Tony74 commented (heading updated)

MickThomas

Tony74 commented (heading updated)

His last post was just after the WCE game, when he quoted himself saying 'they're hurting...they'll give a great effort...'
Then he said after the game 'the proof is in the pudding'.

I wonder if he'll announce that the boys are hurting (again)
Last edited by MickThomas on Fri 16 Apr 2021 8:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

Re: Tony74 silent...

Maybe Tony has had the same rude awakening that the Saints braintrust have had this season, we are crap.

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?
HarryM

MickThomas wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 6:19pm His last post was just after the WCE game, when he quoted himself saying 'they're hurting...they'll give a great effort...'

Yeah Tony, where are you with your words of wisdom?

Tic Toc. - yeah it must be hard thats for sure. :D

I appreciate it very much when Tony74 gives insight; have always wondered, however, why he bothers.

MickThomas

I am not baiting him, but all of us are outsiders only hear the comments from Ratts like 'We won't drop Hill'

But an anonymous ITK such as Mr 74 can fill in the gaps as to why Hill deserves special treatment that we struggle to understand.
It would make it easier for families to go to the effort of gathering up the kids for yet another long, painful convoluted journey by public transport.
A journey in 2021 that resembles a journey in 18th century London.
We need something to give us hope

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

Just wait people
He can only inform once the official excuse line has been formulated

Just wait people
He can only inform once the official excuse line has been formulated

Players are hurting just as much as us. Trying to remain positive, will review and train strongly, ready for Port. Marshall should be back, and Jones.

Positive enough??

Geez give the guy a break
He tries and shares when he can
He won’t know why Brad Hill won’t lay a tackle or why Jack Billings has 14 disposals
Tough crowd...

MickThomas

B.M wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 7:35pm Players are hurting just as much as us. Trying to remain positive, will review and train strongly, ready for Port. Marshall should be back, and Jones.

Positive enough??
Hahaha
Richo, after one bad loss, said post-match 'we'll review this very strongly' which sound like weasel words from a politician who's pretending to do something but has no clue

MickThomas wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 6:19pm His last post was just after the WCE game, when he quoted himself saying 'they're hurting...they'll give a great effort...'

He is probably bitterly disappointed and shattered just like us.

Members of this forum have gotten a bit antsy with Tony over the years after bad losses

My bet is he’s probably learned over the years to keep his head down the day or two directly after a bad loss

Based on this thread... I dare say he’s right to do so

Mate- We/They are shattered. But don’t ever ever think that they are not trying. Ever.

No one who plays footy, doesn’t try.

The effort for the first Q and a half was strong (Crouch in particular)
We were winning inside but losing outside

From halfway through the first quarter, they lost control of the clearances therefore were losing both inside and out
Hence got flogged!

Why is another question?

Why did we suddenly lose control at stoppage?
Why did our ball movement stagnate?
Why couldn’t we pressure?

It’s not ‘not trying’ it’s not performing

B.M wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 7:35pm Players are hurting just as much as us. Trying to remain positive, will review and train strongly, ready for Port. Marshall should be back, and Jones.

Positive enough??
I’m not ruling us out.

MickThomas

SaintPav wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 8:48pm

Positive enough??
I’m not ruling us out.
If Marshall gets up, and...Jones replaces Webster (for god's sake, Dunny for medical sub)
We have an extra day...I know Port did a number on the tigers, but geez we will be in with a chance, we could win.

But Marshall, if he's 50/50, they better keep him on ice, we don't want to ruin his season.
Can't gamble for one game when we could lose the beast for several

Re: Tony74 commented (heading updated)

I’ve got a great idea ..let’s shoot the messenger :oops: :oops: :oops:

tony74 wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 8:40pm

Mate- We/They are shattered. But don’t ever ever think that they are not trying. Ever.
Thanks for posting Tony - and as a long standing Sainter - I think the boys - excluding Steele and several others - need a rocket up their arse - last night was unforgivable mate. It was a bullsh1t game from them. They gave up!

Same sh*t, different season.

MickThomas

SydneySainter wrote: Sat 17 Apr 2021 9:47am

Same sh*t, different season.
Players come and go, lists are turned over.
But for some reason, clubs have a theme.

Geelong- they might lose a few games, but they're tough to beat at the Cattery. Can demolish an oppo on their day.
Hawks- can lose a few, but have won a flag in each decade since the 70s.
Others are similar.

Saints- apart from last year, and a few notable short eras under Alves, Thommo n Lyon, the Saints turn up their toes and surrender under sustained pressure.

Let themselves get dominated. Without as much as a whimper.
The proof's in the pudding.

Personally I thought the Essendon loss was worse but still an unacceptable performance. How we deal with the fall out from the the loss is the bigger question. Port at home will be an enormous challenge but we need to show some heart & at least give a 4 quarter effort not a capitulation like last week. I don't expect us to win but I hope at least were competitive

tony74 wrote:

Thanks Tony. Contrary to what you might read on some sites, I have no doubt they are trying their guts out.

That was pretty evident even in the last quarter when I made my poor kids sit there and watch to the final siren, people flooding out around us, pointing out the blokes on the field that were still having a crack even to to the bitter end.

There’s surely not one reason - or one player, for that matter - that explains the week to week inconsistency. But I’m pretty confident that having so many key players out from the beginning is a pretty big one. And that can be fixed. There’s no reason for any of us to give up.

The Fireman wrote:I’ve got a great idea ..let’s shoot the messenger :oops: :oops: :oops:
Well said Firey

B.M wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 8:46pm No one who plays footy, doesn’t try.

From halfway through the first quarter, they lost control of the clearances therefore were losing both inside and out
Hence got flogged!

Why is another question?

Crouch got caught a few times.

Concerning

Crossy66

SaintPav wrote: Sat 17 Apr 2021 3:26pm
B.M wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 8:46pm No one who plays footy, doesn’t try.

Hence got flogged!

Why is another question?

Crouch got caught a few times.

Concerning
Crouch had plenty of mates who didn't have a good night, but at the risk of singling him out, in the 2nd, he got possession 3 times at centre bounces and handed the ball back to a Richmond player who took the clearance. Then on the hbf, he kicked an up and under that went
40 mtrs high and 20 MTRS long, that was taken by a tiger and a goal followed. In the last five minutes multiple times he was walking as his opponent sprinted away from the contest. Btw, not just him. He simply gave in to frustration. Tiger players picked up on it and started the Harlem Globetrotters s***: game over
But like I said he was one of a number.
Fix this and we are a tougher opponent