Jones... quad

At training today.

Long term.

Re: Jones... quad

shite

Damn.

He’s been close to our best the past two games. We can’t take a trick.

I guess Dunstan will come in, but we are going to lack drive in the middle

MickThomas

Paton- leg broken by an assistant coach;
Gresh- Achilles;
Geary- ankle (but he's lining up in VFL this round)
Jones- long term quad. Not long after amassing 37 touches n a BOG.

Cruel twists of fate are the Cassandras that befall St Kilda, these are the crosses we bear.

OMG

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn
MickThomas

bigcarl wrote: Wed 12 May 2021 9:46pm Damn.

Bringing Dunstan in, is a classic Richo move.
Ratts, don't do it. Just don't

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

bigred wrote: Wed 12 May 2021 9:32pm At training today.

Long term.
FFS we cant take a trick this year. He was our only midfielder who gave us some speed around the contest and in broken play.

MickThomas wrote: Wed 12 May 2021 9:50pm

Only other ppl on the list worth bringing on at the moment are Long and Dmac.

Personally I’d go Long. Give him a good crack at it

Big out.

We’re stuffed.

**** me just had a gutfull of these type injuries we are screwed

Has been good but as most of our high rolling recruits is injury prone . You roll the dice & hope for the best but just have to take it on the chin when the sh-t hits the fan

skeptic wrote: Wed 12 May 2021 9:57pm

Only other ppl on the list worth bringing on at the moment are Long and Dmac.

Personally I’d go Long. Give him a good crack at it
More like Steele, Crouch, Ross, Hill, Billings, Bytel and Byrnes etc will need to pick up the slack.

This year has been one monumental clusterbuck.

Jones, like Hannas, needs to get his body right. These niggling soft tissue injuries are the difference between top teir and didly squat. He has a durability issue. Something within his prep, or training, or whatever just is not right.

As for replacements, well there really is not a whole heap left. There is no pace in the magoos.
Perhaps Long comes in to HB releasing Clark to full time midfield rotation? Perhaps....But Long needs to pull his head in.

But Long needs to pull his head in.
Dunstan is a no. It would be accepting defeat before the bounce.

Perhaps Dmac along the similar lines to Long. But unsure of how fit he is.

Dammit. Maybe even Lonie and let Snags have a run in the guts.

Dammit.

FFS. This sucks. I was getting falling for the same old thing believing we could actually get a run on.

Our list is really kinda whack.

therabbitinthehat

Left field idea - bring in Long as a direct replacement. Let him get his aggression out by going full on in to contests in the middle rather than off half back. Would prob scare the s**t out of opponents.

bigred wrote: Wed 12 May 2021 10:32pm Perhaps Long comes in to HB releasing Clark to full time midfield rotation? Perhaps....But Long needs to pull his head in.
That’s probably it. But Clark should be in the full time midfield rotation already imo if we are fair dinkum about him as a future A-grader.

therabbitinthehat wrote: Wed 12 May 2021 10:37pm Left field idea - bring in Long as a direct replacement. Let him get his aggression out by going full on in to contests in the middle rather than off half back. Would prob scare the s**t out of opponents.
Can't hurt to at least give him a go :wink:

therabbitinthehat wrote: Wed 12 May 2021 10:37pm Left field idea - bring in Long as a direct replacement. Let him get his aggression out by going full on in to contests in the middle rather than off half back.
like it

MickThomas

therabbitinthehat wrote: Wed 12 May 2021 10:37pm Left field idea - bring in Long as a direct replacement. Let him get his aggression out by going full on in to contests in the middle rather than off half back. Would prob scare the s**t out of opponents.
Jones worked under Longmire and the Swans system, that helped him understand his own attributes, and iron out his weaknesses.
'Development'.
He's brought all that IP about his own style.

You think Long can somehow magically know how to time his attack on the ball, and where to run, etc, just because he has the red veil of anger when the game starts?
He'd be lucky to get 12 touches for the game.
(His career average is 10.7)

Or Lonie

MickThomas wrote: Wed 12 May 2021 11:57pm
Jones worked under Longmire and the Swans system, that helped him understand his own attributes, and iron out his weaknesses.
'Development'.
He's brought all that IP about his own style.

You think Long can somehow magically know how to time his attack on the ball, and where to run, etc, just because he has the red veil of anger when the game starts?
He'd be lucky to get 12 touches for the game.
(His career average is 10.7)
Fair call but what do we have to lose throw caution to the wind have a crack at something different may not work but hey I'm game :wink:

Is Connolly ready for senior footy?

Ross and Frawley for Jones and Wood seems likely.

B: Webster, Frawley, Wilkie
HB: Coffield, Howard, Sinclair
C: Hill, Steele, Clark
HF: Higgins, Marshall, Billings
F: Butler, King, Membrey

Foll: Ryder, Crouch, Ross
Int: Battle, Byrnes, Bytel, Joyce

Maybe we could also see McKenzie for Joyce to balance out the 22 if these changes happen.

Damn. ...but ...alas...We all knew this was bound to happen - and soon. We discussed it on this forum. I expected four games out of him before the next break down...and it’s breakdown number six over the last two years.

I like the Long plan.

And that all said, it’s still a shock and disappointment.

bullmarket

[/quote]

Or Lonie
[/quote]

and the oscar for best performance in a comedy :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

then again, often the selectors appear to be the lunatics in charge of the asylum, so anything goes :oops: :roll: :roll:

clearly by now. there is no upside to Lonie
he has already exhausted any potential that he had
he ain't going to get any better

Einstein said it best - “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.”

Hopefully the saints selectors don't prove him, yet again, correct, when the team line up is published this evening

mad saint guy wrote: Thu 13 May 2021 1:03am Ross and Frawley for Jones and Wood seems likely.

B: Webster, Frawley, Wilkie
HB: Coffield, Howard, Sinclair
C: Hill, Steele, Clark
HF: Higgins, Marshall, Billings
F: Butler, King, Membrey

Foll: Ryder, Crouch, Ross
Int: Battle, Byrnes, Bytel, Joyce

Maybe we could also see McKenzie for Joyce to balance out the 22 if these changes happen.
Most likely.

I can see DMac coming in to add some pace and may release Billings in to the middle or forward line which in turn will let Higgins and Butler have a run through the middle if pace is required.

Can’t buy a trick this season. Or at least can’t buy a non injury prone recruit

Ahh well the season was gone anyway but Friday is already looking ugly

I think Dunstan deserves a run to be honest. If not dunstan bring in freezer..