Talia

Talia

Why aren’t we targeting him?

Are we gun shy in recruiting older players?!

He would automatically make us a better team!!!

Don’t worry about outside perceptions, and improve the list.

He is a free shot as a DFA

Allows Wilkie and Highmore to play 3rd and 4th

Re: Talia

Chronic injury????

B.M wrote: Fri 08 Oct 2021 12:27pm Why aren’t we targeting him?

Yep I reckon this is a obvious recruit.

Chronic??

What was the injury? Almost every player gets injured

From 18-28 he was extremely durable, due for an injury or two.

It was a question, not a statement.

B.M wrote: Fri 08 Oct 2021 12:41pm Chronic??

What was the injury? Almost every player gets injured

From 18-28 he was extremely durable, due for an injury or two.
Hannabery debacle creates ongoing issues and fears!
He and Hill in their own separate ways will impact older high end recruiting decisions for a very long time.
Bargain basement (younger) purchases for the most part have been great i.e Membrey, Steele, Higgins and hopefully we stick with similar choices.

As I said

Gun shy!

With EVERY trade/dp there is a risk of injury.

Some risks you take, some you don’t

Hannebery on 800k for sliding a second rounder to a third rounder
I would have taken, and it would have been a mistake

Talia as a free agent on less than 300 for 2 years with a trigger I would jump at!

We NEED a key defender IMO

Unless we are going to play Battle as a key back on the 2nd and Howard will take the number 1 forward?

wally

I would have thought O’Brien from Haw would have been worth consideration also free agents mean no trades

I think as a club we need to stop padding cooked players retirement funds

Get him
No brainer

Maybe they are considering Joyce as the 2nd KPD?

Talia would give us a crack at a flag if he has a good couple of years left on him

If Talia's body is right why are Adelaide not fighting harder to keep him?
Do not need any more Hanneberies!

Banger9798 wrote: Fri 08 Oct 2021 3:52pm Maybe they are considering Joyce as the 2nd KPD?

Talia would give us a crack at a flag if he has a good couple of years left on him
If that’s true about Joyce then call the season off now… kid can’t spoil to save himself. Kind of an essentially quality for a backman

SinCitySainter

Hasn't Talia been basically crocked for the last two years?

Bruce G McAbee

He doesn't have chronic injuries like Hannebery.
He has recovered from surgery and is ready to go.
Adelaide is in a rebuild mode so some experienced players are going to be let go to make room for young players.
He's a bargain and worth putting feelers out for and will add to our defence.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

His wife has a very good and high paying job in Adelaide.

In all probability he won't be going to another footy club and will retire.

damienc wrote: Fri 08 Oct 2021 6:34pm

There are high paying jobs in Adelaide?

Anyone hear his partner Jen being interviewed on 5NQR?

SaintPav wrote: Fri 08 Oct 2021 6:59pm

Yes, Criminal lawyers are in high demand.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

happy feet wrote: Fri 08 Oct 2021 7:57pm
SaintPav wrote: Fri 08 Oct 2021 6:59pm

Yes, Criminal lawyers are in high demand.

I you recruit a free agent, doesn't that cancel out any compo you might get for losing a free agent?

shmic_s

saynta wrote: Sat 09 Oct 2021 10:59am I you recruit a free agent, doesn't that cancel out any compo you might get for losing a free agent?
Yes it does.
But that's not an issue for us this year, we're not getting anything for Dunstan.

shmic_s wrote: Sat 09 Oct 2021 12:55pm
saynta wrote: Sat 09 Oct 2021 10:59am I you recruit a free agent, doesn't that cancel out any compo you might get for losing a free agent?
Yes it does.
But that's not an issue for us this year, we're not getting anything for Dunstan.
Thanks mate.

saynta wrote: Sat 09 Oct 2021 1:28pm
shmic_s wrote: Sat 09 Oct 2021 12:55pm
Yes it does.
Thanks mate.
I will also add that aside from losing a compo pick - there are no penalties for picking up a FA