Tasmania

The Recruit

Tasmania

We should jump at this

11 games at Tasmania
11 games in Vic

For the next 50 years

We would win a GF in less than 5 years

Re: Tasmania

Of the 11 games in Vic how many at MCG?

The binary itinerary above would drive the players spare? yes?.

The current venue variety is an important positive factor, and winning at others' fortresses is so good. Rare, but good.

Keep in mind Eddie is a thought bubble looking for an idea and he is seriously anti every club but Collingwood.

Beware Pies bearing gifts!

And Tasmania should just put up or shut up, not drag existing clubs into some complicated game of offsets and draw manipulations. Hasn't the comp got enough to worry about other than another pipe dream.

Having said that, perhaps a relegation clause. Whoever comes last is Tasmania's team the following year.

This is an Eddie “brainwave”, not a serious proposal that the league has on the table.

Would Tassie go for it? Everything they’ve indicated says no.

They are interested only in a new stand-alone franchise. God only knows why since everyone down there supports a team already.

bigcarl wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 3:08pm They are interested only in a new stand-alone franchise. God only knows why since everyone down there supports a team already.
Interesting take...Hasn't hurt the Eagles or Crows! I bet nearly every single one of their supporters already supported an existing VFL/AFL team.

The Recruit wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 1:35pm We should jump at this

11 games at Tasmania
11 games in Vic

For the next 50 years

Would mean nothing if it weren't the St Kilda Saints

Devilhead wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 3:50pm
The Recruit wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 1:35pm We should jump at this

11 games at Tasmania
11 games in Vic

For the next 50 years

Would mean nothing if it weren't the St Kilda Saints
You sure? Would it matter if we were the Moorabbin Saints or Southern Saints? We have virtually no connection to the suburb of St Kilda anymore. In fact we haven't had any connection in the 45 years I've been supporting them.
Relocating interstate would be different, but I have no attachment to the name "St Kilda".
In fact, the Bulldogs have done OK since dropping "Footscray".

Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 3:35pm
bigcarl wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 3:08pm They are interested only in a new stand-alone franchise. God only knows why since everyone down there supports a team already.
Interesting take...Hasn't hurt the Eagles or Crows! I bet nearly every single one of their supporters already supported an existing VFL/AFL team.
I think Tassie is a bit different. Lots of rusted-on Saints and Hawks down there who are too old to change allegiances.

Anycase, my main gripe with it is that - all things being equal - a 19th franchise, and eventually a 20th and a 24th etc, makes it harder for St Kilda to win a premiership. It's not McDonalds where you just keep adding another franchise.

I do think Tassie needs a team, but 18 is enough already I reckon.

Wangle a deal. Home finals obviously.
When in tassie we're the tassie saints, when on the mainland we're st kilda. MCG is on the mainland so all is good.

bigcarl wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 4:34pm I think Tassie is a bit different. Lots of rusted-on Saints and Hawks down there who are too old to change allegiances.
I'd wager that it's not the older supporters they're targeting.

Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 4:53pm
bigcarl wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 4:34pm I think Tassie is a bit different. Lots of rusted-on Saints and Hawks down there who are too old to change allegiances.
Probably not, but leaving that aside, do you support a 19th franchise?

I do. Tassie should have a team of their own. It should have happened years ago. Before Gold Coast or GWS.
But I'm not a fan of a 19 team competition. 19 will have to become 20 very quickly.

bigcarl wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 4:56pm
I don't full stop.

saynta wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 5:19pm
I don't full stop.
Have you supported any of the expansions?

Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 3:57pm ....
Relocating interstate would be different, but I have no attachment to the name "St Kilda".
In fact, the Bulldogs have done OK since dropping "Footscray".
Have they?

I bet GWS will be considering their lame name one day.

When we see Liverpool change their name to Greater North West...

West Ham United change their name to Greater Eastern London Pork Chops..

These iconic names should never change for some marketing rationalist's statistic dream.

Language and Place are two sacred things.

They are evocative too...

Let's not mess, if possible.

Footscray would be doing fine as the Scrays or Foot-ess-cray. They could even be called "Footscray Road" and be killing it.

The 1990s rationalists tried to destroy them of course, but they survived. Well done.

Of course, Geelong could become South-West Victoria or

Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 5:26pm
I don't full stop.
Honestly. No f****** way. I'm a Victorian born and bred. I hate anything that lessens the Saints chances of winning that second flag.

I lived in Tasmania for three terrible f****** years. Was glad to see that coastline disappear behind me when I left.

Would hate to see any mainlander saints being exiled to that place.

wally

Talent is too thinly spread now another list of 40 odd, not to mention the draft concessions killing everyone. Do you think the Tasmanians
Will embrace a couple of years like GWS and GC ?

IF

they give us our standalone team

they will become #1

and each new tassy football club membership
will create 2nd team affiliations for those we leave

gws and gc were not ... afl footy country

we are

Rubyjo

Tassie saints will have an awesome home stadium ..

Rubyjo

saynta wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 5:37pm
Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 5:26pm
I don't full stop.
Honestly. No f****** way. I'm a Victorian born and bred. I hate anything that lessens the Saints chances of winning that second flag.

I lived in Tasmania for three terrible f****** years. Was glad to see that coastline disappear behind me when I left.

Would hate to see any mainlander saints being exiled to that place.
Haha you just didn't make any friends..I wonder why.

Rubyjo wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 8:56pm Tassie saints will have an awesome home stadium ..
the floating stadium on the derwent at the regatta grounds
was the 'pitch' ... for 3/4 of a billion

1.5 -2 billion will have to come from somewhere then

it'll GLOBALISE little ol Slowbart
(but i suppose thats the side benefit)

Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 5:00pm I do. Tassie should have a team of their own. It should have happened years ago. Before Gold Coast or GWS.
I agree. My solution would be to get rid of Gold Coast and keep it at 18 clubs.

Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 5:00pm But I'm not a fan of a 19 team competition. 19 will have to become 20 very quickly.
Disagree. Winning a flag is hard enough without an extra two clubs in the comp. It's going to be like winning the lottery. My opinion anyway.

personally

not that important in the scheme of things really
it's just the romans being Romans

but it's excellent practice
at selling ice to eskimos

gaz laughs at ... bigger than collingwood

bigcarl wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 10:14pm
Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 5:00pm I do. Tassie should have a team of their own. It should have happened years ago. Before Gold Coast or GWS.
I agree. My solution would be to get rid of Gold Coast and keep it at 18 clubs.

Life Long Saint wrote: Thu 16 Jun 2022 5:00pm But I'm not a fan of a 19 team competition. 19 will have to become 20 very quickly.
Disagree. Winning a flag is hard enough without an extra two clubs in the comp. It's going to be like winning the lottery. My opinion anyway.
I must be one of the odd ones out here. I look at these changes and think what's best for the competition, not just St Kilda.
It's why I hate Essendon so much. They continually put themselves above the competition to the detriment of the comp.
It's also why we have a commission instead of four clubs essentially dictating what happens. From 1967 to 1989, there were five teams that one flags. Richmond, Carlton, Hawthorn, Essendon, and North (who were the anomaly thanks to the 10 year rule). The league was in trouble financially as the big 4 (plus Collingwood) had all the wealth and players.

My suspicion is that the AFL want to get to a point where everyone plays each other once and have more finals games. Twenty teams with the top 10 in play offs to get to a final eight.
Or twenty teams split into conferences where you play teams in your conference twice and everyone else once.

The Saint Devils

The ultimate dichotomy