Autopsy Thread: Saints v Freo

It wasnt pretty but its a win in Perth and we will take it. Our skill errors and kicking on goals continue to be an issue. We desperately need Zak Jones back to give us more run through the middle.

Best:
Battle was a rock down back.
DMac he was intrumental in lifting the team in the 3rd quarter.
Sinclair quiet in the last but gave us plenty of run early. Does well in the middle.
Crouch lifted when needed.
Higgins 4 snags, but his opponent in Young got heaps of it.
Hill again plenty of run and drive, but we give it to him when he is pressured at times.
King had a great 3rd quarter.
NWM ended up with 13 touches, a solid first game.

Marshall lowered his colours.
Paton seemed off tonight, not his usual composed self.
Butler is out of form and lacks confidence.
Membrey had the yips.
Steele/Gresham got 25 each but not influential.
Byrnes was quiet and well beaten by his opponent.
Joyce/Lienert back ups only.

I dont know if we get any players back next week against the Tigers, possibly Ryder. Hopefully Highmore & Howard are right to go and they can replace Joyce & Lienert. Billings cant be too far away either?!

Re: Autopsy Thread: Saints v Freo

The game started with lots of fierce contests and there were very good signs early

We came to play and congratulations to the coaching staff on the preparation

Ratts gave them a huge spray at quarter time and we dominated that second quarter with 16 inside 50’s.

Apart from our messy entries and some inaccurate kicking for goal, we looked the better team for most of the day.

Loved their composure to hold up play and control the ball and take minutes off the clock once we had a handy lead

The boys in the backline defended well and I reckon they were the major contributors setting us up for the win.

The Ratten doubters will shut their traps for another week or two
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 27 Mar 2022 9:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

Yep
Howard /Highmore for Lienert and Joyce
I think Byrnes needs a spell butler too but who replaces him?
Wood….doing enough?? but again who replaces
Guess that becomes clearer once Billing’s/Jones get back

Winmar

Steele only had 15 and Gresh 18 according to the AFL app. I'm still not convinced Gresham is a mid.

Battle was excellent. It's the kind of game we'd like to see from him a lot more often.

WM had a very solid debut. He liked composed and had some nice kicks.

King and Higgins turned it on when the team needed them to.

We were the better team all day but just could not make the most of our opportunities came good in the third & tried hard but almost lost in the last but a wins a win & in Perth that's even better

Apart from goal kicking, the only issue for me was allowing Brayshaw to do as he pleased for the whole game. Mind you, he's a hell of a player. Could win a Brownlow one day.

We need to play more than 1 qtr of great footy to beat the better sides.

We worked hard most of the night and finally got in top when started taking our chances yet the last quarter was not what I wanted to see ... we stopped running and attacking and gave them a huge sniff when we were all over them the quarter previously.

It's happened a lot the last few years where we struggle to kill off games and simply struggle to drive home the dagger ..... we should have won by 6 goals tonight

Hats off to Crouch Battle DMac Maxy & Higgo ..... everyone else played their part but next week it has to be Sharman in for Lienert & Howard in for Joyce

We struggled against Freo talls tonight and Tigers have Lynch Nankervis Soldo & Balta ..... JRoo could comeback in as well ..... is a big ask to comeback from WA and win but hopefully we blew out a few cobwebs tonight and it's at Marvel

A wins a win but i'm not looking forward to the Tigers game, especially if we play like we did against Freo overall.

Intensity was there for parts of the game however they didn't take the opportunity to fill thier boots in the 4th and Freo still felt like they were in the contest right up until the last 2 minutes of the game. The better clubs know that is our weakness and take it away from us in those circumstances.

Battle had a good game and so hopefully that plays him into form for the remainder of the season in his new postion.

King still needs to work on his defensive game, had he not kicked goals Pierce would have taken the points. I think they broke even.

NWM should be happy with his debut.

We tried to protect a 3 goal lead in the last quarter ,should have attacked the goals more.Against better sides that theory will come undone

Positives
1. Battle was very good. Perhaps, just perhaps , he might be the answer at CHB
2. Mackenzie on the wing
3. Higgins and King hit the scoreboard

Negatives
1. Still choke on too many “easy” set shots
2. Skills are still below average
3. Won’t win many games kicking less than 70 points. Have to kick higher scores.

Thought we'd get done so a good win considering Jones, Howard, Ryder, Billings and Clark are all out.

Battle isn't even listed as one our best on afl.com.au but thought he as a revelation. Mckenze also very good.

Didn't see anything supernatural about NWM's skills but he got a lot of it.

Decent debut from NWM .... missed a few kicks but nice mark under pressure in the last to set up the sealer

When did a team only have 3 goal kickers and win?

That was us tonight

Whilst not his best game a shout to Steele for his 13 tackles

Teflon wrote: Sun 27 Mar 2022 9:16pm Yep
Coffield replaces Wood, eventually.

Teflon wrote: Sun 27 Mar 2022 9:16pm Yep
Sharman for Wood.

bergsone wrote: Sun 27 Mar 2022 9:36pm We tried to protect a 3 goal lead in the last quarter ,should have attacked the goals more.Against better sides that theory will come undone
Yes and we burned five consecutive very gettable shots at the end of the third / start of the fourth. Even 3 out of them would have put the game beyond doubt. Can’t give good opponents that sort of chance to snatch it back.

Winmar

It wasn't an amazing performance, but I heard just before that we've won 1 out of 15 or something in Perth since 2012, so I'll take it.

I think Byrnes needs a spell crapped himself near the footy
I’d rather see Connolly tbh could he play a wing..?.

NWM showed something, but needs to work on his tackle pressure

Teflon wrote: Sun 27 Mar 2022 10:44pm I think Byrnes needs a spell crapped himself near the footy
Byrnes was terrible last week & only slightly better today so yeah I think he needs to go back to Sandy & get some form before he is considered again IMO

bangaulegend wrote: Sun 27 Mar 2022 10:56pm
Teflon wrote: Sun 27 Mar 2022 10:44pm I think Byrnes needs a spell crapped himself near the footy
Byrnes was terrible last week & only slightly better today so yeah I think he needs to go back to Sandy & get some form before he is considered again IMO
Why not give Connolly a shot?
Has great side step and elite by foot
All of a sudden Saints have Sincs, Hill, Connolly and NWM all very good ball users by foot?…

Byrnes did some ok things, but not up to the pace at the moment. Looks hurried with every possession.

Joyce actually played a solid game, never far off his opponent and puts his body on the line. Good back up.