Match Thread Saints v Giants Round 1 2021

Re: Match Thread Saints v Giants Round 1 2021

Why were big sections of the stands almost empty?
Looked like about 10% of capacity.
What restrictions were in place?

I love the saints!

Probably because they have no fans. Sounded like more Sainters there than GWS "fans".

In STKFC we trust.

kosifantutti wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 6:16pm
The_Dud wrote:Holding the ball with no tackle? Thank Eleni!
What game were you watching or just trolling again?Image
If it was a marking contest, it was holding the man, arms wrapped around. You cant have it both ways.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Mon 22 Mar 2021 3:09am Why were big sections of the stands almost empty?
Because of the flooding authorities had advised people to stay at home, many of the GWS supporters live in those flooded areas

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Joffa Burns wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 6:08pm Elani is absolutely incompetent and should never officiate in an AFL game again in my humble opinion.

She is not a cheat, just absolutely incompetent and over offciates.
This is the most reasoned assessment of Eleni's abilities, particularly yesterday. Teflon touched on it as well. She did not like the look or sound of the tackle laid by Steele. There was nothing wrong with it, in fact the Giant was the perfect tackling bag. This alone shows a misunderstanding and lack of feel for the game at the highest level.
She doubled down with the Butler free. That was either poor positioning, meaning she guessed or again got sucked in by the look and not the actual action.
She will pay jumper holding, rucks pushing out with hands etc all day long because those are simple, they are black & white.

Ghost Like wrote: Mon 22 Mar 2021 8:23am
Joffa Burns wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 6:08pm Elani is absolutely incompetent and should never officiate in an AFL game again in my humble opinion.

She is not a cheat, just absolutely incompetent and over offciates.
This is the most reasoned assessment of Eleni's abilities, particularly yesterday. Teflon touched on it as well. She did not like the look or sound of the tackle laid by Steele. There was nothing wrong with it, in fact the Giant was the perfect tackling bag. This alone shows a misunderstanding and lack of feel for the game at the highest level.
She doubled down with the Butler free. That was either poor positioning, meaning she guessed or again got sucked in by the look and not the actual action.
She will pay jumper holding, rucks pushing out with hands etc all day long because those are simple, they are black & white.
Yep. Spot on. I recall texting my mate during the game, 'It's so obvious that she's never actually played the game at any sort of decent level, has no feel whatsoever.'

The_Dud wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 4:34pm
The Peanut wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 4:34pm
The_Dud wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 4:26pm Hill looks good when he doesn’t have to bend over to get the ball!
It's about time you shut your mouth - you racist moron
bump

perfectionist wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 6:31pm I thought the umpiring was OK. On the last decision, because there was a prior opportunity, the player only had to be "legally tackled" for it to be holding the ball. The question is, was it a slight grab rather than a push? If it was a push, no free. Slight grab - correct decision. The position of the umpire may have made it look more of a tackle than it was. The previous free was soft, so this may have been a square up softie. In any event, we won by more than a goal.
NO

A player in possession must dispose of the ball by kicking or handpassing unless the ball is knocked loose in a TACKLE.
But if the player has had prior opportunity and is tackled it is holding the ball.

So if it is deemed to be a tackle then it is holding the ball, if it is not a tackle then it is incorrect disposal of the ball.
Either way it is clearly a free kick.

As for the play on without waiting 30 seconds for a shot on goal.
It is play on if the player is clearly wasting time and definitely play on if they have not started their run in at 30 seconds.

At every ground there are at least two score boards showing the count down clock so players milk the clock taking in big deep breathes, cleaning the ball, taking out their mouth guards and cleaning their teeth and the like.
But this was played at the Sydney Show Grounds.
Only one scoreboard showing the count down clock.
Butler turned away from goal to watch the count down clock.
The umpire saw this and called play on.

But Butler's kicking technique is so good it did not matter.

Perhaps as a site administrator you could deal with the trolling on the match day thread Kossi?

The match day thread would be better reading if The Dud & Curly were banned from trolling it.
Perhaps each week they could have an umpires thread where they can post as much as they wish without dominating what should be a read of opinion and the match in general.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 8:00pm
perfectionist wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 6:31pm I thought the umpiring was OK. On the last decision, because there was a prior opportunity, the player only had to be "legally tackled" for it to be holding the ball. The question is, was it a slight grab rather than a push? If it was a push, no free. Slight grab - correct decision. The position of the umpire may have made it look more of a tackle than it was. The previous free was soft, so this may have been a square up softie. In any event, we won by more than a goal.
Play on was called very quickly as well - excuse given that he was trying to ice the game - I would think that the 30 second rule when kicking for goal should be applied identically in the first 2 minutes or the last 2 minutes.

Oh - and if they thought he had no chance of kicking the goal therefore the 30 seconds should not apply - HE KICKED IT

I have seen more time wasting than Butler.
Nah - the rule has been amended since its introduction so that if you deliberately 'waste' time by looking at the scoreboard to use your full 30 seconds then the umps call play on. Incidentally, it was amended after Mason Wood did the same thing to us with his shot from the boundary line whilst playing for North

Crossy66 wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 8:10pm
terry smith rules wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 6:38pm Yes that decision was controversial

However don’t forget we were still in front at the time

There was 1.10 on the clock with a (if the free wasn’t paid) disputed ball in the forward line. GWS would have needed a quick clearing kick and a lot of luck to go coast to coast in 70 seconds

They might have been a 5% chance to do that

Fqf
This is spot on. The commentary made it sound like it was the reason we won the game. Interestingly the two closest players when the ball spilt were both saints, so likely result a shot on goal by Gresham.
Correct. The ball spilled from Ward to Higgins who was off to the races 30 m from goal. It was actually more likely that he kicks that than Butler's shot with the man on the mark rushing at him during his set shot

Joffa Burns wrote: Mon 22 Mar 2021 1:36pm
Perhaps as a site administrator you could deal with the trolling on the match day thread Kossi?

The match day thread would be better reading if The Dud & Curly were banned from trolling it.
Perhaps each week they could have an umpires thread where they can post as much as they wish without dominating what should be a read of opinion and the match in general.
Absolutely.

I've been saying for years, there should be the gameday thread to talk about the Saints and how we're going, and then another thread for irrational sooking about umpires that Curly and friends can spam as much as they like.

Get it done.

re ... the Gift
I thought the umpiring was OK. On the last decision, because there was a prior opportunity, the player only had to be "legally tackled" for it to be holding the ball. The question is, was it a slight grab rather than a push? If it was a push, no free. Slight grab - correct decision. The position of the umpire may have made it look more of a tackle than it was.
NO

A player in possession must dispose of the ball by kicking or handpassing unless the ball is knocked loose in a TACKLE.
But if the player has had prior opportunity and is tackled it is holding the ball.

So if it is deemed to be a tackle then it is holding the ball, if it is not a tackle then it is incorrect disposal of the ball.
Either way it is clearly a free kick.

i knocked this off from another discussion
AFL Rules: (my emphasis)
Where the field Umpire is satisfied that a Player in possession of the football:
(i) has had a prior opportunity to dispose of the football, the field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against that Player if the Player does not Correctly Dispose of the football immediately when they are Correctly Tackled;
(ii) has not had a prior opportunity to dispose of the football, the field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against that Player if, upon being Correctly Tackled, the Player does not Correctly Dispose or genuinely attempt to Correctly Dispose of the football after being given a reasonable opportunity to do so.

Excellent bump but not a tackle thus play on was the correct call.

Joffa Burns wrote: Mon 22 Mar 2021 1:36pm

I'm no longer moderating. You'd best take it up with backfromusa but I don't think any moderator will be doing much during the game.

terry smith rules wrote: Mon 22 Mar 2021 8:09am
Enrico_Misso wrote: Mon 22 Mar 2021 3:09am Why were big sections of the stands almost empty?
Because of the flooding authorities had advised people to stay at home, many of the GWS supporters live in those flooded areas
That's sounds plausible, or maybe it was an Islamic holy day!

terry smith rules wrote: Mon 22 Mar 2021 8:09am
Flooding coming back to an AFL ground near you.
Only way to defend with the new rule changes.
But that should not deter you going to a game.

Ruckmen's influence other than at stoppages will be severely diminished if you listen to Max Gawn.
Collingwood's million a year for 7 years deal with Grundy yet another waste of salary cap.

The Billings Method wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 11:29pm
terry smith rules wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 7:44pm
The Billings Method wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 7:28pm Tayla Harris has a statue in her honour in the precincts of the MCG. She joins the likes of Miller, Lillee, Bartlett et. Al. For one kick which she was trolled for. Forget about the great athletes of the past. Give it to a nobody who's never achieved anything but being trolled for a "pose. Good grief!
I think you are a sad excuse ....

Beautifully put, you sad excuse for a virtue signalling goose. Well done. She really deserved that statue. Right up there with Betty Cuthbert, Shirley Jackson etc. for her achievements which amounts to her forgetting to put on her underpants prior to kicking for goal. Well done.

Worthy of a statue with the likes of Cuthbert, Jackson, Fraser et Al. Maybe there are 9 statues because their achievements are justified by their efforts. Like forgetting to put on her panties prior to playing. My women are worthy and proud of me. They hate pathetic cuck, virtue signalling dirt like you who demean women with your condescending c
rap.

In Victoria there are 9 statues of women representing 1.5% of all statues, but hey you want to suppress them more

The statue of Harris was done as generalisation of women’s footy (it just happened to be her amazing kick that was the model)

Your women family and friends must be very proud of you
Ah Billings Method I see what you did here. You came back at my comments by inserting your disgusting Tayla comments within my “quote” , so maybe others (including mods) would miss it

Well here it is

If your women family members are so proud of you , maybe you’d like to repeat your comment to them

Sad that history is going to pass you by...

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

terry smith rules wrote: Wed 24 Mar 2021 2:07pm
The Billings Method wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 11:29pm
terry smith rules wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 7:44pm
The Billings Method wrote: Sun 21 Mar 2021 7:28pm Tayla Harris has a statue in her honour in the precincts of the MCG. She joins the likes of Miller, Lillee, Bartlett et. Al. For one kick which she was trolled for. Forget about the great athletes of the past. Give it to a nobody who's never achieved anything but being trolled for a "pose. Good grief!
I think you are a sad excuse ....

Beautifully put, you sad excuse for a virtue signalling goose. Well done. She really deserved that statue. Right up there with Betty Cuthbert, Shirley Jackson etc. for her achievements which amounts to her forgetting to put on her underpants prior to kicking for goal. Well done.

Worthy of a statue with the likes of Cuthbert, Jackson, Fraser et Al. Maybe there are 9 statues because their achievements are justified by their efforts. Like forgetting to put on her panties prior to playing. My women are worthy and proud of me. They hate pathetic cuck, virtue signalling dirt like you who demean women with your condescending c
rap.

In Victoria there are 9 statues of women representing 1.5% of all statues, but hey you want to suppress them more

The statue of Harris was done as generalisation of women’s footy (it just happened to be her amazing kick that was the model)

Your women family and friends must be very proud of you
Ah Billings Method I see what you did here. You came back at my comments by inserting your disgusting Tayla comments within my “quote” , so maybe others (including mods) would miss it

Well here it is

If your women family members are so proud of you , maybe you’d like to repeat your comment to them

Sad that history is going to pass you by...
Nice work Terry. These dinosaurs are getting jumpy because they can feel their extinction getting closer every day.