Crab watch

Re: Crab watch

B.M wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 11:22pm I post his numbers when he has a poor game

And I posted when he had 24 and a goal

HFs are by there very nature a bit inconsistent

Tonight we had some HFs that never got near it.

To suggest Billings has never played good AFL footy is ignorant
St Kilda gave him time to 'develop' and add strength and size. Richo played him at half forward, but JB was a very poor set shot goal kicker for his first 5 years.

Was drafted to play as a goal kicking midfielder wasn't he?

Couldn't make it as midfielder even though Richo thought he was good enough.

He had only 1 good and consistent season for St Kilda in 2019. That's it!!

But that was all before we recruited Jones, Hill, Butler, Mason Wood and Crouch.

Jack Steele and other youngsters like Clark were preferred in the midfield as well.

Couldn't be relied on as a goal kicker and wasn't good enough to retain his midfield spot.

He's like Milli Vanilli. He's a one hit wonder and a fraud

How has he played 155 games

Averaged 20ppg
Receiving double figure Brownlow seasons twice

How did he kick 4 in a quarter to win a game off his own boot?

How did he have 25 at 100% efficiency in his first season???

Stop dribbling s***

He’s played 150 games - that in itself suggests you can play the game

30% of the games that JB played for us were gifted to him because he was pick 3

He was highly rated but he never lived up to his potential. I think our footy development was just as much to blame as the individual

Big deal. He got Brownlow votes

So did Luke Dunstan. Next, you'll be telling me he won a Tissot watch or Samsung TV

It just means he played a few games where out of 44 AFL quality players he was judged in the best 3 on the ground a member of times

In fact 6 times he wax judged best on ground

Argue all you want - you know you’re speaking rubbish

He is no Bontempelli- but I respect saints players that have played 150 games

I respect some former Saints players. JB is soft. I don't admire the way he played, when he played for us.

Simple
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 31 Mar 2024 12:19am, edited 1 time in total.

Wouldn’t want to be paying him $500k for his output so far this season.

Melbourne are not - we are paying half his wage

It is a ridiculous comment calling him soft

Indicates NFI

Laurie

Billings always has been and always will be a good VFL footballer.
BOOM BOOM

Soft means different things.

I don’t doubt his courage or ability to put his head over the ball…
I wouldn’t want him on the field when the game is there to be won against quality opposition

Why not - most AFL teams are pretty good aren’t they?

He just did it for Melbourne - they’ve won 3

He’s done it numerous times for StK

On the VFL

He’s played around 20 games of VFL
He’s played 158 games of AFL

Honestly- I reckon we rewrite history to suit our agenda

B.M wrote: Mon 01 Apr 2024 2:16pm Why not - most AFL teams are pretty good aren’t they?

He just did it for Melbourne - they’ve won 3

Honestly- I reckon we rewrite history to suit our agenda
Don’t we just :lol: :lol: :lol:

Just did it for Melbourne did he!? With his 8 touches before he was subbed off -
Take a note BM, Melbourne stepped it up AFTER Billings went off.

He also didn’t get it done against Sydney either

But he had nice respectable performances against Hawthorn and and the Doggies though

Dogs no good?!

What was his ‘resectable’ game again?

I mean - is it that hard to bring yourself to admit he had a ‘good’ game?!

He had plenty of good ones with us - would you like me to name a few?!

BM, you just said he won them those games.

Don’t flip the script as if I’m the one creating a false narrative.

No one but you is expressing the belief of a false narrative that he hasn’t had good games.

Like many… I’m just pointing out that he isn’t the consistent, elite match winner that you’re painting him out to be.

Just did it for Melbourne - your words

I don't care if you've played a "good game" here or there. If it's you're turn to go and put your head over the pill, then that's what you have to do.

Don't expect your team mates to do all the physical stuff and you just run and receive and take uncontested marks. If you're an elite runner and if you're killing it in every other metric, then I can put up with it.

After 4-5 years of senior footy, Billings continued to squib contests. He constantly released the footy to green grass instead of wearing a tackle.

Would be ok if he somehow disposed of it to a team mate in space, but every time he released it early it was a turnover.

I will never forget when I saw one of the softest things I've ever seen. Seb Ross was involved in a contest and it was either from a marking contest or a collision chasing the footy. Anyway, I remember Sebby lying on the ground.

Billings was the first to the loose ball but instead of fending off or wearing the tackle, he handballed it 1m away to Seb who was still on the ground. Lol :lol: :oops:

Could not handle any heat. That's what I call soft

That’s absolute rubbish

I’ve seen him take a mark running with the flight into oncoming traffic and mark it.

To say he is soft is laughable

It’s what you want to believe- not remotely the case

Whoopee doo!! He took a contested mark. That's his job.

The real question is how often?

What are his averages for that stat over his career?

Oh... that's right they are bog average. In fact, for a player of his size at 185cm, his contested mark averages per game are below average.

I tried to find a player who plays as a small forward to compare Billings stats for contested marks...not many come to mind with equal or similar height.

Luke Breust is 3cm shorter and has a better record over his long distinguished career. Jamie Elliot is 7cm shorter and he's exceptional as a small forward. His contested marks averages per game are double that of Billings.

I found this bloke who is currently injured...he's very similar in height and weight and I think has played a similar role. He's not a star...but he's much better than Billings at taking contested marks.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ ... 2=C&type=A

Anyway. All I see now is a player who couldn't deliver.

I supported him most of the time when he wore our colours. I liked him too 🤩

I don't support him now and I don't like him

We are measuring a half forward flanker on contested marks?!

Breust not a star (3 premierships 500+ goals)

Jamie Elliott is a marking forward - not a link player- like Toby Greene

Still trying to work out which is Billings best game
His 2 goal 33 possession 11 tackle game
Or 5 goal 28 possession game vs Carlton
Or his 4 in a quarter vs the Dogs

Should I go on

B.M wrote: Mon 01 Apr 2024 6:16pm
Breust not a star
Learn how to read and comprehend

You are the one who brought up his 'contested marking' into the debate... I didn't

Plus...

You didn't look at the comparison in the link I provided. It was Matt Guelfi

It doesn't matter what he did in the past. He's finished. We'd have been better off keeping Hannebery on the list rather than Billings

Guys, guys, ....ffs. Give it a rest.

I said he took a courageous contested mark - since we were giving singular incidents to mark a players courage?

Luke Breust is obviously a star

Matt Guelfi averages 13ppg
Billing 20ppg

Just admit he was a good HFF at his best
He wasn’t the elite player we hoped when drafted (for a variety of reasons) but that’s the fault of the recruiting dept

B.M wrote: Tue 02 Apr 2024 10:42am I said he took a courageous contested mark - since we were giving singular incidents to mark a players courage?

Billing 20ppg

He wasn’t the elite player we hoped when drafted (for a variety of reasons) but that’s the fault of the recruiting dept
I brought up goal kicking stats for other HFF because that’s what you keep calling him….BUT….

Billings was a Full Time mid in 2017, 2018 and 2019. He wasn’t a half forward flanker. You know that

Richo played him predominantly as a forward in his first 2 seasons. 2016 he played more and more as a mid.

I wanted to stop posting and replying to you, but you keep telling porkies…so I had to correct you :)

If you want to tell us that Billings midfield stats in those 3 years were anything but average, and if you want to compare him to other mids during the period 2017, 2018 and 2019… I’m listening

Scollop wrote: Tue 02 Apr 2024 11:07am
B.M wrote: Tue 02 Apr 2024 10:42am I said he took a courageous contested mark - since we were giving singular incidents to mark a players courage?

Billing 20ppg

I brought up goal kicking stats for other HFF because that’s what you keep calling him….BUT….

Billings was a Full Time mid in 2017, 2018 and 2019. He wasn’t a half forward flanker. You know that

Richo played him predominantly as a forward in his first 2 seasons. 2016 he played more and more as a mid.

I wanted to stop posting and replying to you, but you keep telling porkies…so I had to correct you :)

If you want to tell us that Billings midfield stats in those 3 years were anything but average, and if you want to compare him to other mids during the period 2017, 2018 and 2019… I’m listening
As consistent with the conversation so far (to keep it going)… I will ignore all of your relevant points and raise my own counter to a point that nobody but me raised.

You’re saying he’s not an AFL footballer but he’s led Melbourne to 3 wins who think he’s best 22 and they’re a premiership contender, which proves he was an elite midfielder that played 150 games averaging 20+ possessions at half forward.
Geeez we invent our own narrative

Never played as a mid - ever

Definitely on the Wing and as a HHF

Ver good numbers 2016-2018

His numbers in 2019 in those roles - Elite

Should I quote them?

Keep convincing yourself he’s a great poor footballer- but maybe don’t post it here - it makes you look silly

There’s being one eyed, even bitter towards ex players
But admit and acknowledge

Just two games ago he got 140 ranking points