The Draft

The Draft

So boring this draft but wait coming soon (tomorrow night)

Pick no 51
"we are so excited ??????? insert name ????? slid so far.
We never expected him to be still available at this pick".

Re: The Draft

As entertaining as watching grass grow at Marvel Stadium, which was far more entertaining when it was devoid of grass and known as Colonial Stadium.

GCS killed it

They have nearly a dozen first rounders on their list now

Rowell, Anderson and Flanders are three gun Mids

That follows King, Rankine and Lukoscous

agree B.M.

Carlton did well too..........

What time do we get a go?

Bowey Boy wrote: Wed 27 Nov 2019 11:10pm What time do we get a go?
in about 12 months

B.M wrote: Wed 27 Nov 2019 9:17pm GCS killed it

Wasted on the GC.

Freo looks like they have had an excellent 2019 draft, picks 7, 8 and 9.

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?

Having two extra (prioirity) picks in the Top 20 helps.

saintsRrising wrote: Thu 28 Nov 2019 9:57am

Having two extra (prioirity) picks in the Top 20 helps.
When their additional picks were granted.... there was a thread ..........my disgust was posted about their over the top help

THERE is still more to come in 2020 draft

Stinks.......

SMS

PICK 51
Absolute gem midd for us at this pick
- Mead
- Rantal
- Chirgwin

if we get ANY of those at 51 we will be laughing. Probably wont happen. But we should ALL be praying for this. Im actually a bit pissed off now. We should really have gotten better for Steven and have a pick in the 30s and we would have gotten one of these.

at 51 if they are gone I bet we get some kid none if us have heard of before from SA or WA.

but seriously 1 of those 3 and we are doing cartwheels. MUST get a genuine mid . Chirgwins height and ball use PLEASE!!

ausfatcat wrote: Wed 27 Nov 2019 11:17pm
Bowey Boy wrote: Wed 27 Nov 2019 11:10pm What time do we get a go?
in about 12 months
No we have sold most of that.
Make it 24 months.

Carlton have actually been quite impressive the last two drafts.

GCS cannot help but nail their picks, they've had alot of practice. What they need to nail is retention of their draft picks...hopefully they do that after Ben King returns home.

I think the Suns, like Brisbane

Will come out of nowhere in 2-3 seasons from now!

Brisbane were a basket case just 3 seasons ago

Kids come good... and they have a group of elite kids

the dome

Saints Home Ground

Trev I never liked 'colonial' or 'etihad' for that matter as names for St.Kilda's home ground. So personally I always referred to 'the Dome' & still do.

B.M wrote: Thu 28 Nov 2019 12:54pm I think the Suns, like Brisbane

Will come out of nowhere in 2-3 seasons from now!

Brisbane were a basket case just 3 seasons ago

Kids come good... and they have a group of elite kids
spot on.......

Hoping Luke Partington finds his way onto our list. Ticks absolutely every box.

Magarey Medal in 2019.
Improved hugely as SANFL season went on: "But the hard-running midfielder sprang to life from Round 7, as he attracted maximum votes from seven of eight matches, with Round 11 the only game he didn’t poll in during the two-month period."

He tied for the best and fairest in 2018 at East Perth.
Pick 28 in 2015. Couldn't break into arguably the AFL's best midfield at the time.
16 touches, 3 tackles on AFL debut.

Dominated the SANFL combine: https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/af ... 1cd04857ca

Unfortunately, In his draft year, Partington's father Brian was tragically killed in a mining accident at BHP Billiton's Olympic Dam site in Roxby Downs. So you'd have to excuse him for having a tough start to footy life in WA, moving from a small SA town to Perth.

But everything he's done since being delisted has been pretty bloody fantastic. FWIW Knightmare on BigFooty rated him outrageously high in June 2015 (....saying he was better than Darcy Parish, and comparable to Jaeger O'Meara :shock:).

Just reckon things might have clicked for him in the past six months and he's able to move forward with his life and play the kind of footy that should get him drafted by a club who needs a guy who can play inside and outside.
Last edited by evertonfc on Thu 28 Nov 2019 6:43pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gold Coast Suns have certainly picked up a lot of top talent in the last few drafts and I expect that from next year they will try and bring in some experienced senior players from other clubs, in exchange for some of their developing youngsters, much like GWS have done. It therefore follows that for Ben King to achieve his ambition to play alongside his brother at St Kilda, the Saints will need to send a decent player to the Gold Coast - maybe it will be a defender, given the wealth of defenders in the team currently, Did someone suggest Jake Carlisle???

Just added another mid who slid a bit......

Geelong got pick 11 (next year) for giving up pick 27........good deal for Cats!!!

Sanctorum wrote: Thu 28 Nov 2019 6:42pm Gold Coast Suns have certainly picked up a lot of top talent in the last few drafts and I expect that from next year they will try and bring in some experienced senior players from other clubs, in exchange for some of their developing youngsters, much like GWS have done. It therefore follows that for Ben King to achieve his ambition to play alongside his brother at St Kilda, the Saints will need to send a decent player to the Gold Coast - maybe it will be a defender, given the wealth of defenders in the team currently, Did someone suggest Jake Carlisle???
Carlisle lucky to warrant a 2nd round pick.

Not that many sliders left. We're at pick 36.

Jay Rantall, Trent Bianco and Hugo Ralphsmith still there.

evertonfc wrote: Thu 28 Nov 2019 8:00pm Not that many sliders left. We're at pick 36.

rantall gone

chook23 wrote: Thu 28 Nov 2019 8:17pm
evertonfc wrote: Thu 28 Nov 2019 8:00pm Not that many sliders left. We're at pick 36.

rantall gone
Collingwood nab Bianco and Rantall. They're always keen to nab sliders - Nathan Murphy in 2017 at Pick 39 springs to mind.

And Richmond take Ralphsmith. So that's basically it for the sliders.

Not long now

The predictor has us taking a ‘half back’

Please let it be so, the melts would be epic!