Saints offer big money for untried ruckman

Cordz2

Re: Saints offer big money for untried ruckman

I think we recruit from the front doors of the epworth

BarryGrogan wrote: Tue 25 Jun 2019 7:47pm
saintsRrising wrote: Tue 25 Jun 2019 7:18pm
BarryGrogan wrote: Tue 25 Jun 2019 6:40pm
saintsRrising wrote: Tue 25 Jun 2019 6:03pm Look a as one off it would be ok. Problem is at the Saints gaining players who are injured happens way too often. Cumulatively that means we carry a very large risk.
Do we though?

Hawthorn just sold the farm for O'Meara, and recruited Scully.
They also got Burgoyne who had knee tendonitis.

Geelong recruited Rohan, Stanley and Ablett.

West Coast selected Judd when his shoulders were no good.

North took Higgins and Waite.

Freo took Hogan and Bennell.

Richmond just took Lynch.

Collingwood paid big bucks for Wells and took Stephenson knowing he has heart issues.

And that's just off the top of my head.

We took Freeman, Hannebury and King. And Bytel. Only Freeman was a real risk in terms of his injuries though, the others were merely time related.
Quoting other clubs is pretty meaningless as my point was that it has not gone well for StKilda when we have gone that way.

I am trying to think which injured recruit we picked up that worked out for us? The Bi-polar Barrot did not go well for us. From Michael Jez on it has been a pretty grim record.

Gardiner is about the only one I can think of? He played some great footy, but also missed a lot of games with us.

Mind you the one player who had an injury cloud that we did not pick was Judd and that probably cost us two flags.
?

Who hasn't gone well?

Only Freeman that I'm aware of.
It all looks a lot worse because of mccartin, roberton and stuv. If they were all fit and firing, we could have carried the others without complaints.

Cordz2 wrote: Wed 26 Jun 2019 2:05pm
I think we recruit from the front doors of the epworth
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Good one Colleague! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I was listening to Nick Dal Santo this arvo talking to Numb Nuts on SEN, and Dal seems to think that the Saints are being (ahem) "bold and adventurous" in trying to recruit this kid. (Or has he been drinking from the same water supply as our recruiters?)

I suspect this is BS. I mean some numpty masquerading as a Fox Footy journalist came up with the story. Now the flogs on SEN are speculating over it.

I'll take it all back if someone from the club has confirmed it to be true, however. But $1.7 million for an injured and untried player. Seriously, get your hand off it!

Sainternist wrote: Wed 26 Jun 2019 5:22pm I suspect this is BS. I mean some numpty masquerading as a Fox Footy journalist came up with the story. Now the flogs on SEN are speculating over it.

I'll take it all back if someone from the club has confirmed it to be true, however. But $1.7 million for an injured and untried player. Seriously, get your hand off it!
I agree with the points you're making re: the (ahem) "Journalists" in the AFL "industry". I listened to that twat Whateley on monday morning talking about the "Alan Richardson situation" the guy was verging on orgasm as he stirred the pot on this issue.......NOW for what its worth, I'm neither "pro" nor "con" sacking Richardson, but feel he should be allowed to coach until seasons end. (my honest opinion) so it wasn't the fact that (T)Whateley was raising the issue of the coach from any concern for our club or Richardson's mental welfare, it was just typicla tabloid/ Herald Sun? Craig Twatting-Hutchison type BULLSCHITT! with an eye firmly focussed on RATINGS :evil: :twisted:
I used to have respect for Gerad Twatley when he was at ABC. That has evaporated since he began drinking Hutchisons urine!

thejiggingsaint wrote: Wed 26 Jun 2019 6:26pm NOW for what its worth, I'm neither "pro" nor "con" sacking Richardson, but feel he should be allowed to coach until seasons end.
I'm with you, Jiggster. He may as well coach out the rest of the season, since we've already come this far. Unless he lost the confidence of his players, which doesn't seem to be the case. There's all this speculation about Brett Ratten wanting another shot at being a head coach, but last I heard, he had no such intentions. But we'll see.

wally

I'm not sure where or when but in the last couple of weeks I have seen on telly a Ratten interview where he said he wanted another crack at
being a head coach. At the time I was surprised as I'd read on here that he wasn't interested.

CarlD

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-20 ... f41a2ad889

Why am I not surprised? Even as an ambit bargaining position that is a head shaker.

CarlD wrote: Sat 29 Jun 2019 4:20pm https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-20 ... f41a2ad889

Why am I not surprised? Even as an ambit bargaining position that is a head shaker.
If the Saints ever agreed to that request Im sure the supporters would tear the place down. What flog makes up this s***. Why do these idiots insult our intelligence. f*** them all!

Essendon...oh the arrogance. Max King or a 1st round pick. Do they forget how many players they have stolen from clubs over the years?
The arrogance is astounding.

Laurie

St.K8lda should never entertain ttading with Essendon as long as Adrian ( Dildo) Dodoro is head of their list management.
There has been some silly trades in the past by our recruiters but to ever think we ever would consider such a request from the injectors please.

happy feet wrote: Tue 25 Jun 2019 8:37am This just has to be the dumbest move of all time.

There is an old saying that those that do not learn from history are bound to repeat their mistakes.

Do we forget the ‘joy’ of trading with the Jabbers? Do we remember the Lovett disaster? James Hird giving Lovett a reference! FFS.

The the Carlisle trade when weeks after coming to the Club that video appeared. This time, oh it will go something like.....

Essendon Football Club....the kid has a sore knee but he will be ok with some rest
St Kilda Football Club...that’s great, so lets pay mega bucks over his value to get him....kid will be a champion
Reality...we will spend a fortune getting him right and after playing one game axe him. All paid for by the supporters membership $$$.
Time to email the club everyone, enough is enough.
I thought I would post my own quote from a week or so ago.as a rule we should never ever entertain a trade with the Injectors. Biggest wank of a Club for all time.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Lol! Think ASADA need to get back down to the Bombers. Sounds like they've been smoking something down there!

BarryGrogan

SaintPav wrote: Wed 26 Jun 2019 8:54am
BarryGrogan wrote: Tue 25 Jun 2019 10:21pm
SaintPav wrote: Tue 25 Jun 2019 10:00pm **** me dead.
Who should have we got, that we didn't?

Not who we could have got, but should have.

Go back through the last 10 years like I did, and tell me who we should have got.
Got:
Pick 32 Winmar

Could have got:
34 Gawn
35 Astbury
46 Stratton

2010 (Compromised Draft)
Got:
24 Cripps
43 Sam Crocker

Could have got:
26 Darling
29 Lycett*
33 Howe*
40 Parker

2011(Compromised Draft)
Got:
25 Ross
35 Markworth
37 Newnes
42 Webster

Could have got:
30 Yeo*
33 Hill*
58 Neale*

2012(Compromised Draft)
Got:
24 Wright
25 White

Could have got:
46 Membrey*
60 Hutchings

Got:
3 Billings
18 Dunstan
19 Acres

Could have got:
4 Bont
13 Cripps
23 Crouch
26 Merrett
37 Pearce
44 Alir
55 Fantasia
56 Sicily
74 McGovern

Got:
1 McCartin
21 Goddard
22 McKenzie
41 Lonie
Rookie Pick 1 Sinclair

Could have got:
5 De Goey
14 Lever
24 Steele*
30 Maynard
46 Daniel

Got:
18 Gresham
40 White

Could have got:
66 Menegola

Got:
25 Long
39 Battle
56 Philips
Rookie Pick 10 Marshall

Could have got:
Nil

Got:
7 Clark
8 Coffield

Could have got:
9 Naughton
24 Kelly
26 Ryan

Got:
4 King
41 Bytel
47 Parker
54 Hind
Rookie Pick 3 Wilkie

Could have got:
5 Rozee
7 Smith

* Indicates they have left the club that drafted them.
Last edited by BarryGrogan on Sun 30 Jun 2019 11:11am, edited 1 time in total.

BarryGrogan

The above shows me, that there are very few (if any) players that we should have picked, instead of who we did pick.

In 2013 and 2014 there were definitely some nuggets there that we could have picked up, but given some of these guys went in the 20s, 30s and even later - suggests that many clubs passed on them also.

Always thought Tony E was a bit of a scapegoat... hits and misses for sure but outside of McCartin over Petracca, he was in line with industry standards

kosifantutti wrote: Tue 13 Aug 2019 5:54pm Draper has signed with Essendon.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-20 ... 9926c4c46a
Will cost them a heap more money now though. Suck on that cheaters.