Nick and his other Nick’s turns over a new leaf.

Nick_BlueNRG

Nick and his other Nick’s turns over a new leaf.

I admit I am the original NeXus Nick hated by many including Joffaboy. As of today I am apologising to
everyone including JB and advise I have turned over a
new leaf. All my old Nick’s are in my signature but
will be going into the bin as of today. Go Saints and
let’s all use this forum to debate and celebrate all
things the mighty Saints.

(M)ake (S)t Kilda (S)elf (S)ustainable

Re: Nick and his other Nick’s turns over a new leaf.

I need some time to process this and whether or not I decide to accept your apology.

You were very nasty to me last week.

Good for you Nick. For all your faults you do seem to be a passionate Saints person with some strong ideas (albeit some radical) about the direction the club should take.

I believe you and I were about the only ones that thought the Armo trade to Richmond 5 or so years ago was one we should have taken. Hopefully this new leaf means that your comfortable with having your ideas challenged and discussing them (assuming that that too is done respectfully) in a less vs the world manner.

Nick_BlueNRG

The Arno trade was definitely one we should have done.
I hope New Zealand doesn’t fall by the wayside.

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 8:40am The Arno trade was definitely one we should have done.
I hope New Zealand doesn’t fall by the wayside.
No Nick it was a crap idea. And NZ is a non event, thankfully.

qusetion..why were you so hated ? Did you purposely set out to be an ar$hole ?

Nick_BlueNRG

The Fireman wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 9:31am qusetion..why were you so hated ? Did you purposely set out to be an ar$hole ?
I just kept getting sucked in. Especially by Joffaboy but no more.

In fairness, from Nick I also get there sense that his mindset to strategy/development is geared towards long term thinking.
The topics he is most passionate about e.g. NZ, trading in more picks go on the premise of putting in foundations and gradually building something from it over the long term that is sustainable ... hence I think he’s found our somewhat stop start approach starting from around the Lyon years to be quite challenging.

Just my interpretation

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 7:48am I admit I am the original NeXus Nick hated by many including Joffaboy. As of today I am apologising to
everyone including JB and advise I have turned over a
new leaf. All my old Nick’s are in my signature but
will be going into the bin as of today. Go Saints and
let’s all use this forum to debate and celebrate all
things the mighty Saints.
In my previous life I was the legendary crimelord Kayseri Soze!

my younger brother?

Nick_BlueNRG

skeptic wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 10:55am In fairness, from Nick I also get there sense that his mindset to strategy/development is geared towards long term thinking.
The topics he is most passionate about e.g. NZ, trading in more picks go on the premise of putting in foundations and gradually building something from it over the long term that is sustainable ... hence I think he’s found our somewhat stop start approach starting from around the Lyon years to be quite challenging.

Just my interpretation
I couldn’t have stated that better myself. I would like to
remind everyone that I told Butters at the AGM all
those years ago that abandoning Tassie was a huge
mistake that would come back and hurt the club.
When NZ came about I was so happy that we had a
second chance. Things didn’t work out to plan in
Wellington but once the ground is ready in Auckland
we must make it work. If we don’t then we will be
at risk of being forced to relocate or even worse,
merging. The AFL want to get rid of one more Vic
team. It will be out of the Dees, Kangas, Doggies and us. NZ
will take us off the endangered list.

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 5:40pm
skeptic wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 10:55am In fairness, from Nick I also get there sense that his mindset to strategy/development is geared towards long term thinking.

Just my interpretation
Crap. NZ will never work, The Kiwis are simply not interested in something called aussie rules football ffs.

NZ is a rugby union stronghold.

We will never be forced to relocate and such talk is simply scare - mongering nonsence

Nick_BlueNRG

saynta wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 5:57pm

Just my interpretation
Crap. NZ will never work, The Kiwis are simply not interested in something called aussie rules football ffs.

We will never be forced to relocate and such talk is simply scare - mongering nonsence
I will not be sucked in by you Saynta.

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 6:01pm
saynta wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 5:57pm

Just my interpretation

I will not be sucked in by you Saynta.
Not trying to suck you in Nick just putting some proper perspective in place.

You ever even been to N.Z ? They actually don't particularly like anything even remotely Australian.

As for the saints merging or being relocated..... Not while the AFL can get billions from Fox and the TV companies.

Post rubbish and someone will call you out. That has always been your problem. :roll: :roll: :roll:

AuckSaint

Sorry to say that as an Aussie who has lived in NZ for 15+ years ....the kiwis won’t accept the game for one reason. It’s “Aussie” rules and that word alone will prevent success here.

Not saying the Saints shouldn’t continue to pursue NZ IF the AFL make it financially viable. Just that if they think they’ll make a foothold here they’re dreaming . If the TV timing gives us exposure, the AFL pay Saints well, and it’s a great place and easy for Saints fans to visit and watch - great, go for it. Also the potential ground is 2 km from where i live so I’d love it!

But it will not gain a local foothold.

1 of the 10,000 NZ Saints members

AuckSaint wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 6:17pm Sorry to say that as an Aussie who has lived in NZ for 15+ years ....the kiwis won’t accept the game for one reason. It’s “Aussie” rules and that word alone will prevent success here.

Not saying the Saints shouldn’t continue to pursue NZ IF the AFL make it financially viable. Just that if they think they’ll make a foothold here they’re dreaming . If the TV timing gives us exposure, the AFL pay Saints well, and it’s a great place and easy for Saints fans to visit and watch - great, go for it. Also the potential ground is 2 km from where i live so I’d love it!

But it will not gain a local foothold.
Exactly what I was saying. Some people just have their heads in the clouds or at the other extreme. :wink:

Nick_BlueNRG

One game on ANZAC day and one game to coincide
with our school holidays and the ski season. This would
be the perfect scenario. Obviously the AFL would
need to guarantee us plenty of dollars and so Auckland.
We don’t need to establish a foothold. What we will
do is make sure all the new immigrants from NZ when
they get to Australia they will automatically barrack
for St Kilda and all the kiwis that are currently living
here already who don’t follow the footy may decide to
have a look as they may feel it is their team now.
The benefits are endless but we will need to be patient.
Small gains every year is fine by me. It may take 10 years
to have 5,000 kiwi based members. That’s ok. We might
convert 2,000 Aussie based kiwis but that could also
take 10 years. That’s fine and I would be more than
happy with that.

Nick_BlueNRG

There is also lots of marketing opportunities that
will pop up from NZ. New sponsors travel packages,
digital memberships.

👎

skeptic wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 8:30am Good for you Nick. For all your faults you do seem to be a passionate Saints person with some strong ideas (albeit some radical) about the direction the club should take.

I believe you and I were about the only ones that thought the Armo trade to Richmond 5 or so years ago was one we should have taken. Hopefully this new leaf means that your comfortable with having your ideas challenged and discussing them (assuming that that too is done respectfully) in a less vs the world manner.
So Nick is good but I'm a troll.

Thanks heaps Skeptic.

👍

Just my interpretation
Well I feel positive about this...
Right or wrong it’s always nice to discuss different ideas. Never mind the thought police that frown on opinions in fan forums... you may not start riveting threads about what games are on Foxtel or regurgitate nothing articles from the Herald Sun but the suggestion of trading Armo in time was worth more than ‘I don’t like that opinion so it’s wrong’.

AuckSaint

If the club is after fans they should chase Shanghai not Auckland. With a population just under 25 million and about double that within 100 km of the city, you only have to chase fractions of a percent oF the population recruiting fans to make it worthwhile. Chasing Auckland market share of sports fans against super rugby, rugby league and basketball all in Aust comps with under 2 million people just doesn’t stack up.

It only works for Auckland if they can convince council of 20+thousand visitors coming from Aussie to the game, spending large whilst here. The last 2 years in Wellington we couldn’t scratch up 15k fans; locally tickets were as low as $2 in 2015 and still couldn’t get the numbers. Plus good financial support from Foxtel for the rights

1 of the 10,000 NZ Saints members

SaintPav wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 7:48pm
skeptic wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 8:30am Good for you Nick. For all your faults you do seem to be a passionate Saints person with some strong ideas (albeit some radical) about the direction the club should take.

Thanks heaps Skeptic.

👍
Wow slow down... absolutely did not say or mean that. I took Nick’s post to be an apology with a view to change behaviour.

I missed the interaction between you guys but you are certainly no troll Pav. Ur about as sharp a Saint’s fan as I know.

skeptic wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 7:59pm
SaintPav wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 7:48pm

Thanks heaps Skeptic.

👍
Wow slow down... absolutely did not say or mean that. I took Nick’s post to be an apology with a view to change behaviour.

I missed the interaction between you guys but you are certainly no troll Pav. Ur about as sharp a Saint’s fan as I know.
Ok. Cheers

AuckSaint wrote: Tue 14 Jan 2020 7:54pm If the club is after fans they should chase Shanghai not Auckland. With a population just under 25 million and about double that within 100 km of the city, you only have to chase fractions of a percent oF the population recruiting fans to make it worthwhile. Chasing Auckland market share of sports fans against super rugby, rugby league and basketball all in Aust comps with under 2 million people just doesn’t stack up.

It only works for Auckland if they can convince council of 20+thousand visitors coming from Aussie to the game, spending large whilst here. The last 2 years in Wellington we couldn’t scratch up 15k fans; locally tickets were as low as $2 in 2015 and still couldn’t get the numbers. Plus good financial support from Foxtel for the rights
Good post.
There's also the little problem of the club and team not approaching any of the games prepared for competitive sport in the three matches we played over there. It was always going to be a struggle to make it work, but the way the team failed to turn up on the three occasions they played in Wellington was utterly disgraceful. We would not attract one single supporter based on those performances.

Unfortunately we have started our games in Shanghai in even worse form, making the entire proceedings a complete an abject failure. An utter embarrassment to the jumper and an insult to us as members. How more heads didn't roll after that abysmal farce and utterly unprofessional approach in what was an important opportunity to attract sorely needed sponsorship on the international stage is completely beyond the likes of me.