Something Personal

I am old. That is good and bad.

Let’s focus on the good.

Unlike many of you, I experienced our footy team winning a premiership. Not just reading about or listening to the recollections of old timers.

To experience the joy of it. To see Alan Jeans embrace Barry Breen. Seeing the player celebrations and the Doc wearing (dare I say it) a football jumper belonging to the filth. Laughing at the tears of all those Collingwood supporters.

Seeing the Sun’s photo of Tommy Bent’s statue wearing a Saints jumper.

Ok. So what is my point? Simple. I don’t want to die before we win another one,

Some of us already have. And I am sorry about that.

I’ve supported this footy club from the age of four. I have fond memories of kicking a plastic footy wearing my Saints beanie and a St Kilda jumper with the Doc’s number on the back. That was 63 years ago.

I figure I’m owed something for all those years of loyalty and so are all of you.

It needs to happen and soon. My message to the club and the players. It’s time guys. It’s time. Our time.

66Iwasthere

Re: Something Personal

Know how you feel Damienc, been there, done that. Can happily look back and say I was there when we won our one and only premiership. Have followed the Saints through all the highs and lows since then and feel for those who have never witnessed one.

At least you 2 got to see it!
I went 65, 71, 97, 09, 10, 10
Didn’t go in 66
I’m jealous

Mr Magic wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 9:35am At least you 2 got to see it!
Didn’t go in 66
I’m jealous
Doesn’t that just suck for you.

What was the worst experience of you don’t mind me asking?

For me, 97 and 09 are the worst and for some strange reason, the prelim loss in 04 to Port stays with me as a sad one too

Like Mr Magic for various reasons I also missed the ‘66 premiership even though I am a 61 year member.
I also went to ‘71, ‘97, ‘09 and both ‘10 grand finals.
My worst memories are both ‘97 and ‘09 as we were the best teams in both of those years.
I went to Adelaide for the ‘04 prelim and that also was a bitter experience sitting surrounded by Port supporters.

St Plugger

skeptic wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 9:46am
Didn’t go in 66
I’m jealous

For me, 97 and 09 are the worst and for some strange reason, the prelim loss in 04 to Port stays with me as a sad one too
I went 65, 66, 71 and 97.
That 97 loss broke me with going to see a Saints GF live. The 3 hour drive back home to N.E. Vic after that loss with the Crows "Pride of S.A." being played on the car radio [seemingly never ending] just topped it off! '
'09, and '10 x 2 were then much easier to take. When the reality of the loss came to be faced, I just switched off the TV and grabbed a conciliatory anesthetic from the shelf, and life went as usual!

skeptic wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 9:46am
Didn’t go in 66
I’m jealous

71 and 97 were the worst 2
In 71 I was a member of the cheer squad and took part in making the banner for the players to run through.
We made it in a room above Flinders Street Station.
97 at halftime I thought we had it.
When we drew in 10 I knew we wouldn’t win in the replay
Our best chance was the first one as Collingwood were a superior team (IMHO) and our best chance was to use our experience from 09
Alas we fell a crooked bounce short

Been a journey that’s for sure
made many friends through out the process and had a great time but Gee I hope I live long enough to see a flag and how much we will enjoy the flag this year

We've played eight Grand Finals, and I've been at seven of them.
For some reason I missed 1913.
So glad I was there in '66 and later at Sierakowski's pub on Nepean Highway Brighton, at the ripe old age of 16, probably the first time I got drunk!

D.B.Cooper

Born in 1962.

Too young in 65
Dad wouldn’t take me in 66
Went in 71, 97, 2009, & twice in 2010

The only time I recall actually thinking we are going to win this was 2010 when Goddard marked and kicked truly. I knew we were f***ed in 09 at half time due to wayward goal kicking.

My dad never saw a second premiership, he went to the last 5 like me.

Will I see one?
Assuming I live a normal life expectancy.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

Bernard Shakey wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 12:33pm We've played eight Grand Finals, and I've been at seven of them.
So glad I was there in '66 and later at Sierakowski's pub on Nepean Highway Brighton, at the ripe old age of 16, probably the first time I got drunk!
Bloody excellent.

I was there in 1966, still remember the thrill of it like it was only happened last year. That feeling of absolute bloody relief when that siren finally sounded, left me sobbing uncontrollably. I’m glad the timekeeper kept his finger on the siren for so long, blasting its noise out again & again, that I believed yes they had finally done it. - won the premiership!!

Had a wonderful evening dancing around Tommy Bent’s statue with hundreds of celebrating Saints fans as the olde bent politician’s statue was decorated in red,white & black streamers & jumper.

The 1965 loss was hard for me to take the year before. Being young, I found defeat in many things in life hard to take & unjust. However that disappointment made ‘66 all the more unbelievable & enjoyable - our Saints could actually win the premiership, who cared what the winning margin was - they actually did it and against Collingwood was oh so sweet!

Apart from 1913 (I’m not that old folks) the only GF I have missed was 1997, stayed in WA to watch it at a pub with about 1200 Western Saints Supporters - that was heartbreaking 💔.
The worst part about the ‘71 gf. I lived in a villa unit in Hawthorn. My immediate neighbour was Bob Keddie. Must admit he was rather humble about Hawks win & how he destroyed us that day. However I had to just grin & bare all the celebrations that went on at his unit for a couple of weeks. All I wanted to do was go out & let the tyres down of all the Hawks player’s cars in our driveway night after night 😖

Bernard Shakey wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 12:33pm
…..I was there in '66 and later at Sierakowski's pub on Nepean Highway Brighton, at the ripe old age of 16…
Have you considered self-reporting?

D.B.Cooper

damienc wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 12:42pm
Bernard Shakey wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 12:33pm We've played eight Grand Finals, and I've been at seven of them.
Bloody excellent.
Someone should ask saynta about the atmosphere, the crowd and the closeness of the match during the 1913 GF!

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 1:58pm
Bloody excellent.
Someone should ask saynta about the atmosphere, the crowd and the closeness of the match during the 1913 GF!
We actually won in 1913, but because Fitzroy finished on top they were allowed to challenge for a rematch.
Guess what? They changed the rules, as usual after The Saints are shafted!

Bernard Shakey wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 2:42pm
Bloody excellent.
We actually won in 1913, but because Fitzroy finished on top they were allowed to challenge for a rematch.
We won the game!!
How miserable can this story be!! ?? Damn ..

ctqs

Bernard Shakey wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 2:42pm
Bloody excellent.
That rule was changed in the 1930s, after other teams had lost that way, too. It's not about us.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

Bloody excellent.
:lol: :wink:

damienc wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 7:26am I am old. That is good and bad.

Let’s focus on the good.

Unlike many of you, I experienced our footy team winning a premiership. Not just reading about or listening to the recollections of old timers.

To experience the joy of it. To see Alan Jeans embrace Barry Breen. Seeing the player celebrations and the Doc wearing (dare I say it) a football jumper belonging to the filth. Laughing at the tears of all those Collingwood supporters.

I’ve supported this footy club from the age of four. I have fond memories of kicking a plastic footy wearing my Saints beanie and a St Kilda jumper with the Doc’s number on the back. That was 63 years ago.

I figure I’m owed something for all those years of loyalty and so are all of you.

It needs to happen and soon. My message to the club and the players. It’s time guys. It’s time. Our time.

Great post. Agree entirely.
I would love to see one. Last few years I had resigned myself to not seeing one (and that is still likely, I guess), but for the first time in ages, I feel we are moving into the window...hell, maybe we're in it!

Every losing grandfinal was terrible for me. I flew over from Tassie in 1965 but got little sleep the night before the grannie. 1997 was even worse and was probably the worst day of my life. Again I had flown into Melbourne. Had to sit next to a grinning moron of a crowlice supporter on the way home to where I was living at the time.

Went to all three grannies in 09 and 10. Still haven't got over them or forgiven certain club officials.

IN 1971 I went straight to bed even though we had people coming for dinner. Eff them I thought.

I am fast running out of time. Maybe........

saintkev

damienc wrote: Sat 03 Feb 2024 7:26am I am old. That is good and bad.

Let’s focus on the good.

Kern oath, mate. I was there as a 13 year old and don’t remember walking to the Punt Rd station to catch the train home to Mordi…It felt like I was being carried away on a massive wave of euphoria. It’s a feeling I’d love to relive and share with fellow Sainters. Time is running out for me too.

avid

Sadly didn't get to 1913 either -- 1965 was the first game of footy I ever saw. Trained it down from Canberra overnight with my dad. He only just missed 1913, so he had to be there.
By the end I was completely dumbfounded that Essendon wouldn't just let us win. That was a lesson in life.
Saw '66 -- so I am forever grateful.
But saw every other GF since then too -- which has been a life-shaping test of moral fortitude.

Even at the ripe old age of 84 I remain supremely confident that I will be around long enough to celebrate a second St Kilda premiership and am really glad that Ross Lyon is there to get the job done on his 4th attempt, if not this year than next.

The same goes for my regular games of golf with my mates, I have yet to play my best round ever, and go out each time fully believing that one magic day it will happen.

avid wrote: Sun 04 Feb 2024 5:32pm Sadly didn't get to 1913 either -- 1965 was the first game of footy I ever saw. Trained it down from Canberra overnight with my dad. He only just missed 1913, so he had to be there.
By the end I was completely dumbfounded that Essendon wouldn't just let us win. That was a lesson in life.
Saw '66 -- so I am forever grateful.
But saw every other GF since then too -- which has been a life-shaping test of moral fortitude.
In 1965 the Drug cheats were the first team to win the premiership after finishing 4th. :cry: