The Biggest Blunders Since 2008
- Waltzing St Kilda
- SS Hall of Fame
The Biggest Blunders Since 2008
Feel free to add to the list.
MOIVE TO SEAFORD: Archie Fraser throws a hissy-fit over the Council's rejection of a few pokie machines and hi-ho we're off to Seaford in a multi-million dollar fiasco.
ANDREW LOVETT: Sheeds and Hird said he was ripper bloke so why be sceptical?
SCOTT WATTERS OVER KEN HINKLEY
TOM LEE: Because we desperately needed someone to replace Roo and this mature age reject played a good game in the WAFL once.
SEE YA LATER GODDARD, DAL SANTO and BIG BOY McEVOY: It's a ruthless game these days and who needs heart-and-soul players?
ALAN RICHARDSON OVER A PLANK OF WOOD
EXTENDING RICHO'S CONTRACT FOR NO GOOD REASON
PADDY McCARTIN OVER CHRISTIAN PETRACCA: No hindsight required, it was always lunacy.
JACK LONIE OVER CALEB DANIEL: MInd you, I wouldn't have known who Daniel was if the Saints hadn't talked him up as potential second-round pick.
BILLINGS OVER THE BONT
THE PELICAN AND THE TROUT: Nuff said.
DAN HANNEBURY
BRAD HILL
MOIVE TO SEAFORD: Archie Fraser throws a hissy-fit over the Council's rejection of a few pokie machines and hi-ho we're off to Seaford in a multi-million dollar fiasco.
ANDREW LOVETT: Sheeds and Hird said he was ripper bloke so why be sceptical?
SCOTT WATTERS OVER KEN HINKLEY
TOM LEE: Because we desperately needed someone to replace Roo and this mature age reject played a good game in the WAFL once.
SEE YA LATER GODDARD, DAL SANTO and BIG BOY McEVOY: It's a ruthless game these days and who needs heart-and-soul players?
ALAN RICHARDSON OVER A PLANK OF WOOD
EXTENDING RICHO'S CONTRACT FOR NO GOOD REASON
PADDY McCARTIN OVER CHRISTIAN PETRACCA: No hindsight required, it was always lunacy.
JACK LONIE OVER CALEB DANIEL: MInd you, I wouldn't have known who Daniel was if the Saints hadn't talked him up as potential second-round pick.
BILLINGS OVER THE BONT
THE PELICAN AND THE TROUT: Nuff said.
DAN HANNEBURY
BRAD HILL
-
- Saintsational Legend
Re: The Biggest Blunders Since 2008
Walking out on Tassie
Letting Luke Ball walk for Zip
Not having the balls to recruit Cousins
The 2009 trade period
Every trade period Pelican was involved in
Allowing Ross Lyon to walk
The development of Armitage, Steven, Stanley, Lynch in 2009-2011 period
Letting Luke Ball walk for Zip
Not having the balls to recruit Cousins
The 2009 trade period
Every trade period Pelican was involved in
Allowing Ross Lyon to walk
The development of Armitage, Steven, Stanley, Lynch in 2009-2011 period
- skeptic
- Saintsational Legend
Well... I’m with you on this one
Tassie and Cousins in particular
- shanegrambeau
- Saintsational Legend
I think Watters may have been aloof etc., but that he may have been harshly judged in hindsight.
Our biggest blunder was surrendering the opportunity to come home to the Junction Oval and make our St Kilda, our St Kilda.
Australia blew it in 1996. They could have become a Republic. We had a chance too. We let Eddie and Co. and Cricket steam roll us.
Our biggest blunder was surrendering the opportunity to come home to the Junction Oval and make our St Kilda, our St Kilda.
Australia blew it in 1996. They could have become a Republic. We had a chance too. We let Eddie and Co. and Cricket steam roll us.
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
Caleb Daniel was gone before we picked up Lonie.
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
Trading Russell Greene and letting Val Perovic go.
- shanegrambeau
- Saintsational Legend
Seconded.
Especially Val Perovic.. it hurt bad to see VP do so well at Carlton. With RG, I always was happy for him. Such a brilliant guy.
- Waltzing St Kilda
- SS Hall of Fame
Nope.
41 Jack Lonie St Kilda Dandenong Stingrays TAC Cup
3 42 Billy Stretch Melbourne Glenelg SANFL Father-son rule selection – son of Steven Stretch
3 43 Mitch McGovern Adelaide Claremont WAFL Traded from Hawthorn; received from Greater Western Sydney
3 44 Liam Dawson Brisbane Lions Aspley NEAFL Academy player
3 45 Bailey Dale Western Bulldogs Dandenong Stingrays TAC Cup
3 46 Caleb Daniel Western Bulldogs South Adelaide SANFL Traded by Carlton
- Ghost Like
- Saintsational Legend
Disagree on the Bont until someone can show me the thread where everyone was pushing for Bontempelli to go at Pick 3. I only recall someone saying he's Dal's cousin. Hardly an endorsement with our record of familial selections or lack there of.
The biggest disappointment about the Cousins saga was we had pushed Harves out the door to then turn around and try to get Cousins. Absolutely no logic in that.
Agree with the rest though.
The biggest disappointment about the Cousins saga was we had pushed Harves out the door to then turn around and try to get Cousins. Absolutely no logic in that.
- SaintPav
- Saintsational Legend
f****** Trout..Waltzing St Kilda wrote: ↑Fri 16 Apr 2021 4:08amNope.
41 Jack Lonie St Kilda Dandenong Stingrays TAC Cup
3 42 Billy Stretch Melbourne Glenelg SANFL Father-son rule selection – son of Steven Stretch
3 43 Mitch McGovern Adelaide Claremont WAFL Traded from Hawthorn; received from Greater Western Sydney
3 44 Liam Dawson Brisbane Lions Aspley NEAFL Academy player
3 45 Bailey Dale Western Bulldogs Dandenong Stingrays TAC Cup
3 46 Caleb Daniel Western Bulldogs South Adelaide SANFL Traded by Carlton
-
- Saintsational Legend
Cousins could still cover the groundGhost Like wrote: ↑Fri 16 Apr 2021 7:14am Disagree on the Bont until someone can show me the thread where everyone was pushing for Bontempelli to go at Pick 3. I only recall someone saying he's Dal's cousin. Hardly an endorsement with our record of familial selections or lack there of.
Harvs was cooked and lost a yard that last season
-
- Saintsational Legend
-
- Saintsational Legend
When will the AFL come in with some decent football administrators and give us half a chance?
If we aren’t competitive there will be consequences and we won’t be spared.
The business of AFL is about change and they have to grow to compete against other sports
We can’t expect the AFL to keep propping up the weaker teams forever
It’s not unrealistic to see changes in another decade from now
Maybe Saints and Suns merging and maybe the Hawks based out of Tassie and maybe North merging with Melbourne
If we aren’t competitive there will be consequences and we won’t be spared.
The business of AFL is about change and they have to grow to compete against other sports
We can’t expect the AFL to keep propping up the weaker teams forever
It’s not unrealistic to see changes in another decade from now
Maybe Saints and Suns merging and maybe the Hawks based out of Tassie and maybe North merging with Melbourne
- Ghost Like
- Saintsational Legend
I'll disagree, check Harves stats for his last season & Cousins stats for Richmond. I'm confident they compare favourably.Teflon wrote: ↑Fri 16 Apr 2021 9:08amCousins could still cover the groundGhost Like wrote: ↑Fri 16 Apr 2021 7:14am Disagree on the Bont until someone can show me the thread where everyone was pushing for Bontempelli to go at Pick 3. I only recall someone saying he's Dal's cousin. Hardly an endorsement with our record of familial selections or lack there of.
Harvs was cooked and lost a yard that last season
-
- Saintsational Legend
Thought Stats aren’t everything???
Cousins was 29 in 2009
Harvey was 38
Cousins was 29 in 2009
Harvey was 38
- skeptic
- Saintsational Legend
I’d have kept Harvey on the list... he was still playing well enough
Imagine the 09 GF...
Out - Dempster and McQualter as defensive forwards... in Harvey and Cousins instead. We’d have won by 15 goals
Harvey would have done the job
Imagine the 09 GF...
Out - Dempster and McQualter as defensive forwards... in Harvey and Cousins instead. We’d have won by 15 goals
Harvey would have done the job
-
- Saintsational Legend
You have pull curtains on your career at some stage
Maybe Harves had had enough?
- Ghost Like
- Saintsational Legend
No Browlow votes & B&Fs aren't everything. Stats also can be deceiving but not in this case.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Lots of blunders alright. I remember the talk around time we recruited PaddyMcC, that we needed to build a decent midfield, but instead we opted for a lumbering forward who had pre-existing health issues- still haven't built a good enough midfield when most other clubs have been hard at it. Recycled players with nothing to prove, or chronic injuries are not the basis of building playing lists. A big minus to Lethlean and co.
I think Lyon was offered more money than the Saints could match? A classic tale of the tail wagging the dog when Watters got the flick, very weak leadership from the top, but enough been said on that. Richo didn't develop enough younger players considering he was brought on board in part due to strong development skills?
This season's pathetic efforts are a culmination of bad decisions over recent years.
I think Lyon was offered more money than the Saints could match? A classic tale of the tail wagging the dog when Watters got the flick, very weak leadership from the top, but enough been said on that. Richo didn't develop enough younger players considering he was brought on board in part due to strong development skills?
This season's pathetic efforts are a culmination of bad decisions over recent years.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Brownlow and B&Fs aren’t anything
Let’s see
Our last Brownlow Medallist’s
R.Harvey, T.Lockett, I.Stewart
They could play a bit!
To win a Brownlow, you must be alright, or at the very least had a cracking season!!!
B&Fs
To win a B&F at an AFL club is a massive achievement regardless!
You have been voted by coaches as the best player (of 40 odd list AFL players) over the course of a season!
No duds win those
Let’s see
They could play a bit!
To win a Brownlow, you must be alright, or at the very least had a cracking season!!!
B&Fs
You have been voted by coaches as the best player (of 40 odd list AFL players) over the course of a season!
No duds win those
- Ghost Like
- Saintsational Legend
Use the quote function, that way you won't misquote. I said "aren't everything", not "aren't anything". I also said Brownlow votes, not the actual Brownlow.B.M wrote: ↑Fri 16 Apr 2021 12:26pm Brownlow and B&Fs aren’t anything
Let’s see
They could play a bit!
B&Fs
No duds win those
-
- Saintsational Legend
Hmm to get a Brownlow vote
You are judged in the top 3 players on the ground in a game of League Footy
I’d take that
To have 40 odd like Seb Ross - would be even nicer
You are judged in the top 3 players on the ground in a game of League Footy
I’d take that
To have 40 odd like Seb Ross - would be even nicer
-
- Saintsational Legend
Sounds like your clutching at straws?...
Trying to prove what point??
“Stats can be deceiving” depends when it suits I suppose?!
Trying to prove what point??
“Stats can be deceiving” depends when it suits I suppose?!