Ross Lyon Press Conference After Hawks

TheGreatZacsby

Ross Lyon Press Conference After Hawks

I watched it a few times now. Pretty upset what he said about Windhager. Says he got bad feedback against the port game. The kid only played a quarter. How could he get going? Half the time the sub gets one clear instruction which is to exhibit A or shut down player B etc. How can windy show his class?

Ross stated he had a convo with Boris about Jimmy Bartel did a year in the twos before he became a gun. I’m sorry… but Windy was killing it in first year, shut down two all Australian midfielders, has worked his ass off with his running and killing it in the twos. He needs to come in. The kid is a future captain.

Re: Ross Lyon Press Conference After Hawks

Windhager and Billings

The new Luke Ball’s

He gets fixated on certain players and pigeon holes them

Yep, some old Ross traits showing up.
He also pretty much killed of Stanley's confidence before he got traded to Geelong.
Hope that doesn't happen to Windy

The G Train Legacy

Banger9798 wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 1:46pm Yep, some old Ross traits showing up.
He also pretty much killed of Stanley's confidence before he got traded to Geelong.
Richo traded Stanley, there was another Coach inbetween (Watters) who tried him as a half back. Stanley simply wasn't that good, never has been.

TheGreatZacsby wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 12:15pm I watched it a few times now. Pretty upset what he said about Windhager. Says he got bad feedback against the port game. The kid only played a quarter. How could he get going? Half the time the sub gets one clear instruction which is to exhibit A or shut down player B etc. How can windy show his class?

Ross stated he had a convo with Boris about Jimmy Bartel did a year in the twos before he became a gun. I’m sorry… but Windy was killing it in first year, shut down two all Australian midfielders, has worked his ass off with his running and killing it in the twos. He needs to come in. The kid is a future captain.
That’s not what he said - if you watched it 2 times…have another go
Said he got feedback from Port that Windhager himself acknowledged he needed to work on
Said he Batchelor Goddard - all working intently with him to help him improve cause he has talent
Said he had a great pre season
Said he’ll play senior footy (pretty good endorsement from senior coach)
FFS stop making up utter bullshyte

The G Train Legacy wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 9:36pm
Richo traded Stanley, there was another Coach inbetween (Watters) who tried him as a half back. Stanley simply wasn't that good, never has been.
Yup
But it’s much easier blaming Lyon
I think he was also behind the grassy knoll…

B.M wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 12:23pm Windhager and Billings

The new Luke Ball’s

He gets fixated on certain players and pigeon holes them
And just like that….the sheep follows…
Baaaaaa

The G Train Legacy

Teflon wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 9:50pm
The G Train Legacy wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 9:36pm
Yup
But it’s much easier blaming Lyon
I think he was also behind the grassy knoll…
Yep, telexed a "thumbs up" emoji to the conspirators when the job was done and moved on.

The Recruit

He will play against swans
Relax
About time our club out some effort and system into development
It has been non-existent for 12 years

Ross is a good coach but he has some weaknesses.
Inflexibility is one of them.
He can get a fixed view on players.

Poor press conference by him.

nostalgicsaint

Teflon wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 9:49pm
TheGreatZacsby wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 12:15pm I watched it a few times now. Pretty upset what he said about Windhager. Says he got bad feedback against the port game. The kid only played a quarter. How could he get going? Half the time the sub gets one clear instruction which is to exhibit A or shut down player B etc. How can windy show his class?

That’s not what he said - if you watched it 2 times…have another go
Said he got feedback from Port that Windhager himself acknowledged he needed to work on
Said he Batchelor Goddard - all working intently with him to help him improve cause he has talent
Said he had a great pre season
Said he’ll play senior footy (pretty good endorsement from senior coach)
FFS stop making up utter bullshyte
This

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

Banger9798 wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 11:29pm Ross is a good coach but he has some weaknesses.
Inflexibility is one of them.
He can get a fixed view on players.
I agree
His weaknesses are he can be too defensive- we have to kick goals too. It’s why I’m surprised the ‘go fast’ mantra when we can seems to have disappeared
All coaches have their players - Lyon backs his players in no doubt and at times to us outsiders he doesn’t make change fast enough (some on here would chop n change the team hourly if they could)
But I agree he’s not above criticism- in fact 1 of his measures from the footy dept ought to be how he’s developing this list for future….not sticking with the same old
I think he’s doing ok on that so far

I got angry when he said 'we've only had ONE bad game, Crows'

Norf was rubbish, the Blues game scrappy, Port was just like last year...
What is he talking about?

'Bartel played a whole year in the twos'

WTAF

Zebras are a circus, what can Windy learn there apart from juggling, working on a flying trapeze and how to be a lion tamer (well, he tamed Lachie Neale last yr, so he's got that down)

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 29 May 2023 12:44am I got angry when he said 'we've only had ONE bad game, Crows'

WTAF

Zebras are a circus, what can Windy learn there apart from juggling, working on a flying trapeze and how to be a lion tamer (well, he tamed Lachie Neale last yr, so he's got that down)
Ross is saying that we've only been pantsed by the Crows

He's talking to the nuffies. They're only interested in the ladder and how many wins we have and whether we get pantsed or not.

Ross also likes to treat sports journos as nuffies. Just fronts up and feeds the chooks because he has to

Doesn't consider them his equal or worthy of his time unless they've actually played the game at the highest level.

Scollop wrote: Mon 29 May 2023 12:50am
WellardSaint wrote: Mon 29 May 2023 12:44am I got angry when he said 'we've only had ONE bad game, Crows'

WTAF

He's talking to the nuffies. They're only interested in the ladder and how many wins we have and whether we get pantsed or not.

Ross also likes to treat sports journos as nuffies. Just fronts up and feeds the chooks because he has to

Doesn't consider them his equal or worthy of his time unless they've actually played the game at the highest level.
And that’s fair enough - you heard the brain dead questions asked by sports journalists???? So called journalists??
Embarrassing really
Port game we were in
North flooded after being belted week before - kicked 6 in last qtr against Pies today and weren’t disgraced
Crows is our only blowout
Did we only have 1 blowout last year???? Don’t think so …
I sat through 112 points against Dogs….that was shyte
Not scoring a goal for a half in Sydney was bad…
Then being pantsed (again by Bombers…70 points?)
I think I’ll still take the Ross model thanks..

edit...double post
Last edited by Scollop on Mon 29 May 2023 2:15am, edited 1 time in total.

Teflon wrote: Mon 29 May 2023 1:13am

WTAF

And that’s fair enough - you heard the brain dead questions asked by sports journalists???? So called journalists??
Embarrassing really
Port game we were in
North flooded after being belted week before - kicked 6 in last qtr against Pies today and weren’t disgraced
Move on mate
Last year is past history
We can't keep comparing everything to previous seasons
Although I know some people will... just to argue a point

I'll reserve judgement before requesting membership of Firey's fanboy club

The nuffies (including the sponsors) are only interested in W's and L's
At the end of the day, the club survives to be fodder...OR it thrives and becomes a challenger

I've posted previously and I'll say it again. I hope our coaching group stays united and stays together for the next 4 years

The Recruit wrote: Sun 28 May 2023 11:20pm He will play against swans
Relax
About time our club out some effort and system into development
It has been non-existent for 12 years
You think we had development in Lyon’s previous stint?

Scollop wrote: Mon 29 May 2023 2:14am
Teflon wrote: Mon 29 May 2023 1:13am

WTAF

Embarrassing really
Port game we were in
Move on mate
Last year is past history
We can't keep comparing everything to previous seasons
Although I know some people will... just to argue a point

I'll reserve judgement before requesting membership of Firey's fanboy club

The nuffies (including the sponsors) are only interested in W's and L's
At the end of the day, the club survives to be fodder...OR it thrives and becomes a challenger

I've posted previously and I'll say it again. I hope our coaching group stays united and stays together for the next 4 years
Lol half the sites saying we are no better than last year and you’re saying move on??
I think you’re “reserving judgement” might be just hedging your bets so you can say “I told you so” if drop
Get off the fence mate

Bartel spent 2002 in the Ressies along with Ablett Chapman and Stevie

They won the flag in the seconds

Second year onwards they all played AFL

Windhager has proven he is up to AFL standard. Wasted in the VFL

Teflon wrote: Mon 29 May 2023 9:32pm
Lol half the sites saying we are no better than last year and you’re saying move on??
I think you’re “reserving judgement” might be just hedging your bets so you can say “I told you so” if drop
Get off the fence mate
I think it's you!! who actually took an each way bet at the start of the year ...and progressively as we've slid in form :lol:

I haven't changed my tune or my beliefs or my predictions on where we'd finish

http://saintsational.net/viewtopic.php? ... 1#p1990291

http://saintsational.net/viewtopic.php? ... 2#p1990362

http://saintsational.net/viewtopic.php? ... 1#p1988911 (this thread is a beauty if you want to piss yourself laughing at posts about ladder predictions for Carlton)

I have however stopped bagging Lyon incessantly when I accepted that he'd be our coach in 2023. Before that, I constantly bagged him and I was one of the few people who wanted Ratts to stay on

B.M wrote: Tue 30 May 2023 12:45am Bartel spent 2002 in the Ressies along with Ablett Chapman and Stevie

The point I take from this is that playing on your own in the 2's isn't going to do anything.

Scollop wrote: Tue 30 May 2023 2:25am
Teflon wrote: Mon 29 May 2023 9:32pm
Get off the fence mate
I think it's you!! who actually took an each way bet at the start of the year ...and progressively as we've slid in form :lol:

I haven't changed my tune or my beliefs or my predictions on where we'd finish

http://saintsational.net/viewtopic.php? ... 1#p1990291

http://saintsational.net/viewtopic.php? ... 2#p1990362

http://saintsational.net/viewtopic.php? ... 1#p1988911 (this thread is a beauty if you want to piss yourself laughing at posts about ladder predictions for Carlton)

I have however stopped bagging Lyon incessantly when I accepted that he'd be our coach in 2023. Before that, I constantly bagged him and I was one of the few people who wanted Ratts to stay on
LMAO
You’ve stopped outwardly bagging Lyon
Just resorted to inference to suggest he’s no good
You’ll be able to tell us all we were wrong if we slide
It’s a beautiful approach
Happy sniping from the cheap seats after the fact!

Otiman wrote: Tue 30 May 2023 8:43am
B.M wrote: Tue 30 May 2023 12:45am Bartel spent 2002 in the Ressies along with Ablett Chapman and Stevie

The point I take from this is that playing on your own in the 2's isn't going to do anything.
Why?
If as a player you’ve agreed you have things to work on why can’t you work on those things in less pressured reserve side?
It’s not about the team performance
It’s about your individual development
That’s what Windhager is working on
Cause sone muppets on here think he’s the immediate answer to a pedestrian midfield with ageing players no longer up to it..,
I’m happy to see the heat come on them
Till Windhager is ready
He was also played as a tagger under Ratten
Maybe they want him to focus on winning his own footy to be an out and out all round midfielder???
Point is he ain’t going to solve the midfield problems we have
We need more external talent in to do that