Votes v Dees

Re: Votes v Dees

Scollop wrote: Thu 13 Jul 2023 2:20pm viewtopic.php?t=106379
Yep played 16 games due to injury of better options. Ok depth but has major faults.

jfc you make up crap

You make it sound like we're the West Coast Eagles

Coaches had Byrnes playing seniors for weeks with guys like Billings and Windhager playing at Sandringham. Check your facts

Also...pretty dumb of the club to be resigning a player with major faults isn't it?

Scollop wrote: Thu 13 Jul 2023 2:54pm jfc you make up crap

You make it sound like we're the West Coast Eagles

Coaches had Byrnes playing seniors for weeks with guys like Billings and Windhager playing at Sandringham. Check your facts

Also...pretty dumb of the club to be resigning a player with major faults isn't it?
What are you talking about Byrnes plays wing. McKenzie Billings have been injured all year.

Scollop wrote: Thu 13 Jul 2023 12:25pm
CURLY wrote: Thu 13 Jul 2023 6:51am
Scollop wrote: Wed 12 Jul 2023 10:52pmBullshiitt
No it’s not.

You’re either biased or don’t know what you’re looking at.
You'd be hopeless in a court room

First quarter we jumped out to an early lead. We were dominating territory. We also got most of the frees. I can understand why you were frustrated because even though we had double the i50's, (Yes- Double) Melbourne ended up being in front at quarter time

In that first quarter, you whinged about a few things mostly umpire related, including the call from the arc which was a rookie error (and Mattaes knew he stuffed up) but you said nothing about Crouch's turnover which led to an easy goal to them. You said nothing about Howard's turnover which also cost us another goal.

You said nothing about the crap kicks inside 50 from Sinclair and the one from Steele which gave May an easy sit on Cordy's head. Turnovers or loopy kicks inside 50 from Wilkie and these senior players went unnoticed or at worst, were accepted as errors.

Second quarter as soon as you sight Ronnie Byrnes (2 minutes in) you take your frustration out on him and fabricate something THAT ACTUALLY DIDN'T HAPPEN THE WAY YOUR MIND thought it happened.

Byrnes picked up the loose ground ball and Niel-Bullen was right there to hold him up. Ronnie had no other option. If he tried to handball it would have been smothered. Your perception is sadly clouded by your normal tendency to blame an umpire or a player you don't like.

I challenge any one to watch it again. If you have Kayo you can also go to slo-mo mode to see how close the Melbourne player was.

It was 2 minutes into the second quarter and it had no bearing on a turnover. It DID NOT RESULT IN A GOAL TO MELBOURNE. Again...I can understand you were frustrated because it came shortly after Gresh was penalised for playing on and he got caught red handed. The ump called play on correctly after Gresh chose to accept the handball from Mason Wood...BUT you were WRONG about the umpires call against Gresh and you are wrong about Byrnes too.

So...you are making up stuff. You are also trying to paint a picture of it happening multiple times. It didn't. The only thing that happened multiple times was our dumb kicking i50 to May.

We had about 5-6 entries after the ball up when Byrnes was tackled by Neil-Bullen. We had 3 shots at goal for 3 behinds. We had Sinclair, Crouch, Jones, and Billings doing the same old same old loopy kicks to the hot spot where Lever and May kept mopping it up...and yet...the only thing you complained about was something you fabricated and thought was real...Perception IS REAL in your mind...but the video evidence tells a different story

Byrnes had a very good game. He played a ripper in the second half. He was close to BoG for us in the 3rd. 100% disposal efficiency.

Byrnes, Howard and Crouch scored similar votes for the Saintsational Eastern Memorial trophy this week...and yet CURLY comes on here with crap like this
He costs us countless times up forward his refusal to flick out quick hands is a liability"
Byrnes has done well this year and hopefully will keep improving. He is in the side for his running ability all game and he can break lines, unlike many in the team.

However, Curly has a point, needs to develop his smarts, and your example, 2 min into the 2nd quarter illustrates that point. He DID have another option. A smarter player, knowing Neal Bullen was on his hammer, would have tapped it to Stocker who was relatively clear, and would have sent it forward. Byrnes however took possession, stoppage.

Hopefully the coaches are working on these issues to improve his effectiveness.

Have you heard of the saying "play the percentages?"

Running at full speed you want him to try and tap the footy to a team mate 2 metres away and you think that's a good/low risk option. Ok then.

Sorry... Ronnie did have options. He just has to obviously improve his volleyball skills for 'tapping' but he also needs to focus on hitting that oval ball in the belly rather than spiking it without regard to the shape of the ball

Scollop wrote: Thu 13 Jul 2023 7:41pm Have you heard of the saying "play the percentages?"

Running at full speed you want him to try and tap the footy to a team mate 2 metres away and you think that's a good/low risk option. Ok then.

Sorry... Ronnie did have options. He just has to obviously improve his volleyball skills for 'tapping' but he also needs to focus on hitting that oval ball in the belly rather than spiking it without regard to the shape of the ball
Yep, simple tap. Byrnes needs to have a look at Cripps, Petracca, Boak, even Tom Hawkins etc etc who all would have got it ot Stocker, to learn a few things.

Pretty standard stuff. Have you ever played footy?

The option that Byrnes took was the low risk option to give us a fifty fifty chance.

There's always different options for players. Yes ..I have played footy. ...And ...back in the day if some one was a smart arse they'd cop a clip or an uppercut

You're creating a hypothetical situation to try and criticise a young player who possibly played his best half of footy this year.

Tell me about the options half a dozen of our players had when they were going inside 50 and they kept hitting up Melbourne players. Sincs, Steele, Wood and others did it continuously. Byrnes didn't!

Also, tell me how Neil-Bullen was going to allow Stocker to get a kick away. Who was Stocker going to target inside 50 with his rushed disposal? Hypotheticals

Scollop wrote: Thu 13 Jul 2023 8:18pm The option that Byrnes took was the low risk option to give us a fifty fifty chance.

There's always different options for players. Yes ..I have played footy. ...And ...back in the day if some one was a smart arse they'd cop a clip or an uppercut

You're creating a hypothetical situation to try and criticise a young player who possibly played his best half of footy this year.

Tell me about the options half a dozen of our players had when they were going inside 50 and they kept hitting up Melbourne players. Sincs, Steele, Wood and others did it continuously. Byrnes didn't!

Also, tell me how Neil-Bullen was going to allow Stocker to get a kick away. Who was Stocker going to target inside 50 with his rushed disposal? Hypotheticals
Not criticising Byrnes, just using your fine example to illustrate where he could improve. Plenty of time for Stocker to get a kick away, even a hacked kick to full forward better than a 50:50 stoppage. Simple side step would have him in the clear, not that Stocker is an expert in that regard.

Not hypothetical, obvious, especially at AFL standard.