Marshall over the moon

Re: Marshall over the moon

What else is he gonna say?

He’s Cleary not going to say he’s disappointed is he?

Why wouldn’t he be rapt to have some quality help in the ruck?

It’s going to release him forward, quite often, and I think he’s good enough to play that role very effectively as a specialist if needs be.

He was recruited as a forward, lovely kick for goal and has great hands. Most of all, a very smart footballer.

Win/win as far as I’m concerned.
Last edited by bigcarl on Fri 08 Nov 2019 3:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

wins
wins everywhere with this fella

winx ‘n wins

how lucky are we.

B.M wrote: Fri 08 Nov 2019 12:33pm What else is he gonna say?
Hahaha.....

Of course.
It's fun to imagine what he could say hypothetically, just say he is in fact, disgusted by the situation and yet still project a sunny optimistic demeanor.

"I'm really thrilled, it's always important to remember there are many ways of thinking about things going forward, just fantastic....to know that you have to keep your eyes open. ...not close your mind". .haha

Secret Kiel

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 08 Nov 2019 2:11pm
B.M wrote: Fri 08 Nov 2019 12:33pm What else is he gonna say?
Hahaha.....

Of course.
It's fun to imagine what he could say hypothetically, just say he is in fact, disgusted by the situation and yet still project a sunny optimistic demeanor.

"I'm really thrilled, it's always important to remember there are many ways of thinking about things going forward, just fantastic....to know that you have to keep your eyes open. ...not close your mind". .haha
if there are many ways of thinking about things going forward does that mean there is only one way of thinking about things going backwards?

i reckon
fwtw
there’s 3 for hindsight ‘n history

your way
their way
the way it actually happened

Even the act of thinking about going backwards is a sin..
I used to warned, "if you think, you sink".

Then again, also heard, "Think before you act"

Back to the Zen Temple for mediation about non-thinking, Maybe thats the best way to think about it.

asiu wrote: Fri 08 Nov 2019 1:31pm wins

winx ‘n wins

how lucky are we.
Apparently his farts smell like a aromatic herbs.

8bloggs

Linton Lodger wrote: Fri 08 Nov 2019 4:20pm
asiu wrote: Fri 08 Nov 2019 1:31pm wins

winx ‘n wins

how lucky are we.
Apparently his farts smell like a aromatic herbs.
Are you speaking from personal experience?
Reminds me of the joke: Sigmund Freud farted and Carl Jung said "Did you fart?" Freud replied "Of course I did, you don't think I smell like this all the time"...

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/ ... f7f5018bc2

"Paddy Ryder’s arrival at Moorabbin will mean less time in the ruck for Rowan Marshall. But the breakout Saint star has revealed he gave the tick of approval to the club’s pursuit of the veteran big man.
SAM EDMUND, Herald Sun

'We can be a good duo'
AFL: St Kilda ruckman Rowan Marshall says he is eager to learn from new recruit Paddy Ryder.

Blossoming St Kilda ruckman Rowan Marshall has hailed the recruitment of Paddy Ryder as he looks to take his game to another level next year.

Marshall was the shining light in the Saints’ disappointing 2019 campaign, finishing second in the best and fairest after a spectacular breakout season in which he carried a huge load.

Stream the full or condensed replay of the 2019 Toyota AFL Grand Final on KAYO SPORTS. Get your 14 day free trial and start streaming instantly >

Rather than feeling threatened by Ryder’s arrival, the 23-year-old said he was eager to learn from the 2017 All-Australian.

“I’m stoked, I’m over the moon,” Marshall said.

“He was obviously an All-Australian ruckman a couple of years ago and I’m pretty new to the craft. I’m looking forward to learning from him and I think we can be a pretty good duo down the track.”

Drafted as a forward, Marshall said he was more than happy to spend more time inside 50m to accommodate Ryder, believing they can form a dangerous double act in 2020.

The pair have been in touch over the phone in recent weeks.

“We spoke about going forward and how it’s going to work. I’m excited to either play in the ruck or down forward – I’m just happy to play in the senior side and whatever is best for the team,” Marshall said.

Opinions you can't ignore. Watch Paul Murray 9pm Sun - Thurs, Sky News. For more

“I think I’m more than capable of playing as a forward and I really love playing down there. We’ll wait and see how it works out.

“I was in talks with ‘Gags’ (list manager James Gallagher) last season and I was all for it. Whoever takes the ruck role it’s going to be a lot stronger in there because we can pinch it more and have more of a rest.”

Regardless of role specifics, Marshall said he would soak up as much information as he could from Ryder in the hope the former Port Adelaide big man could fill the blanks in his skillset.

“He’s a superb tap ruckman … that’s one weakness of my game I’ve got to work on,” he said.

“I think, at times last year against the bigger ruckmen I got found out a little bit in the ruck craft, but with Paddy here I’ll be able to improve on that.”

Ryder was one of five players snared by the Saints in a hectic trade period. He will join Brad Hill, Dan Butler, Dougal Howard and Zak Jones at training from November 18.

“We’ve brought in five really good players who should play senior footy every week so the vibe around the club at the moment is really good and I’m excited about next year,” Marshall said.

“Everyone wants to play finals, but we’ll focus on having a good pre-season and starting the season well.”

WHY RYDER, MARSHALL ARE A ‘WAIT AND SEE’ PAIRING

Sam Edmund

We’ll call them the ‘wait and see’ couple.

St Kilda took to the track for the official resumption of training on Thursday, fresh from an off-season dripping in positivity and optimism.

The new coach’s first pre-season, a glittering trade period, key coaching appointments and the expected natural improvement of its youngsters has the long-suffering Saints faithful feeling all warm and fuzzy.

But on a gloomy Thursday morning, our wait and see pair were nearly as cool as the unseasonal weather.

When you’re virtually the only two supporters watching pre-season training on November 7 weekday, it’s safe to say this isn’t your first rodeo.

We start the conversation.

You blokes would be feeling good about your boys?

Wait and see.

Your coach is made from the right stuff though.

Wait and see.

But that trade period – that will make a big difference.

Wait and see.

Our rusted-on duo have been coming here for decades – with a few years worth of detours to Seaford in between – and they’ve seen their share of disappointments and false dawns at the one-flag foundation club.

They are the reminder of the sometimes out-of-proportion excitability of the trade period and the fact games are harder to win on the field in July than they are on paper in October.

They watched from the fence, near a large chunk of roped-off freshly-laid turf as about 20 of the club’s 1-4 year players were put through a low-key session.

Fittingly, for a club that has seen the winds of change sweep through its coaching and playing ranks, a gale howled across this famous old ground.

Yet there was no Brad Hill or Paddy Ryder here, while most of St Kilda’s senior core were en-route to Byron Bay for former teammate Josh Bruce’s wedding.

A major reason the Saints were happy to trade Bruce was out there though, with Max King doing some drills and run throughs with Jonathon Marsh.

Hunter Clark, Jade Gresham, Ed Phillips, Nick Coffield, Josh Battle and Nick Hind were among those to be eased in to the program run by high performance manager Matt Hornsby.

Coach Brett Ratten devoted some one-on-one time to highly-rated teenager Jack Bytel and new part-time strength and conditioning coach Sean Dempster was a keen onlooker.

Former Bomber Nathan Lovett-Murray (indigenous welfare support) was also on-field.

Watching it all from a balcony above was football strategist and the recently-appointed “head of football program” David Rath, having been lured from the AFL.

As he cast a bespectacled eye on proceedings he was joined by football manager Simon Lethlean.

If the latter helped lay the exciting foundations in the trade period, both will be entrusted with ensuring it bares fruit.

There’s a vibe at Moorabbin. But will it translate to a first finals appearance since 2011?"

what else is he going to say ? really? I think he is totally honest in saying what he has, Ryder will be of great value to Marshall.

some real cynical tossers on this forum.

guitars4

The Fireman wrote: Fri 08 Nov 2019 9:34pm what else is he going to say ? really? I think he is totally honest in saying what he has, Ryder will be of great value to Marshall.

All due respect mate but I thought after all the years you have visited this site you would have realised there are a lot tossers on this site but "keep punchin" anyway :wink:

Why would Marshall be worried anyways? He has 10 years left at AFL... Ryder has 1-2.

One of the biggest beat ups on this site I can remember.

AA, a magnificent tap ruckman, and some experience in a position we are lacking. Cheap too.

Secret Kiel

Actually back on Marshall, it's really going to be interesting to see how Marshall backs up in 2020. Obviously teams are going to put a lot more work into him this year. It's a real possibility that Marshall could have a form slump while he works through the extra attention and Paddy takes his spot in the team during that time. Not a bad thing and as Spinner pointed out, RoMa is in it for the long haul and so if Paddy pushes RoMa out then in the long term that could still be very helpful to RoMa's development.

OldGeorgeYoung

This made me think about ‘quotes’ from our players who may not be ‘Over the Moon' about our Trade Period.

Logan Austin: “I’m rapt that we’ve pick up Howard who is a quality player who will be important to all tall backline structure moving forward. I will learn a lot from watching him from the stands. I was just talking to Oscar and we agree that the increased depth is a positive that will help launch our careers to a new level. Coming to the Saints was definitely the best decision for me”.

Ed Phillips: “The outside run from proven match winners in Hill and Jones is amazing news. Adding to the depth of players such as JB, Gresh, and the prospect of Jack Bytel, how can I be anything but thrilled for the club.”

Daniel McKenzie: “As a regular player with a long term contract, I’m excited by the prospect of playing finals footy. We do however, need to spare thought for players like Jimmy, Coff, Pato & Langs who’s careers may stagnate a bit, but it’s all for the greater good”.

Has anyone heard from any of our other Players? :wink:

If we don't have hope. All is lost.

Actually Paddy can teach Rowan a lot about ruckwork., starting with how to hit the ball to advantage and not down the throat of the opposition mids.
Last edited by saynta on Sat 09 Nov 2019 11:47am, edited 1 time in total.

There’s always been been an irrational fear on this site about Rowan spending time forward... never quite understood it myself

guitars4 wrote: Fri 08 Nov 2019 11:38pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 08 Nov 2019 9:34pm what else is he going to say ? really? I think he is totally honest in saying what he has, Ryder will be of great value to Marshall.

All due respect mate but I thought after all the years you have visited this site you would have realised there are a lot tossers on this site but "keep punchin" anyway :wink:
you're right of course...just wanted to say it ;)

Isn’t Skrobalak or Lade teaching him anything?

B.M wrote: Sun 10 Nov 2019 11:11am Isn’t Skrobalak or Lade teaching him anything?
It's always easier to improve your ruck work against a better ruckman. Waiting until matchday to find one would have been frustrating.

Marshall’s impact was around the ground including at ground level following ruck contests

His marking improved markedly to compliment his athleticism - and we saw what we saw

The immediate impact of Ryder will be the option of playing Marshall forward where I am of the view he will be a sensation with his attributes

To me this is the reason Bruce was traded out

The next concern is back up for Ryder because currently there is none

The other (speculation) sign was Marshall’s reference to McCartin and his hoped for recovery over his 12 months off

So, in the absence of Bruce and McCartin we will be pushing you forward and using Ryder predominately in the ruck - but with the hoped for recovery of McCartin you will return to the ruck in 2021

Hence Marshall referring to McCartin

Just a hunch

barneyboyz

To the top wrote: Sun 10 Nov 2019 5:58pm Marshall’s impact was around the ground including at ground level following ruck contests

His marking improved markedly to compliment his athleticism - and we saw what we saw

The immediate impact of Ryder will be the option of playing Marshall forward where I am of the view he will be a sensation with his attributes

+1 I totally agree with this. Marshall as a forward could be something the likes of we've never seen. Well yes, we've seen a couple of reall good ones I know, but he could be nigh on impossible to defend

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:
Secret Kiel

barneyboyz wrote: Mon 11 Nov 2019 7:58am
To the top wrote: Sun 10 Nov 2019 5:58pm Marshall’s impact was around the ground including at ground level following ruck contests

+1 I totally agree with this. Marshall as a forward could be something the likes of we've never seen. Well yes, we've seen a couple of reall good ones I know, but he could be nigh on impossible to defend
you'd have to think he will start in the forward line come round 1, I'm hoping he really keeps Max King out of the side for as long as possible to allow Max to build up to his first game. I have concerns over Max being fragile and injury prone.