Richmond's sixth lowest score ever

Yes, 22 points is their 6th lowest score ever.

I can say that I saw their lowest score ever, 0 8 8 at the Junction Oval in Round 16 in 1961. I was only 9 at the time, but old enough to realise its significance. I gazed at the scoreboard until the numbers were finally taken down. If that had not been until 9pm, I reckon I would still have been gazing.

I note a few Richmond players have injuries. I wish them well, except that I hope they never play again. Talk about a team blessed with luck.

Re: Richmond's sixth lowest score ever

Commentators were making excuses for the Tigers all night

Umpires favouring the Tigers all night

It was magnificent effort by the boys ..... considering our own injury list and players coming back underdone

And it was at the G as well ..... just a little cherry on top

perfectionist wrote: Fri 25 Jun 2021 11:45pm Yes, 22 points is their 6th lowest score ever.

I can say that I saw their lowest score ever, 0 8 8 at the Junction Oval in Round 16 in 1961. I was only 9 at the time, but old enough to realise its significance. I gazed at the scoreboard until the numbers were finally taken down. If that had not been until 9pm, I reckon I would still have been gazing.

I note a few Richmond players have injuries. I wish them well, except that I hope they never play again. Talk about a team blessed with luck.
Tonight was their lowest score since that match actually :shock:

All the talk about Richmond

Just goes to show

We are not the story, even though we won … Richmond are

AFL is so media driven

Lowest score for them at the MCG since 1927

B.M wrote: Fri 25 Jun 2021 11:54pm All the talk about Richmond

Just goes to show

AFL is so media driven
Totally

one point

perfectionist wrote: Fri 25 Jun 2021 11:45pm Yes, 22 points is their 6th lowest score ever.

From my memory the game was at the Punt Rd oval

one point wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 12:45am

Junction Oval mate

https://www.saints.com.au/news/963911/r ... it-harder-

one point

samuraisaint wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 12:51am
one point wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 12:45am

Junction Oval mate

https://www.saints.com.au/news/963911/r ... it-harder-
👍 memories fade

That is one hell of a low score.
Fantastic defensive effort.

When was the last time we only kicked 2 goals in a match?

samuraisaint wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 1:06am That is one hell of a low score.

I remember Greg McAdam scoring both our goals against Carlton at Moorabbin. Has it happened since then?

oboe

The lowest score by any team against us since Round 12 1971 I think.

kosifantutti wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 1:11am

I remember Greg McAdam scoring both our goals against Carlton at Moorabbin. Has it happened since then?
I was there that day too. Did we only kick 2 that day?
Moorabbin 1985, am I right?

oboe wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 1:18am The lowest score by any team against us since Round 12 1971 I think.
You might be right champ.
I thought Adelaide in 2011 - when we beat them by 18 goals, but even they kicked 3 goals that night.

samuraisaint wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 1:40am

Round 2. And it was the last time we kicked 2 goals.

kosifantutti wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 1:54am
samuraisaint wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 1:40am

Round 2. And it was the last time we kicked 2 goals.
The Social Club was still rocking though

Devilhead wrote: Fri 25 Jun 2021 11:48pm And it was at the G as well ..... just a little cherry on top
I think there's a misconception that we have an advantage at Marvel. I'm not so sure.

I reckon our record at the MCG in recent years has been good. It would be interesting to compare our win loss percentage at the G versus Etihad/Marvel

Also...re Marvel; I know it's a great place to watch footy, but not too sure if playing on it long term is good on players feet (2 of our best have had foot issues)

Faulky63

Can I also add....
When was the last time a team had more free kicks than their overall score.

Great effort last night by a team that had copped it from all angles, they have set the bar as a minimum required performance for the rest of the year.

Go Saints

Vortex wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 12:03am
B.M wrote: Fri 25 Jun 2021 11:54pm All the talk about Richmond

Just goes to show

AFL is so media driven
Totally
Yep
Having watched the replay we deserve more kudos
Richmond were good
The didn't have any luck in front of goal and they missed some easy set shots. Probably should have kicked 7 or 8 goals . but we also missed some easy ones .
We killed them in the ruck and won the contested ball.
We kept dusty quiet
Every one was hard at it
So if you bring that effort each week you'll win most games.
Just a pity we don't see it each week

Devilhead wrote: Fri 25 Jun 2021 11:48pm And it was at the G as well ..... just a little cherry on top

I was at that fantastic game at Junction Oval in 1961 when I was 13
I remember it so well as it was not wet but a fine sunny day.
We kicked 12.19 (91) to their 0.8 (8)
I remember the back line was impassible with Roberts , Guy and Guyatt and of course Verdun Howell

Some slightly more recent stats from 'George' the moderator on the BigFooty St Kilda forum (thanks 'George').

Before last night:
Since 1980, we have beaten Richmond 6 times at the MCG.
Some other random facts;
Round 4, 2020 was our last victory against them.
Round 22, 2016 was our last victory against them at the MCG.
We have never played them on a Friday night at the MCG.
Our record against them at the MCG since 1980 is 6-2-14.

(now it is 7wins, 2 draws, and 14 losses)

I remember the 1980 draw as that was the first game Jezza took over as senior coach from ex-Richmond champ Mike Patterson. Curiously, I was also at the MCG a bit further back in 1978 on a stinking hot day when we drew with them in another high scoring contest as well.

So since 1978 our record against Richmond is 7 wins, 3 draws, and 14 losses. Not a terrible record at all really considering they have had Hawthorn-esque eras in those periods obviously separated by their Melbourn-esque 35 year + down period.

A 21 goal turn around in ten weeks. No wonder the forum has sun shine coming out of its arse for once.

longtimesaint wrote: Sat 26 Jun 2021 12:18pm I was at that fantastic game at Junction Oval in 1961 when I was 13
I remember it so well as it was not wet but a fine sunny day.
We kicked 12.19 (91) to their 0.8 (8)
I remember the back line was impassible with Roberts , Guy and Guyatt and of course Verdun Howell
I would have been there but memories fade, My dad and I went every week.