Saints v Blues

Re: Saints v Blues

The_Dud wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:07pm
bigcarl wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 9:58pm What is wrong with King’s foot/ankle? Saw him coming off with it bandaged
He looked to tweak it in a marking contest in the 3rd (or maybe early 4th?), but stayed on a kicked a goal later in the 4th so hopefully nothing too serious.
Just a little twist I hope

The Billings Method wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:07pm
SAINT-LEE wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 9:24pm Lucky we aren't kicking straight matey.

Don't go eating a bag of d*cks in the preseason....plenty to like.
Lots of players need to lift as they get true match fit in body & mind.

Players like Hill looked sh!t hot in 2020 preseason and just cruised most games so hopefully we won't be fire hot or ice cold...just consistent.

Consistency wins matches.

I could bag players and applaud others but its our first preseason game and I dont think its too bad.

Carlton are a damn good team with some rippa lads Id love to have on our side.
A damn good team? They won seven games last year. On what basis do you rate them a good team? They are shyte and have been for two decades.

If we don't beat them we are in trouble. At least Longy hardly got a touch. How did you rate his amazing performance?
Relax, we won easily. We might be a bit rusty. Remember we were playing into the second week of October or something last year. Carlton have some very good mids, and we had two of our best mids out, plus our two ruckmen.

Lots of positives.
Sinclair BOG for the Saints.
Steele continued his form
Small forwards looked good.
Hill had a great first half.
Ross did well just scrubbed kicks when running fast.
Hunter didnt disgrace himself in the ruck.

Negatives
Form of Long & Webster horrible.
Billings completely ineffective
Frawley hamstring
Defensive work, goals kicked against at stoppages.
Allowing Carlton space to control game by kicking and run from behind opened us up at times.
Last edited by Impatient Sainter on Fri 05 Mar 2021 9:06am, edited 1 time in total.

defence................................ouch. Glaring deficiency .
Well its a prac and now Ratts has the op to sort it. Sinclair has stepped up.

Well I thought it was a great hit out - looked very slick in that 1st half

We put the light saber away in the 2nd half and cruised - nice to kick away a bit at the end and see the game out

For those bagging out players after one practice match seriously pull yer heads in ..... its a marathon not a sprint and many will be shaking off a bit of rust

We are going to be very hard to beat at Marvel this year - lets hope the G suits our game as well

The Billings Method

Less positive
Frawley hamstring
Allowing Carlton space to control game by kicking and run from behind opened us up at times.

If alcohol can damage your short term memory, imagine what damage alcohol could do.
The Billings Method

We're going to be hard to beat under the roof. That should ensure finals.

If alcohol can damage your short term memory, imagine what damage alcohol could do.

Webster was very good great to see him back.

SAINT-LEE

The Billings Method wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:07pm
SAINT-LEE wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 9:24pm Lucky we aren't kicking straight matey.

Don't go eating a bag of d*cks in the preseason....plenty to like.
Lots of players need to lift as they get true match fit in body & mind.

Players like Hill looked sh!t hot in 2020 preseason and just cruised most games so hopefully we won't be fire hot or ice cold...just consistent.

Consistency wins matches.

I could bag players and applaud others but its our first preseason game and I dont think its too bad.

Carlton are a damn good team with some rippa lads Id love to have on our side.
A damn good team? They won seven games last year. On what basis do you rate them a good team? They are shyte and have been for two decades.

If we don't beat them we are in trouble. At least Longy hardly got a touch. How did you rate his amazing performance?

Walsh, Cripps, Williams, C. Curnow, Mackay, Marchbank....they've got a good solid midfield developing releasing Cripps and others forward.

They will win 10-12 games this season.

Longy? Are ye referring to Ben Long?
Surely you're taking the piss.

89% time spent in defence.
19 disposals
84% disposal efficiency
4 tackles
5 marks ( all uncontested)
5 score involvements
5 intercept possessions
5 sh1te turnovers
11 pressure acts

#1 never been my favourite player
#2 lacks discipline
#3 One percenters are usually missing, tonight the same
#4 he can trip the pizazz switch and make me nipples witch
#5 he played a statistically better game than Coffield & Clark more pressure acts, more effecient disposals, more scoring involvement, more disposals.
# 6 He was statistically the 9th best player on the field
Last edited by SAINT-LEE on Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:32pm, edited 1 time in total.

The Billings Method wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:24pm Less positive

Frawley hamstring
? don't get that.

How f****** LONG was that game of football it seemed to go for an eternity, especially after last seasons shortened games.

Sinclair, Steele, Higgins, Hill and Clark were all very good, Hunter showed a fair bit in the ruck and will be a good back up to Ro and Paddy.
Gresham will get better as will Crouch with more game time.

SAINT-LEE

The Fireman wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:31pm

Frawley hamstring
? don't get that.

Mr. The Fireman,

May I take a moment to say our fellow lover of the chosen Saints, a true follower of the methodology of one known only as Billings....is taking the piss...I hope.

As stated above, no real love for Long but his game was good ( not decent).

Webster...his 7 intercepts and 5 contested, 10 pressure acts, weren't too shabby but he doesn't run enough, his tackling needs to lift. But he didn't play in 2020 and had 8 games in 2019. He may never regain the form of 2018 he had before he injured his hand. He had quite a few above avg stats like intercepts and one percenters.

Billings wasn't great, decent score involvements with 6, but 6 turnovers - 2 costly wasn't flash.
Compared to Gresham - who most ooze over, Billings was better except Gresh got 1 goal and Billings missed his 1.
Billings had 6 clearances whilst Gresh had 3.

Compare the stats. You'll see.

There was only a few brilliant lads tonight the rest were ok.

Crouch played 80 minutes, running was piss poor, but 92% disposal efficiency, 13 pressure acts and 5 tackles are sh1te hot.

Good and not as good. But no one was terrible. Seriously.
Last edited by SAINT-LEE on Thu 04 Mar 2021 11:10pm, edited 3 times in total.

High intensity footy all game both teams got tired but still took the game on & as you would expect the skill level waned but both team kept presenting which made for a pretty good contest. We got the points in the end & some really good induvial performances Sinclair was amazing Brad Hill first half was the best he has given us so far IMO could go on but lots of positives & pretty happy with where we're at ATM

SAINT-LEE wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:36pm

Frawley hamstring
? don't get that.

Mr. The Fireman,

May I take a moment to say our fellow lover of the chosen Saints, a true follower of the methodology of one known only as Billings....is taking the piss
Please call me "The"
ok thanks for the heads up... so it's sarcasm ? if so ... ordinary

Defence was terrible. Just loose and completely sloppy.

I cant sit through a whole year of that.

Offence... Ball movement... Was fcuking awesome in that first half.

My main concern is that better teams will tear us a new one if we are that horrible on a turnover.

SAINT-LEE

The Fireman wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:46pm
SAINT-LEE wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:36pm

Frawley hamstring
? don't get that.

Mr. The Fireman,

May I take a moment to say our fellow lover of the chosen Saints, a true follower of the methodology of one known only as Billings....is taking the piss
Please call me "The"
ok thanks for the heads up... so it's sarcasm ? if so ... ordinary
No he was being an ass, as am I the greatest ass of all the asses little Johnny had ever seen in one town.

saintbob wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:35pm How f****** LONG was that game of football it seemed to go for an eternity, especially after last seasons shortened games.

Sinclair, Steele, Higgins, Hill and Clark were all very good, Hunter showed a fair bit in the ruck and will be a good back up to Ro and Paddy.
Gresham will get better as will Crouch with more game time.
1st qtr went for 35 minutes and the 2nd about 33 minutes. A big difference from last year.

bigred wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:48pm Defence was terrible. Just loose and completely sloppy.

My main concern is that better teams will tear us a new one if we are that horrible on a turnover.
Carlton scored I reckon 8 goals from stoppages (ball ins and throw ups). Definitely need to tighten up.

At least we walk away with the 4 points!

Did anyone see what happened to Butler as he limped off with about 10 minutes to go in the last qtr?

Jacks Back wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 11:09pm
bigred wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 10:48pm Defence was terrible. Just loose and completely sloppy.

Carlton scored I reckon 8 goals from stoppages (ball ins and throw ups). Definitely need to tighten up.

Did anyone see what happened to Butler as he limped off with about 10 minutes to go in the last qtr?
we got 4 points ?

SAINT-LEE

Defence softened after losing Frawley, maybe his voice IS as valuable on field as Clarkson claims ( he said just being out there it lifts the defence 25%).

Webster had a ok game, needs a good run to find form, Long had a decent game as well but like half the defence, their good work was undone by turnovers, missed marks, even just being completely out of position.

We really miss Gears and Paton.
People talk sh1t about Gears but he's a steadfast in defence and despite not being the worlds best at disposals he doesn't often get run over.

Coffield was average compared to last year, Highmore looked rusty.

It seemed the defence generally got tired and flat quick.

But dont forget Carlton was hammering the damn ball into the 50 A LOT, 59 times.
Last edited by SAINT-LEE on Thu 04 Mar 2021 11:28pm, edited 1 time in total.

SAINT-LEE

Lets not forget the 2 things that win premierships:

Inside 50 differential - we get the ball in a lot but the differential tonight was close 59 -63, so was the score.
Metres gained differential - we need Hill, Crouch, Steel, Gresh, Ross to all run like the wind

These 2 factors have determined 10 out of 13 of the most recent GF finalists.

The Fireman wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 11:14pm

we got 4 points ?
My bad. I think it was double points day. :lol:

Jacks Back wrote: Thu 04 Mar 2021 11:29pm

we got 4 points ?
My bad. I think it was double points day. :lol:

[/quote
we got 4 points ?
Nah no points up for grabs tonight but yeah mate we won . It wasn't perfect & we made a lot of mistakes but this is a glorified scratch match FFS where you experiment & see what players have to offer & I see a lot of positives & yeah some negatives but all in all not too bad IMO

Jack Sinclair you proved (again) I know SFA. You are terrific JS and I am embarrassed I didn't see that coming. Apologies for the ignorant criticism.
Seb was impressive.
P. Hunter looks like a real good pick up - even though Pittonet, excuse poor French accent, was just about bog.
I was underwhelmed by Crouch then remembered I know SFA; on reflection he is a quiet achiever that's why I under appreciate him. Strong: will be invaluable in the depths of winter slogs to come. Hopefully.
Bytel is a delight.
Given newbies getting to know each other under fire, defence was ok when it counted; just changed gear in last quarter and put the game to bed.
I also embarrassed myself by not recognising Daniel McKenzie - how long has it been for heavens sake - has he changed much?
We are quick, really quick, and unrecognisable from the rabble I saw at my last live game: North on that fateful Easter weekend. Thank you Club for that.
Carlton go ok. May pick them round 1 if Wietering is ok/Hardwick's lovelife/complacency about three premierships all align.