mmmmmm- Umpire Movement Rd 9

lewdogs

Re: mmmmmm- Umpire Movement Rd 9

It was one of the most biased umpiring performances I've ever seen. The umpire that got dropped completely screwed us, she seemed to only be looking for Eagles free kicks. Also missed an obvious hold on Billings in the first minute, which set the tone for the game. The two unpaid marks to our forwards, especially the Bruce one. Obviously we didn't say much in public but behind closed doors I'm guessing we made quite a bit of noise which is why she was dropped. She was horrible in that game and certainly influenced the result as she killed our momentum on multiple occasions.

CURLY wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 4:31pm
sunsaint wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 4:14pm alrighty then
I can remember the holding free kick against wilkie and that was fair enough
but what was the other free kick that won the game for weagles?
Free to Oscar Allen and he goaled and the free to Sheed when Brown laid a fair tackle. Both were howlers.
Exactly as sunsaint said, the Wilkie one (Oscar Allen) was fair enough, they must be talking about another decision or non decision.

There was one paid to Kennedy but he kicked a point.

The_Dud wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 4:49pm
CURLY wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 4:31pm
sunsaint wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 4:14pm alrighty then
I can remember the holding free kick against wilkie and that was fair enough
but what was the other free kick that won the game for weagles?
Free to Oscar Allen and he goaled and the free to Sheed when Brown laid a fair tackle. Both were howlers.
Exactly as sunsaint said, the Wilkie one (Oscar Allen) was fair enough, they must be talking about another decision or non decision.

There was one paid to Kennedy but he kicked a point.
The one against Wilkie was a guess nothing more she guessed he would infringe and he didn't.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 3:38pm Just admit we got stuffed over by the umps Dudley. They even admitted it themselves mate.
Yeah we got some bad decisions, there are bad decision every game. Though did they cost us the game? No. That’s more on Cho’s head :)

Swings and roundabouts. Again, didn’t see anyone sooking about the standard of umpiring the month before when we were getting the rub of the green.

The_Dud wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 4:54pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 3:38pm Just admit we got stuffed over by the umps Dudley. They even admitted it themselves mate.
Yeah we got some bad decisions, there are bad decision every game. Though did they cost us the game? No. That’s more on Cho’s head :)

Swings and roundabouts. Again, didn’t see anyone sooking about the standard of umpiring the month before when we were getting the rub of the green.
When did this so called rub of the green happen? When was the last time we got 24-8 ?

CURLY wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 4:57pm

When did this so called rub of the green happen? When was the last time we got 24-8 ?
19-16 v Hawks
23-16 v Melb
18-17 v Crowd
26-22 v GWS

Funny how all the umpiring threads disappeared for a while.

Swings and roundabouts.

I pray the club is focussing on being better at football, and not wasting time sooking about umpiring.

The_Dud wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 5:05pm

19-16 v Hawks
23-16 v Melb
18-17 v Crowd
26-22 v GWS

Swings and roundabouts.

I pray the club is focussing on being better at football, and not wasting time sooking about umpiring.
Other than the Melbourne game all counts standard. We had three free kicks in the first half v West Coast. Ridiculous to argue that a team can only infringe three times in a half of football.

The umpire got sacked due to her performance that cost us a game. The proof is right there only a moron would argue that she didn't.

CURLY wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 5:10pm

19-16 v Hawks
23-16 v Melb
18-17 v Crowd
26-22 v GWS

Swings and roundabouts.

Other than the Melbourne game all counts standard. We had three free kicks in the first half v West Coast. Ridiculous to argue that a team can only infringe three times in a half of football.

The umpire got sacked due to her performance that cost us a game. The proof is right there only a moron would argue that she didn't.
But of course you would say it’s all standard, because it was in our favour.

Go back and watch the free paid to Lonie to kick the winning goal against Hawthorn, wasn’t extremely soft / not there at all :roll:

Swings and roundabouts.

The_Dud wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 5:24pm
CURLY wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 5:10pm

19-16 v Hawks
23-16 v Melb
18-17 v Crowd
26-22 v GWS

Swings and roundabouts.

But of course you would say it’s all standard, because it was in our favour.

Go back and watch the free paid to Lonie to kick the winning goal against Hawthorn, wasn’t extremely soft / not there at all :roll:

Swings and roundabouts.
Umpire get sacked over that free? Did the umpires come out and say it was a mistake? No no no.

What our coaches need to do better so that we can be treated fairly is to educate the players.

Lonie is one of the best at the club at earning free kicks. It's no accident. He's smart and he makes sure that umpires adjudicate on decisions by emphasising to them that he has been infringed.

There is a difference between acting and playing for a free and actually highlighting to an ump that you have been infringed against

Last year in that match against Hawthorn where Jack Lonie saved his career at St Kilda, he made sure that when an opposition player infringed, he threw his head back or he emphasised the push in the back or he appealed and motioned towards the umpire closest to the action.

We nearly won that match and it was mostly on the forward work of young Jack and the direct goals he scored from free kicks

In the match last week against West Coast, we were'nt paid frees to us that seemed obvious to me and to others and yet West Coast got paid nearly all their obvious frees and they get some of the 50/50 ones by being smart footballers. I reckon our boys need to get better at making sure the ump sees the obvious frees that we should be getting.

West Coast made sure they threw their heads back or made direct eye contact with umpires when they thought they were infringed, and they were virtually appealling without saying anything in this way. It worked forthem and I've seen it work well for others. Shuey and Gaff and co have been doing it well for years. It helps the umpires do their job. If the free is there, they make sure that the umpire sees it and they appeal...but they obviously do it subtly and not like it's a cricket match

Jack Billings was blocked and just continued to play the game instead of throwings his arms up and making eye contact and appealling. Jack Billings fumbled the footy but was clearly pushed in the back straight after the fumble and he just tried to win back the footy and he looked around and tried to chase the opposition instead of emphasising to an umpire that he had been illegally dealt with.

It's not cheating to earn yourself a free if the opposition has infringed. We are playing dumb and we deserve not to get a free sometimes, because our coaching has been dumb. Be accountable and teach our blokes to do the same thing every other team does
Last edited by Scollop on Thu 16 May 2019 5:55pm, edited 2 times in total.

What a load of garbage you are spewing Dud.

"Swings and roundabouts" is a cop out for the quality of the umpiring in the game today.

Incompetence is incompetence plain and simple. That umpire deserves to be dropped to work at their craft.

Those decisions and non decisions definitely contribute to the outcome of the game. Stop looking for the single instance or golden bullet that determines the outcome.

Were you at the game? If you were you would have witnessed 90% of the 20k there absolutely seething at the way the game was umpired. That first half was an absolute steaming pile of garbage from the umpires.

The umpiring absolutely changed the dynamic of the game as well as the outcome.

In the long term I don't think we benefit as a club by blaming losses on the umpires so I agree with you...somewhat

It's important for the players to get on respectfully with the umps and it's the coaches job to teach and educate our players so that they have a good relationship with the men and women in lime green. Also our coaches job to make sure the players get their fair share of obvious frees and 50/50 calls. We have to get better as a club and the stats are showing that we are on the right path, however...with regard to the game last week...

It only takes a bit of luck or a momentum swing for a close game to be determined. There were some howlers by the umps in this game and you can't definitively say that it was the coaching that cost us.

bigred wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 5:51pm Were you at the game? If you were you would have witnessed 90% of the 20k there absolutely seething at the way the game was umpired.
And when a West Coast or Adelaide home crowd is going bonkers at the umpires they are 100% correct?

In every sport ever played you get calls that go for you some weeks and against you others. It’s thr nature of sport. To constantly sook about it (rightly or wrongly) is pointless. Focus on what you (the club) can control and quit the ‘poor us’ mindset.

‘Twas the epitome of rubbish umpiring on Saturday night. If you’re not up to the level then you’re not up to the level.

Kinda felt like watching an Under 12’s match where someone’s older sister was umpiring or something.... just leaning against the fence, drinking a can of coke, munching on a sausage roll from the canteen.

Scollop wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 5:42pm What our coaches need to do better so that we can be treated fairly is to educate the players.

Lonie is one of the best at the club at earning free kicks. It's no accident. He's smart and he makes sure that umpires adjudicate on decisions by emphasising to them that he has been infringed.

There is a difference between acting and playing for a free and actually highlighting to an ump that you have been infringed against

Last year in that match against Hawthorn where Jack Lonie saved his career at St Kilda, he made sure that when an opposition player infringed, he threw his head back or he emphasised the push in the back or he appealed and motioned towards the umpire closest to the action.

We nearly won that match and it was mostly on the forward work of young Jack and the direct goals he scored from free kicks

In the match last week against West Coast, we were'nt paid frees to us that seemed obvious to me and to others and yet West Coast got paid nearly all their obvious frees and they get some of the 50/50 ones by being smart footballers. I reckon our boys need to get better at making sure the ump sees the obvious frees that we should be getting.

West Coast made sure they threw their heads back or made direct eye contact with umpires when they thought they were infringed, and they were virtually appealling without saying anything in this way. It worked forthem and I've seen it work well for others. Shuey and Gaff and co have been doing it well for years. It helps the umpires do their job. If the free is there, they make sure that the umpire sees it and they appeal...but they obviously do it subtly and not like it's a cricket match

Jack Billings was blocked and just continued to play the game instead of throwings his arms up and making eye contact and appealling. Jack Billings fumbled the footy but was clearly pushed in the back straight after the fumble and he just tried to win back the footy and he looked around and tried to chase the opposition instead of emphasising to an umpire that he had been illegally dealt with.

It's not cheating to earn yourself a free if the opposition has infringed. We are playing dumb and we deserve not to get a free sometimes, because our coaching has been dumb. Be accountable and teach our blokes to do the same thing every other team does
The coaching staff should just play reruns of every Joel Selwood game and tell them to mimic him. He's the king of emphasising the free kick. He's made it into a total artform.

19-16 v Hawks
23-16 v Melb
18-17 v Crowd
26-22 v GWS

Swings and roundabouts.

Surely you can work out that posters who understand the rules only complain when there is something to complain about.

There will be no complaints this weekend.
There will be no free kicks paid at all - there cannot be any.

The AFL have stated this - the umpires are only there to bounce (throw up) the ball - the rest is a free for all!!!!

It was not Dane Rampe's INTENTION to shake the post, so therefore it was not a free

It was not Marshal's INTENTION to drop the ball - play on
It was not Greshams INTENTION to tackle high - play on
It was not Brown's INTENTION to chop the arm - play on
it was not Toby Green's INTENTION to jump in stud first - wooo - maybe it was!
It was not Gary Ablett's INTENTION to raise the elbow - see Toby Green

Sorry - slight amendment - there may be 2 free kicks paid across the 9 games this weekend.

barneyboyz

saynta wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 11:21am
saintbrat wrote: Wed 15 May 2019 7:52pm Umpire movement
Eleni Glouftsis has become the latest field umpire to be dropped by the AFL in the wake of poor performances.

The Age understands Glouftsis will umpire in the VFL this week, following a string of poor decisions, including two crucial errors in the St Kilda versus West Coast clash last Saturday night, which resulted in two goals to the Eagles.
h
ttps://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/glouftsis-t ... 51nr8.html
Plus the two marks she took off our forwards. That's potentially 4 goals and the match.
One was touched by the oppo, was a good mark and normally paid. But interestingly, in a week where the umpires have been lauded (by the AFL) for using 'common sense' where they didn't pay an obvious free to the druggies (still chuckle about that), in these cases it was clearly not.

Brown's tackle and Bruce's mark are examples of such

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

bigred wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 5:51pm

Those decisions and non decisions definitely contribute to the outcome of the game. Stop looking for the single instance or golden bullet that determines the outcome.
Im sorry but isnt that exactly what you and others are doing?

I fall in the camp that umpiring decisions dont change the outcome of the game especially the two in the first quarter
especially the wilkie hold on allen - the nature of the rule and the colour of the eye wear will only end in endless debate.
I will make two points:
23 free kicks the whole game is pretty low on averages - and many of the old timers usually scream let the game go so the only real complaint is non paid free kicks.
In the 3rd quarter why arent people screaming for wilkie to be dropped after gifting a beautiful handball to Allen for another of his goals? Surely he made a mistake and deserves to dropped

sunsaint wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 4:24pm
bigred wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 5:51pm

Im sorry but isnt that exactly what you and others are doing?

I fall in the camp that umpiring decisions dont change the outcome of the game especially the two in the first quarter
especially the wilkie hold on allen - the nature of the rule and the colour of the eye wear will only end in endless debate.
I will make two points:
23 free kicks the whole game is pretty low on averages - and many of the old timers usually scream let the game go so the only real complaint is non paid free kicks.
In the 3rd quarter why arent people screaming for wilkie to be dropped after gifting a beautiful handball to Allen for another of his goals? Surely he made a mistake and deserves to dropped

In football, the team that kicks the most goals and points wins the game.

West Coast were gifted two goals, 12 points, they didn't earn or deserve. We were robbed of one and perhaps two goals. Another 12 points.

Eagles winning margin was 18 points, so with fair to reasonable umpiring from the maggots, we win by 6 points.

Of course umpiring decisions change the result of games. Just ask the Drug cheats, or maybe read up on whispers in the sky.
Last edited by saynta on Fri 17 May 2019 7:46pm, edited 1 time in total.

so no comment on the highlighted mistake by wilkie and how that must have snubbed out any chance of us winning
Im glad some people dont play footy for the saints - would sulk at the first whistle

To make it simple. Take 12 points of the Eagles total and add 12 points to ours. We win. Doesn't matter a f**k where Wilkie's handpass went. s*** happens.

We got screwed over big time.

saynta wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 7:46pm To make it simple. Take 12 points of the Eagles total and add 12 points to ours. We win. Doesn't matter a f**k where Wilkie's handpass went. s*** happens.
Making a few assumptions there (like it’s clearly not a mark when another player gets first hands to it). As soon as one thing changes then everything after that would be different. Also remember we were only so close due to junk time goals once West Coast put the cue in the rack.

The_Dud wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 8:56pm remember we were only so close due to junk time goals once West Coast put the cue in the rack.
RUFS - West Coast never 'put the cue in the rack' or if they did they deserved to f@rking lose - 50 points up - put the cue in the rack - anything less and a comeback is on - there is no way any Eagle thought they were safe - especially seeing the 'sealer' only came at the 28th minute of a 29 minute quarter and 2 minutes before that JB put us within 12 points.

Another fast break from the centre and we could have been 6 points down - cue in the rack pffft - shall I say it slowly for you p f f f t ! ! ! !

10:36 - 7:00 minutes to go - Eagles about to 'put the cue in the rack' against Melbourne. Junk time points coming up!

PS [If you are going to the game this weekend you will be near enough to the city to stop at the aforementioned shop!]

PPS [See my signature]