Channel 7 Commentary.

Watching the game again.

Truly horrible commentary. Worst I reckon I have had to sit through.

Bruce is done IMO. His repeated flogging over Rankine was over the top and embarrassing.

The moaning, for lack of a better word when anything happened is just plain weird.

JB wasnt much better. Their lack of research on our playing list was pathetic.

They dead set phoned this one in.

Re: Channel 7 Commentary.

bigred wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 3:42pm Watching the game again.

Truly horrible commentary. Worst I reckon I have had to sit through.

Bruce is done IMO. His repeated flogging over Rankine was over the top and embarrassing.

The moaning, for lack of a better word when anything happened is just plain weird.

JB wasnt much better. Their lack of research on our playing list was pathetic.

They dead set phoned this one in.
Even the missus was pissed off. Hated the dead flat monotones of that former Hawks captain.

I can't put up with commentary. I listen to music. It makes the viewing experience far more enjoyable.

Buttlers 4 goals were all as good as Rankines and Battles mark in a pack was better.

Beno88 wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 3:48pm I can't put up with commentary. I listen to music. It makes the viewing experience far more enjoyable.
Mahler's 5th?

All the Saints fans wanting to hear from the man of the moment, Butler... and they ask him to drool over Rankine??? What an insult.

perfectionist wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 4:35pm
Beno88 wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 3:48pm I can't put up with commentary. I listen to music. It makes the viewing experience far more enjoyable.
Mahler's 5th?
Was it as good as Butler’s 4th?

kosifantutti wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 4:39pm
perfectionist wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 4:35pm
Mahler's 5th?
Was it as good as Butler’s 4th?
Not a chance.

Not surprised and haven't watched the full replay yet, but Rankine is a freakish talent.

2018 is going to go down as one of the great draft years.

You'd be happy with anyone of those top 6 plus Blakey if you had a #1 pick.
Shaping up like the 2001 superdraft.

1 Sam Walsh
2 Jack Lukosius
3 Izak Rankine
4 Max King St Kilda
5 Connor Rozee
6 Ben King Gold Coast
7 Bailey Smith Western Bulldogs
8 Tarryn Thomas North Melbourne
9 Chayce Jones Adelaide
10 Nick Blakey

Jobe Watson should go back to making coffee.

markp wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 4:48pm Jobe Watson should go back to making coffee.
Nearly vomited when someone called him a Brownlow Medallist last night when they were talking about the Ben King free kick against Howard paid from the umpire over 60m away.

I thought it was truly awful to listen to. Bruce has officially lost the plot. He's really jumped the shark. Now that he's got a new Cyril toy to focus on (Rankine) - he'll be completely insufferable for GCS Suns games. You know it's going to get real messy in his home booth when he goes for the deep porno voice saying a player's surname.

Blurgh.

Got my Foxtel working again.
No-one will have to listen to CH 7 Broose NoBrainy as the Geelong game is only on Foxtel.

Whilst I agree the commentary can be nauseating, we should acknowledge that Bruce is calling from his spare room in Adelaide, and he's battling cancer. In addition to footy he's also hosted C7's horse racing throughout the Covid era. To be honest I've never been a fan of Bruce, but I'm prepared to give him credit for his work in very challenging circumstances.

Toy Saint wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 7:39pm Whilst I agree the commentary can be nauseating, we should acknowledge that Bruce is calling from his spare room in Adelaide, and he's battling cancer. In addition to footy he's also hosted C7's horse racing throughout the Covid era. To be honest I've never been a fan of Bruce, but I'm prepared to give him credit for his work in very challenging circumstances.
No, I will sound harsh, but cancer is no excuse for his fawning over the top commentary of a game when he is supposed to be neutral. He is actually sick making. I don't give a rat's for what else he is hosting. He is way past it and should step down gracefully. :evil: :twisted:

Saintmatt wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 5:00pm I thought it was truly awful to listen to. Bruce has officially lost the plot. He's really jumped the shark. Now that he's got a new Cyril toy to focus on (Rankine) - he'll be completely insufferable for GCS Suns games. You know it's going to get real messy in his home booth when he goes for the deep porno voice saying a player's surname.

Blurgh.
Wankin, wankin, wankin...yes, yes, yes.

Joffa Burns wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 4:45pm Not surprised and haven't watched the full replay yet, but Rankine is a freakish talent.

2018 is going to go down as one of the great draft years.

You'd be happy with anyone of those top 6 plus Blakey if you had a #1 pick.
Shaping up like the 2001 superdraft.

1 Sam Walsh
2 Jack Lukosius
3 Izak Rankine
4 Max King St Kilda
5 Connor Rozee
6 Ben King Gold Coast
7 Bailey Smith Western Bulldogs
8 Tarryn Thomas North Melbourne
9 Chayce Jones Adelaide
10 Nick Blakey
pretty good but i reckon 2019 has it covered.

1 matt rowell

Rankine is going to be very very good

Can't blame Bruce for getting excited

Happy to fly under ..... or over the radar

Turned the volume off.Wife told me to turn it back on to drown me out a bit.They are never happy are they

bergsone wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 8:19pm Turned the volume off.Wife told me to turn it back on to drown me out a bit.They are never happy are they
😁

Never been a Bruce fan he’s ordinary stick to horse racing or retire but he’s done.At least Commetti had the grace to know when to go

Brayshaw is worse he’s a deadset wanna be flog with the fake guttural tones and blokey guffaw’s and the cringe worthy “what do ya reckon Damo......Clarko.......Bevo......”

Actually I hate em all.

That shiny teethed Hamish who is now referred to as “Hammer” cause he was so hard at the pill in his day as an old Xavarien ......seriously shyte. Gets a gig cause big bro runs the show ....big bro also did favours for his mate Ahmed Fahour who used to run AustPost and gifted his bro a job ....till he broke someone’s jaw behind play as a coward whilst he was AFL Multicultural Ambassador ......while Post paid the salary......conflict? Nah not if you’re a good blokey bloke in the AFL world...

Cordz2

Jordan Lewis, Jobe Watson, Luke Hodge are terrible.
Last edited by Cordz2 on Fri 07 Aug 2020 11:39pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cordz2

Teflon wrote: Fri 07 Aug 2020 9:46pm Never been a Bruce fan he’s ordinary stick to horse racing or retire but he’s done.At least Commetti had the grace to know when to go

Brayshaw is worse he’s a deadset wanna be flog with the fake guttural tones and blokey guffaw’s and the cringe worthy “what do ya reckon Damo......Clarko.......Bevo......”

Actually I hate em all.

That shiny teethed Hamish who is now referred to as “Hammer” cause he was so hard at the pill in his day as an old Xavarien ......seriously shyte. Gets a gig cause big bro runs the show ....big bro also did favours for his mate Ahmed Fahour who used to run AustPost and gifted his bro a job ....till he broke someone’s jaw behind play as a coward whilst he was AFL Multicultural Ambassador ......while Post paid the salary......conflict? Nah not if you’re a good blokey bloke in the AFL world...
Luke Hodge last night made an example of Max King to the kids at home not to do what King just did. Very disrespectful- he’d never say that about a hawks player.
Bruce’s over excitement of sudden “Whooaahh” at the top of his voice for an average goal/mark/attempt isn’t fooling anyone. It’s horrible.
Jordan Lewis’ special comments are terrible also. Dunstall was struggling to deal with his arrogance during the Sydney game.

Ever since someone posted on here 3 years ago that they turn the sound off, I've been doing the same. Much more enjoyable watching the footy using the mute button...especially when Brucey is commentating and you don't need to hear him say; he 'squeeeeeezes' one out and it's a 'squirter' and whatever other non football terminology he wants to use

Who made comments about Battle overcoming injuries? It was weird. Has had a decent run with injuries. The other commentators did not know how to respond. Awkward silence.