De Goey offered 5 years from the Pies .

Rubyjo

De Goey offered 5 years from the Pies .

https://www.afl.com.au/news/84...five-y ... -s-a-catch

Makes you think we were or are in this trade.

SaintJohno

Re: De Goey offered 5 years from the Pies .

If the sticking point with the Pies contract is the behaviour clause, then he probably thinks he's going to be troublesome (a knob) again. Red Flag right there.

I'm beginning to think we leave him with Collingwood. I'd love Melbourne to leave Grundy on their books but I suspect some back room deals will override common sense.

If we can afford to pay Bowes out from the GCS and collect pick 7 then I think picks 7 & 9 work better than holding our breath thinking De Goey gives a f@ck about the StK FC.

Ghost Like wrote: Thu 22 Sep 2022 9:08pm I'm beginning to think we leave him with Collingwood. I'd love Melbourne to leave Grundy on their books but I suspect some back room deals will override common sense.

If we can afford to pay Bowes out from the GCS and collect pick 7 then I think picks 7 & 9 work better than holding our breath thinking De Goey gives a f@ck about the StK FC.
Agree. 5 years a long time for a bloke with his history.

We should be well placed for the Bowes deal.

Ghost Like wrote: Thu 22 Sep 2022 9:08pm I'm beginning to think we leave him with Collingwood. I'd love Melbourne to leave Grundy on their books but I suspect some back room deals will override common sense.

Absolutely
He’s hot n cold kinda guy who loves big crowds abd occasions
25k at Marvel ain’t gone cut it against ANZAC day
Go pick 7 Bowey and ffs keep 9
IF GC need cap relief so bad
Trade Hill to north (he made his Clarko bed go lie in it) get a decent future second round
Offer GC Long, Future Second and we pay Bowey heavily back ended deal for Bowey and 7
Keep Clark.

The G Train Legacy

If Collingwood don't sort this in the next week, we may be in with a big chance. Still think they'll keep him, but who knows?

The G Train Legacy

How many on here that lament that we took McCartin ahead of Petracca are worried about getting De Goey? Because he's better than Petracca.

wally

Wouldn’t the saints have a similar behavior clause also.
Maybe he’s just trying to bluff them .
Surely we wouldn’t offer more money and no clause.

Behavioural clause in an aboriginal player contract

How would that be seen????

I liked this bit...

"The new offer would have behavioural clauses...which would likely allow him some minor transgressions but no significant missteps."

Collingwood have already allowed him some precedents to draw on so in reality these behavioural clauses are simple fluff to appease sponsors, coteries and future sponsors.

Rubyjo

Makes sence if you lose long and Clark.
De Goey the perfect replacement on footy terms .Something has been cooking here for a while.

BadRossco

We have got to have a win on any deals, forget De Goey, take Bose and pick 7 from GCS picking up his payments, Long to GCS for a second round pick in separate deal, Hill to North for late 1st or early 2nd round pick but no ongoing payments. If Hill deal stalls only then look at moving Clark out on a similar deal. This should not put to much pressure on salary cap and gain much needed draft picks.

Is Jack Bowes any good?

BadRossco

Probably not but he comes with pick 7 which may get someone that is

They don't want Degoey. They want first round compo.

Fair dinkum,

How good was DeGoey’s season?

Played like a champ for 2 and a half finals, but what else?

Killa

The question is (and why Collingwood have painted themselves into a corner which is going to be very difficult to exit because it will include backing down by the Club, not the employee, the Club reputation then damaged and their future compromised), why is ONE player across the Competition subject to Clauses in his Contract that others are not subject to?

The Head Contract is with the AFL, which runs the competition and THE (singular) Head Contract with the AFL includes "Bringing the game into disrepute" provisions and penalties (to protect "the brand").

Which is where those whose actions are now subject to investigation by the AFL are at most risk.

Bringing the game into disrepute.

You would imagine that the Penalty Provisions included in the Head Contract with the AFL include termination of Contract (with any particular competing Club).

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 23 Sep 2022 5:42pm Fair dinkum,

How good was DeGoey’s season?

Played like a champ for 2 and a half finals, but what else?
Spot on
De Goey is good on his day - so is Jake Stringer
He is not Dusty and 6 months ago had charges against him in NY
Get pick 7,9 and Bowey
2 gun kids to go with Windhager , Owens, NWM ..(till next year at least..) our future is far more solid than all in on De Goey
IF you could do both great but he wants Pies anyway
We are 2-3 years off challenging
Mini re set is happening cause this lot have over estimated the side abd comically appointed a mediocre coach

You want players who are ‘match winners’ on their day?!

Templar

Killa wrote: Fri 23 Sep 2022 6:00pm The Head Contract is with the AFL, which runs the competition and THE (singular) Head Contract with the AFL includes "Bringing the game into disrepute" provisions and penalties (to protect "the brand").
Off topic but I'll tell you something that brings the game into disrepute. Billion dollar media deals yet no footy marathon for three years in a row.

Not "Simon Templar". He was here first. Please change my username to Bumstead and if possible make me one of those very large sandwiches, thanks!

B.M wrote: Fri 23 Sep 2022 8:01pm You want players who are ‘match winners’ on their day?!
Yeah but which day ..... and how many?

The more I watch DeGoey the more I see him as a above average player who can have the odd moments of brilliance

He played 19 games this year .... kicked 2 goals or more in only 4 games and averaged 20 disposals 3 marks and 3 tackles and less than 1 goal a game

Is that worth 800k + a season?

Yes

Because he actually wins games, we don’t need another accumulator who gets 25 and is top 5 in the B&F (we have 2 of those Ross and Crouch)

We have a consistent star, bull mid (Steele)

We have a couple of speedy takeaway mids (Jones and Gresh)

We don’t have an offensive power mid, who can hurt teams with impact on games!

DeGoey gets Brownlow votes even though he only averages what you say… because he influences games.

He, Petracca, Stringer, Bontempelli, Taranto, Yeo or a power HF like Raynor or Heeney is precisely what is needed

And a forward/Ruck

Stick with the no dickheads policy. JDG is a d**khead.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

B.M wrote: Fri 23 Sep 2022 10:55pm Yes

Because he actually wins games, we don’t need another accumulator who gets 25 and is top 5 in the B&F (we have 2 of those Ross and Crouch)

We have a consistent star, bull mid (Steele)

We have a couple of speedy takeaway mids (Jones and Gresh)

We don’t have an offensive power mid, who can hurt teams with impact on games!

DeGoey gets Brownlow votes even though he only averages what you say… because he influences games.

He, Petracca, Stringer, Bontempelli, Taranto, Yeo or a power HF like Raynor or Heeney is precisely what is needed

And a forward/Ruck
Reckon we have a forward/ruck in Hayes

I’ve played sport my whole life in teams with plenty of dickheads

And when they could play, I didn’t GAF

They helped me win games and premierships

Would you have had Wayne Carey in the 90s?

Massive d**khead

What does that matter?