I will get caned for this

Hoges

Re: I will get caned for this

Understand wanting to stay away from the very ugly scene that will occur

ut not sure why any supporter would not be able to 'enjoy the game because Miline is playing'

My concern is that supporting Milney and his right to be presumed innocent and go above his normal work will be misconstrued by the media / saint / Milne haters as us saying that he not not guilty and the whole thing is a beat up - and this will have advise impaction on the other inncent party in all this the girl cncerned and in the long term Minle and the club that he loves.

The whole thing is ugly and seems galitorial at times - with people throwing around hateful insults and feeling like it is OK to do so - but that is the nature of the game - surly trick is to rise about that crap and feel OK about supporting a team and people for the right reasons ( if if they are not understood) - and not get drawn into a slanging match

I Love Peter Kiel

Respect the decision of the original post but I will definitely be going.
I will be there with bells on.

We can't all stay home...otherwise the only people there will be Carlsum, Mick Shithouse and his gang.

Yes it will be tough but it was tough watching Hawthorn beat us by 100+ points at Moorabbin in the '80s!

Go Milney!

In honour of those who went before, in the dark and desperate years.

Mr Magic wrote:On a slightly different tack ......

I'm wondering how all this publicity will affect the possibility of finding jurors if the case is proceeded with (and personally I'll be surprised if he is committed for trial)?
I would think it will be tough to find a panel of people who haven't heard much about the case and not formed an opinion (one way or the other).
The more publicity this gets the harder that would seem to be.
I wonder about that as well

I got selected for JD around the time of the whole Lovett mess and wondered how inappropriate it would be for me to be on that jury on the outside/low chance I was selected for that particular case.

Though the chances were minescule, I decided I'd merely state my case and let the ppl in charge decide these things.

My feeling was inappropriateness aside, I thought I could still remain impartial. Other ppl I'm sure could remain impartial too even if they have read the papers... very few would be aware of the actual details of the case.

I'm guessing many... even most on here would still believe it's a forced sex case

joffaboy wrote:But cant bring myself to go on Saturday night with Milne in the team.

Not a case of me thinking he is guilty, he is entitled to the presumption of innocence, I just dont want to be involved in an ugly crowd.

I feel for everyone in this tawdry episode, including us as supporters, even though it pales into insignificance compared to what Milne, his family, the woman and her family are going through.

However I could not enjoy the game with him in the team even though I love him as a footballer.

There is too much ugliness in the world, and I fear Saturday night will be one of the ugliest crowd reactions to a player in a long long time.

I dont want to be party to that. I dont want to be involved in a mob mentality on either side. I dont want to be involved in the negativity and ugliness of it all.

So I will sit this one out. Call me soft, call me a piker, I dont mind.

Its how i feel.

Go Saints hope you absolutely thrash the Bluse and Milney kicks a bag.

I guess I am different.

I love Milne as the footballer and if I really gave a crap about Milne the person or Milne the intelligent I could probably have a better conversation with my secretary and that is saying something.

So I will happily stick up for him and play my part in the theatrics in all of this because that is what this is.

Whether Milne is guilty or innocent has literally no impact on me or my life going forward. So why not get as aggressive as the blue baggers against us?

kp83

The Fireman wrote:I would go just to reply with "Cheating wogs" :D
Please don't do this...

mcadam05 wrote:Just remind them of Carlton's own history of its players and sexual assault , even good'ol John Elliott made it part of his shtick at sportsmen nights how he joked he payed off women who would dare too cry rape
Ask them how Doratich is going, is he still allowed to sit in a car.. what a wanker

70s sainter

Hopefully we ll be winning which will make it a lot easier in the grandstands to put up with morons.
Cant believe afl chief comes out and admits the crowd will be ugly without even reminding people to be respectful of the people around you . Pretty much gave the rapist chant the green light.

joffaboy wrote:But cant bring myself to go on Saturday night with Milne in the team.

Not a case of me thinking he is guilty, he is entitled to the presumption of innocence, I just dont want to be involved in an ugly crowd.

I feel for everyone in this tawdry episode, including us as supporters, even though it pales into insignificance compared to what Milne, his family, the woman and her family are going through.

However I could not enjoy the game with him in the team even though I love him as a footballer.

There is too much ugliness in the world, and I fear Saturday night will be one of the ugliest crowd reactions to a player in a long long time.

I dont want to be party to that. I dont want to be involved in a mob mentality on either side. I dont want to be involved in the negativity and ugliness of it all.

So I will sit this one out. Call me soft, call me a piker, I dont mind.

Its how i feel.

Go Saints hope you absolutely thrash the Bluse and Milney kicks a bag.
Agree Joffaboy. Thankfully I don't have to make the decision, but also think it could be real ugly. Would've been better to bring back next week against Port.

Disappointed your not going JB, not for the reasons you have stated, which I completely understand, just disappointed you wont be there to add to the atmosphere and enjoy your company, always a bit of fun when your there.
If you change your mind, great.

I'll be going along to support my CLUB. I respect everyone's right not to attend should they choose not to do so. Individual choice after all

There are wogs who barrack for the Saints you ignorant fool.
but do our wogs cheat ? and Carlton are known to have a predominant wog following.

Ignorant fool? I thought better of you Saintpav. :(
Last edited by The Fireman on Sat 13 Jul 2013 11:12am, edited 1 time in total.

Sobraz wrote:
How is this funny in the slightest???.. Use any other clearly racist term and you'd get jumped on, but this is ok??!!..

not in my opinion...
How funny ? was it meant to be?

PS.
I have a few wog mates who don't think I'm racist.

Sad day when a pack of cheating Wogs turn us away from games...sad sad day.

BakesFan

I'm a wog mate of Fireys, and I don't think he's racist...... he hates everyone equally :wink:

....and....

Only the most just, kind, eloquent and erudite wogs follow the Mighty Saints, SaintPav....... Wogs that follow other Teams are by default, "Cheating Wogs"......

..it's a sad reality I know...but it remains an undeniable universal truth similar to, "No Collingwood supporter has a full set of teeth"

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)

Sobraz wrote:
How is this funny in the slightest???.. Use any other clearly racist term and you'd get jumped on, but this is ok??!!..

not in my opinion...
Oh dear- I do so hope you haven't referred to us in the cricket as playing the "Poms" ?? Another derogatory race based term........

We are all just a little bit precious these days huh......

For what it's worth my stepfather is Italian and often refers to himself and his family as "wogs", should I give him a lecture?

Thanks BF and TB for your support but it's a shame you had to, I think we have become just a little too precious and a bit gun shy .

and lol @ TB... a real sad day when we can't call a pom a pom :D

oh and BF...erudite...love it. :D

Pom & Wog are not equivalent terms…

Just like Kiwi & Nigger have very different historical backgrounds & connotations.

Wog is a derogatory racial term & just because you know an Italian guy who calls himself a wog doesn't mean it's open slather. Same as an African American calling himself a 'nigger' doesn't signal open season on that term either.

b.t.w - I am not offended by this, but if you think it is okay you are kidding yourself, just saying.

patto

True Believer wrote:
Sobraz wrote:

not in my opinion...
Oh dear- I do so hope you haven't referred to us in the cricket as playing the "Poms" ?? Another derogatory race based term........

We are all just a little bit precious these days huh......

For what it's worth my stepfather is Italian and often refers to himself and his family as "wogs", should I give him a lecture?
One of my best mates is italian and refers to himself and his family as wogs. He dosnt have an issue with the word "wog" and would agree that society is becoming far to precious. Oh and your spot on with the reference of playing the "poms" and i bet 99% of society has no issue there!

BakesFan

The Fireman wrote:

oh and BF...erudite...love it. :D
Truth is beautiful, Firey.

....as in, "I'd rather be a wog, than a pom" :wink:

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)
Kate

Fortius Quo Fidelius.

I can't 'not' go. I am concerned, however, that these circumstances may keep genuine footy fans away and at the same time attract spiteful bastards who might not otherwise have bothered to be there. :(

dragit wrote:Pom & Wog are not equivalent terms…

Just like Kiwi & Nigger have very different historical backgrounds & connotations.

Wog is a derogatory racial term & just because you know an Italian guy who calls himself a wog doesn't mean it's open slather. Same as an African American calling himself a 'nigger' doesn't signal open season on that term either.

b.t.w - I am not offended by this, but if you think it is okay you are kidding yourself, just saying.
I kid myself on a regular bases....I'm a Saints supporter :)

All Fair Dinkum Saints supporters should be there tonight.

dragit wrote:Pom & Wog are not equivalent terms…

Pog. :shock:

[quote="Enrico_Misso"]All Fair Dinkum Saints supporters should be there tonight.[/quote]

I feel it's been covered but I think to some it's more broad then just footy, if that makes sense. ( I'm not trying to take away from those who are content/very keen/ certain and all that to go or from those who don't feel any of the things in the remainder of my post)
It's not certain what the atmosphere will be like, some don't know morally how it sits with them, some don't want to take their children, some fear safety, some just don't feel they want to go - based on the events surrounding the game.
I'm a fair dinkum supporter but for various reasons that I've covered in various posts I will not be going. I'm convinced many others are also fair dinkum, but respect what ever their reasoning for not going.

Appreciate that we may not agree on this, just giving my opinion.

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.

Enrico_Misso wrote:All Fair Dinkum Saints supporters should be there tonight.
I mustn't be fair dinkum.