Dedicated AFLW Forum

Yes
43%
No
57%

Total votes: 37

Dedicated AFLW Forum

was wondering if all in sainsational would like a dedicated AFLW forum.
I think it would be fantastic for them

Re: Dedicated AFLW Forum

I'm all for it - mainly because I don't want to read about it on the main forum. No - not because I'm a decrepit misogynist - far from it - I support AFLW as a concept and a way to grow the game and provide a destination for those girls who choose to play footy.

However, I just despise the way the AFL has expanded the AFLW by bringing in more new teams to a comp that's already shallow on reasonable - let alone good - talent and that will consign the clubs who are presently weak to an eternity of remaining that way. I cannot find a way - as hard as I try - to get interested in watching my club's team being asked to fight with two hands tied behind it's back.

Now that there's 18 teams - if the AFL was genuinely interested in creating a watchable comp that would engage both new and rusted on supporters ... they'd spill the lists and have a single draft to re-distribute the talent evenly across all teams.

hmm some are voting no...what do they have against the AFLW

wish i could see who they were

Even on Friday Nights (in games without St Kilda playing) or with some of the blockbuster games and in finals, most people post here. They don’t post in the other forums

If the women’s team is successful it’s only going to be a positive for our club as a whole. The Saints AFLW team are part of the St Kilda Football Club. Is that hard to understand?

Do you want all posts about the Sandy Zebs in a different forum?

Do we want a dedicated forum for the cricket when it seems that people are always starting threads here?

There are posts on Paddy McCartin and Nick Hind in the fan forum and we all know that the other forums (including the opposition forum are not frequented). Do we want a dedicated forum for any posts relating to Past Players?

This is just an attempt by those who have no interest / respect for the AFLW to separate it from the "real" game.

Would be easier to just ignore the once-in-a-blue-moon AFLW post. Setting up this whole thread has taken more time than simply exiting any AFLW thread you click on that is of no interest.

Can we have a separate "off field" forum? I have not much interest in reading about what the board is doing, so it should have it's own forum!

Fair enough scallop I’m sure the girls teams are important to all clubs which is why I think a dedicated forum for them would be helpful.

All those interested could race over there and check out what’s going on

The_Dud wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 6:06pm
Can we have a separate "off field" forum? I have not much interest in reading about what the board is doing, so it should have it's own forum!
And if we’re gunna have seperate St Kilda Football Club forums, why not individual poster forums too :lol: :lol:
Munga wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 3:22pm Maybe we should create a forum just for Fireman to post in? Or any thread that you post in, can we put "The Fireman" in the title? Sorry, I wasn't exepcting to see your posts in here, thread wasn't labelled :roll:

The_Dud wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 6:06pm to separate it from the "real" game.

Are you saying it’s not a real game dud ???

Very disrespectful

Oh, it's The Fireman again. Damn it kid, you should be posting this in another forum :wink:

But seriously. I have this forum bookmarked, didn't even know about the other forums until recently.

And no, the Saints news belongs here with the other Saints news. You didn't mind all these other threads on the main board:

Good ol' Collingwood, but not forever AFAIC
Freo Win would be no good v dees
I will be streaming the game today
Ahmed SAAB
Richmond was robbed of 2 points
Sandringham 3rd on Ladder
Saints podcasts (they mention the womens team, oh the horror!)
RSEA PARK 11/6 Anyone going to the function?
Umpiring
Paddy McCartin!
Port in trouble?
Dedicated AFLW Forum :lol:

All passed The Fireman test.

Some people just have a chip on their shoulder about womens footy.

Munga wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 6:41pm Oh, it's The Fireman again. Damn it kid, you should be posting this in another forum :wink:

But seriously. I have this forum bookmarked, didn't even know about the other forums until recently.

And no, the Saints news belongs here with the other Saints news. You didn't mind all these other threads on the main board:

Good ol' Collingwood, but not forever AFAIC
Freo Win would be no good v dees
I will be streaming the game today
Ahmed SAAB
Richmond was robbed of 2 points
Sandringham 3rd on Ladder
Saints podcasts (they mention the womens team, oh the horror!)
RSEA PARK 11/6 Anyone going to the function?
Umpiring
Paddy McCartin!
Port in trouble?
Dedicated AFLW Forum :lol:

All passed The Fireman test.

Some people just have a chip on their shoulder about womens footy.
No chip mate. All those topics related to mens football and good on you for supporting womens football. Why wouldn’t you want a dedicated forum and yes it’s me again mate I’m glad you responded to me
Cheers :wink:

The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 6:47pm
No chip mate. All those topics related to mens football and good on you for supporting womens football. Why wouldn’t you want a dedicated forum and yes it’s me again mate I’m glad you responded to me
This is a Saints forum, not a "mens football" forum.

In my opinion if a forumite discovers that a thread is about the AFLW Saints team or it's players and said forumite has no interest in it, he should leave that thread and find one he is interested in,
without endlessly telling all how much said forumite detests the AFLW.

That's another possibilty.

SaintJohno

It would just get lost in it's own forum, I'd rather see info here than have to switch forums completely. I was happy with the idea of putting AFLW in the post title for those so against reading that information.

Munga wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 6:50pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 6:47pm
This is a Saints forum, not a "mens football" forum.
Oh

i fish 'n i vote(d) ... NO

side note :
love myself a thread
where someone's whinging about the thread
that they're in
that they're whinging about

its all sort of NQR imo
but ... very SS ish

Last edited by asiu on Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:08pm, edited 1 time in total.

I think it's a great idea.

If you look at the St Kilda app, they make it very clear about which team the topic is about. They also have an AFL / AFLW drop down menu.

So if it's good enough for the club then surely it's good enough for us? May even encourage AFLW specific posters who want to avoid the inevitable rubbish that comes with AFLW threads, to post more often in those threads.

SaintJohno wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:03pm It would just get lost in it's own forum, I'd rather see info here than have to switch forums completely. I was happy with the idea of putting AFLW in the post title for those so against reading that information.
Me too 👍

asiu wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:06pm i fish 'n i vote(d) ... NO

side note :
love myself a thread
where someone's whinging about the thread
that they're in
that they're whinging about

its all sort of NQR imo
but ... very SS ish

I fish …"……….

I was happy with the idea of putting AFLW in the post title for those so against reading that information.
tick

Wayne42 wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 6:52pm In my opinion if a forumite discovers that a thread is about the AFLW Saints team or it's players and said forumite has no interest in it, he should leave that thread and find one he is interested in,

Who is this forumite who detests the AFLW ?

The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:16pm
Wayne42 wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 6:52pm In my opinion if a forumite discovers that a thread is about the AFLW Saints team or it's players and said forumite has no interest in it, he should leave that thread and find one he is interested in,

You work it out, campaigner.

Wayne42 wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:18pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:16pm

You work it out, campaigner.
? Name and shame mate

The Fireman wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:08pm
SaintJohno wrote: Fri 10 Jun 2022 7:03pm It would just get lost in it's own forum, I'd rather see info here than have to switch forums completely. I was happy with the idea of putting AFLW in the post title for those so against reading that information.
Me too 👍
Like other threads moved they tend to die quickly
So a seperate forum unless run by a very dedicated person would be a quiet place.
What about people who denigrate the sport in a AFLW thread get blocked from the main Forum for a period?
Or a dedicated umpire whinge forum?

outside66

Geez there are some dero’s on this forum. FWIW - if I feel like posting something AFLW related I will post it in the main thread and won’t include an AFLW warning regardless of whether someone creates a sub-forum for the AFLW. If you’re too brain dead or time poor to discern that a thread is not mens related where you become aggrieved by it then I reckon you’ve got bigger issues at play.

Just do a Saints AFLW sticky in the Main Forum

And do a General AFL Discussion sticky for other opposition and general footy talk