Nicky Winmar - AFL Hall of Fame

Thoroughly deserved and about time

Not sure I have seen a more skilled player, especially not one as tough as him

Brilliant mark, unbelievable kick, unreal ground level skills, serious pace, could find the footy, was courageous and tough and could seriously tackle

He had it all

Pound for pound - as good as anyone to have played

Re: Nicky Winmar - AFL Hall of Fame

My favourite of all time, and no doubt for several on here.
Huge presence in AFL and thoroughly deserves it.
Will be an incredibly popular elevation

I must admit, I didn’t see this coming. I thought the Boys Club had made him persona non grata. But I was thrilled to hear the news last night.

One of my all time favourite St.Kilda players I had the honour of watching when I was growing up. Onya, Cuz! You’re a bloody legend!

Schillaci

Well deserved. Wrapped for him.
Enjoyed the video with Plugger commenting on him as a player, person and teammate too.

Sainternist wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 4:25am I must admit, I didn’t see this coming. I thought the Boys Club had made him persona non grata.
Why?

Sainternist wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 4:25am I must admit, I didn’t see this coming. I thought the Boys Club had made him persona non grata. But I was thrilled to hear the news last night.

One of my all time favourite St.Kilda players I had the honour of watching when I was growing up. Onya, Cuz! You’re a bloody legend!
What a legend.

https://www.saints.com.au/video/1149427 ... ll-of-fame

Congrats Cuzzy could not be a more worthy selection😁

Take a bow Cuz.

D.B.Cooper

Was an unbelievable player, excitement machine.
Did not have a deficiency in his game.

He loved playing Essendon!

Incredible tackler, I remember him nailing Terry Daniher at Moorabbin one day as Daniher who was a great player and no slouch came charging out of defence and Winmar flew at him from the side and wrapped around him like a rubber band.

One of the greatest marks I ever saw was Winmar at Moorabbin against Essendon on the HFF when he jumped on a pack of 3 including Walsh & Hamilton from memory. Can't say I have ever seen footage of that mark.

There was also the one handed hanger in the forward pocket at the G I think, also against Essendon.

What about the State of Origin games back in the 80's - 90's.
It was the WCE team with Nicky added to them, how many more flags WCE would have won if they had gotten hold of him.

One can only imagine how good Winmar would have been on the flat indoor surface at Marvel.

When on song he was probably the most watchable player I have seen.
Well deserved honor.

Also a nice remark by Nicky in the HS article this morning re Dermott Brereton racially abusing him on the field.
I admire Nicky for his forgiveness and Derm for owning what he did.

His most famous incident, which is now a statue at Perth’s Optus Stadium, was to stand up against Collingwood’s crowd that day. There were countless others. Like the day in 1990, when Dermott Brereton racially abused him and Winmar was suspended for 10 weeks for kicking and eye-gouging Brereton.

Did you do it? “Not really, I was trying to get him off me … it was like wrestling a sheep,’’ he said with a laugh.

And the kicking? “Only in the side of the leg.’’

Brereton later wrote an article about how ashamed he was of what he said. And Winmar forgave the Hawks champ.

“I see Dermy now, shake his hand, say hello,’’ Winmar said. “He came out in the paper and apologised and people read that. I’m proud of Dermott for doing that.’’

He says he will never tire of talking about racism — “It’s always going to be part of us, it’s always there, it’s pretty hurtful,’’ he said — and is moved when fathers in the street with their kids stop and talk to him.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

Onya Cuz.

Warburton Millgrove Premiership player got you over the line :D

309 games, 415 goals comprising 58 games / 98 goals for South Fremantle 1983-86, 230 games / 283 goals for St Kilda 1987-98, 21 games / 34 goals for Western Bulldogs 1999.
Eight games for WA, 10 goals
2x Best and Fairest 1989, 1995
3x All Australian 1989, 1991, 1995
1x Leading goalkicker 1988
St Kilda Team of the Century
Indigenous Team of the Century

saynta wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 11:24am 309 games, 415 goals comprising 58 games / 98 goals for South Fremantle 1983-86, 230 games / 283 goals for St Kilda 1987-98, 21 games / 34 goals for Western Bulldogs 1999.
Warburton Millgrove Premiership player.

Not ashamed to say I was in tears watching that vid

Well done Cuz

DB that 1987 mark is one of the greatest of all time There is fleeting footage of it on YouTube somewhere. I remember seeing it on The Winners the day after the game. Simon Madden is one of the players - Nicky climbs on his shoulders. It is an unbelievable mark Wait I found it Third mark in

nobhead

Gee for a club who has only won 1 flag we have been blessed to have witnessed some out and out superstars play for our club

D.B.Cooper

stevie wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 11:45am Not ashamed to say I was in tears watching that vid

Well done Cuz

DB that 1987 mark is one of the greatest of all time There is fleeting footage of it on YouTube somewhere. I remember seeing it on The Winners the day after the game. Simon Madden is one of the players - Nicky climbs on his shoulders. It is an unbelievable mark Wait I found it Third mark in

That is the mark Stevie, one of the greatest i have seen live.
Thanks for sharing this.
I couldn't stand him, but watching that clip Capper had an incredible leap and athleticism.
the marks including Burns were magnificent that year, the goals - not so much!

D.B.Cooper

A former Saints team mate who loves Nicky like a brother once said to me, cuz is funny, can be hilarious, a great bloke, would give you the shirt off his back but don't lend him your car or let him near your girlfriend :lol: :lol: :lol:

D.B.Cooper wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 1:16pm A former Saints team mate who loves Nicky like a brother once said to me, cuz is funny, can be hilarious, a great bloke, would give you the shirt off his back but don't lend him your car or let him near your girlfriend :lol: :lol: :lol:

He had my ute in 2000 until I needed it back. We then got him a car that he left the handbrake off and rolled across the highway into the Yarra.

stevie wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 11:45am Not ashamed to say I was in tears watching that vid

Well done Cuz

I was right underneath that one. He seemed to stay airborne forever. Great player and his understanding with Plugger was something to behold.

CarlD

Nicky was an absolutely brilliant player. A well deserved accolade for a fine career.

arguable the most talented player i have seen in a stkilda jumper based on raw ability. Tough as nails also. Actually think he is one of a few from that era who would be even better now days.

That mark on Madden was one of the best i have seen video doesnt do it justice.

Can you imagine that mark filmed with the cameras of today? I rate Ashley Sampi’s grab from 2004 as the best I’ve seen. But this one is a close second. It gets mentioned in ‘The Pount Of It All’ that there were no photos sadly of it and the vid footage doesn’t do it justice. Nicky is a mile in the air. Just magnificent.

And yeah Capper was a bit of a clown but by god he could mark
Last edited by stevie on Wed 15 Jun 2022 2:21pm, edited 1 time in total.

D.B.Cooper

CURLY wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 1:22pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 1:16pm A former Saints team mate who loves Nicky like a brother once said to me, cuz is funny, can be hilarious, a great bloke, would give you the shirt off his back but don't lend him your car or let him near your girlfriend :lol: :lol: :lol:

He had my ute in 2000 until I needed it back. We then got him a car that he left the handbrake off and rolled across the highway into the Yarra.
Looks like the former team mate of his at Saints should have provided you the car advice :lol:
Last edited by D.B.Cooper on Wed 15 Jun 2022 2:20pm, edited 2 times in total.

D.B.Cooper wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 1:55pm

Looks like the former team mate of his at Saints should have provided you the car advice :lol:
His girlfriend had just written off his HSV which she wasn't insured to drive before he came up. My ute was a showroom condition xf with a 351 in it that we took the kick back spring out of so he couldn't floor it. He would come down the hill into the oval on training nights with it in nuetral revving. Laughing and tooting all the way.

D.B.Cooper

CURLY wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 2:18pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 1:55pm

His girlfriend had just written off his HSV which she wasn't insured to drive before he came up. My ute was a showroom condition xf with a 351 in it that we took the kick back spring out of so he couldn't floor it. He would come down the hill into the oval on training nights with it in nuetral revving. Laughing and tooting all the way.
Perhaps you could have provided Nickky a more modern vehicle.

CURLY wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 11:25am
saynta wrote: Wed 15 Jun 2022 11:24am 309 games, 415 goals comprising 58 games / 98 goals for South Fremantle 1983-86, 230 games / 283 goals for St Kilda 1987-98, 21 games / 34 goals for Western Bulldogs 1999.
Warburton Millgrove Premiership player.
Is this were he was playing on minor match payments and a house and car?

I remember reading that and thinking, what a bargain?