on Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:41pm, edited 1 time in total.

Not Craw, CRAW!
Ajantis

Jump on SEN .........

Re: Richo has agreed to resign

Guys, fix the title. Re-sign means he's signed to stay on. Resigned means he's walked out. Come on, it's 2019.

----

FWIW, glad he walked. Gives us a chance to appoint an interim and test him out. Let's give Ratten a shot.

No sympathy for Alan Richardson. Six years. Six! Our second-longest serving coach and not one final. One day we'll look back and ask "Why did we give him so long"? We were noncompetitive and failed to develop one top-30 player.

The club paid him over $3 million - that's money that will ensure he never has to work another day in his life (equivalent to $100,000 over 30 years).

He will, however, quickly find work elsewhere as an assistant, because he's a decent man, with good experience and some good qualities.

It just happened that he wasn't a good senior coach at AFL level. Truth be told, few actually are. Bye Richo.
Last edited by evertonfc on Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:17pm, edited 2 times in total.

hmmmm.

thanx Richo

Ajantis

They are basically saying Ratten will be the fill-in coach.

Myron Gaines

Brett Ratten will be interim coach

Finally.

A year later than it should have been, but at least we can now move on.

Good bloke I’m sure, just not the job for him.

Myron Gaines wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:17pm Brett Ratten will be interim coach
https://www.saints.com.au/news/2019-07- ... on-departs
Bassat said Brett Ratten would assume senior coaching responsibilities for the remainder of the season while the club undertakes a rigorous process to find the best coach to lead the club to a second premiership.

“I thank Brett for accepting the role, and I know he and the other experienced members of our coaching team are determined to finish off the year in a manner befitting the commitment of our supporters,” he said.

“I also want to address the rigorous process we will now begin to find the next coach of the St Kilda Football Club.

“Speculation the club has a pre-determined position on potential candidates should be completely disregarded.

“I cannot overstate the value everyone at the football club places in strong governance, and any suggestion otherwise is simply unfounded.

“We will first put together a selection committee, which I will chair, to evaluate all possible options for the role.

“As our members would expect, we will be incredibly thorough and open-minded as we search for the right senior coach to lead us to a second premiership.”

Good luck to Richo - I think in 12 months time we might look back thinking he could actually coach, but he's had plenty of time to build a successful side and he had to go.

He'll get a decent assistant role somewhere, I think this year he has redeemed his ability somewhat, if he'd left at the end of last year it might have been a bit tougher for him.

I still think Brad Scott is lined up and ready to go, and he's probably on a hiding to nothing for a few years with this list .

st.byron wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:54am
SaintPav wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:53am
st.byron wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:52am
saintsRrising wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:43am Tom Browne has evidently reported he has gone
Hallelujah....
What? You want him to stay? Ole rolly eyes
No, but no need to dance on his grave either...

Had a good run at it. Good fella, heart in right place etc. Wish him well for the future

SaintPav wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:23pm
st.byron wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:54am
SaintPav wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:53am
st.byron wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:52am
saintsRrising wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:43am Tom Browne has evidently reported he has gone
Hallelujah....
What? You want him to stay? Ole rolly eyes
No, but no need to dance on his grave either...
Not dancing on his grave. Respect to him for the choice he’s made.

And.....it’s a massive bloody relief. Like lancing a boil.

Think he had us on the right track this year and with a close to full list we'd be top 8.

The Recruit

Great custodian of our club. I really liked him as a person and how professional he was as a St.Kilda coach. The fact we have retained so many players after such a long period of struggle is a direct result of the environment and culture he was able to build as a leader of our football club.

Happy to call him a St.Kilda man. Shame he couldn't be the one to move this next gen to the finals, just isn't the right fit for what we need in 2020.

I really think he will be an asset to another footy club in the near future. Thank you and best wishes Richo.

Crossy66

Alan's a great football person and highly respected, so will have heaps of opportunity when he is ready.
Circumstances were against him this year and I dont think we got to see the best of the restructure. But sometimes, a fresh voice or fresh set of ideas is what's needed. Very appreciative of all he has done

saintkev

BarryGrogan wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:41am 'Resign' dude.

I nearly s*** myself when I read your title!
Got an email from Andrew Bass 15 minutes ago saying that the Club has accepted Richardson’s resignation and that Ratten has accepted the interim coaching role.

saintkev

Sainter_Dad wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:55am
Schillaci wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:50am
BarryGrogan wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 11:41am 'Resign' dude.

I nearly s*** myself when I read your title!
Haha yeah. Thought WTF.
Too different weighs two spell a word.
Two different ways to spell weigh too!
Three actually...whey...as in curds and...😁