Match thread. Saints V Bombers

TheGreatZacsby

Re: Match thread. Saints V Bombers

Bruce G McAbee wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 8:29pm
Bowey Boy wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 7:44pm Brad falls over often when it counts. You don’t win a premiership with Cordy in the team. Well not another. We cannot win with only one ruckman.
We knew we had a problem as Ryder approached retirement and have done very little to rectify it.
I don't know if we did, but,in my opinion, we should have made a play for Grundy.
We should have given North what they wanted for Xerri. Make Rowan the CHF and Xerri the ruck.

B.M wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 8:27pm Stocker 52 games

Not experienced yet
Experienced enough and has shown leadership in the off season but not really the point but ok, argue every point you pedant. That along with your continued non quoting comes across as arrogant and tedious.

CURLY wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 7:25pm
B.M wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 7:21pm One thing you NEVER do after a loss

Is say we lost because we had players out!!!

23 played
Says who?

It’s relevant.

Best forward out and key to our forward half.
You wouldn’t want the club using excuses for that insipid last 20 minutes but the supporters should be able to say whatever the f*** they want.

2 losses under 10pts .... could very likely cost us finals

Yorkeys wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 7:13pm
CURLY wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 6:41pm
B.M wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 6:40pmOut coached
You’re taking the piss

King
Henry
Wood
Webster
Howard
Clarke
Crouch
Dow
Paton

All out
That's not why we lost today.
Correct, the players on the field were the reason we lost. We kick goals, instead of points, when on top we win. Then Essendon panic & our exits from the backline are without pressure to wings & half forwards to kick to forwards they trust will finish the job.

We were on top of Essendon & chose to roll over by failing to convert & then pannicking. We were on top with barely any players at their best. Not including Ross or Steele in that summation, they were very good.

The Fireman wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 6:56pm Subbing Sharman was ridiculous
Yep

Cooper stays on and kicks a goal in the last and we win. I think he would have redeemed himself for his 2 early misses.

I was pretty disappointed that Sharman wasn't there as a target in that last quarter.

We had 10 inside 50s and only scored 1-1

They had 13 for 2-6.

SaintWiki

Scollop wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 9:06pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 6:56pm Subbing Sharman was ridiculous
Yep

Cooper stays on and kicks a goal in the last and we win. I think he would have redeemed himself for his 2 early misses.

I was pretty disappointed that Sharman wasn't there as a target in that last quarter.

We had 10 inside 50s and only scored 1-1

They had 13 for 2-6.
Yep, we lost the 4 points due to errors all over the ground by most of our team but it was the forward line who wrapped the 4 points up and put a ribbon on them.

You can’t whinge mate. You might get called a knob or worse… a cabbage
u got called a cabbage , pissant

coz like the little sniper u are , you ran in in and clocked an unsuspecting combatant in an argument that had nothing to do with you

even worse , it was /is one of our long term posters

none of the original crew acted like dogs

except a couple of grubs

so if u reckon u've been around here longer than me
that means u were one of those grubs

u pathetic piece of shite
Last edited by asiu on Sat 30 Mar 2024 9:42pm, edited 1 time in total.

D.B.Cooper

23 played
Says who?

It’s relevant.

Says who?

Says pathetic excuse makers.
We had injuries, the umpires cheated, if such and such plays, we win.

The only people who think this way are people who have never experienced sport at a high level or have no understanding of the game.

I bet Ross is sitting having a beer with Lenny, Harves and Boris and saying if it wasn’t for all those injuries, we win 😂

We had ample opportunity to win the game with the players selected, however we were unable to convert in front of goal and it cost us.

We miss set shots 30M out on minor angles, Stringer bangs it from outside 50 to seal the game.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 9:41pm

23 played
Says who?

It’s relevant.

Says who?

Says pathetic excuse makers.
We had injuries, the umpires cheated, if such and such plays, we win.

The only people who think this way are people who have never experienced sport at a high level or have no understanding of the game.

I bet Ross is sitting having a beer with Lenny, Harves and Boris and saying if it wasn’t for all those injuries, we win 😂

We had ample opportunity to win the game with the players selected, however we were unable to convert in front of goal and it cost us.

We miss set shots 30M out on minor angles, Stringer bangs it from outside 50 to seal the game.

You think that’s true? Doubt it very much but anyway. King plays we win it’s as simple as that.

Like to bet if Henry plays over Byrnes we win also.

One minute people on here are saying we don’t have enough elite players. Then when the ones we have are unavailable it’s apparently no issue.

All part of the learning curve
RTB will sort it
We still have a young contingent learning the ropes

The_Dud wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 8:09pm
CURLY wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 7:50pm
The_Dud wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 7:47pm I’m sure when Caminiti, Sharman, Marshall, Membrey, Owens, Higgins etc were butchering simple set shots they were thinking “ah it’s cos of our injuries”…

Worst take ever 🤦‍♂️
Are you seriously that foolish?

I get it your s*** stirring.
Despite all the injuries, if the 23 selected just performed adequately, we win easy.

No need for elite talent just pick solid players and kids.

The Fireman wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 10:17pm
RTB will sort it
Hey, I’ve got a bridge to sell you.

🤦😂🤣

TheGreatZacsby

asiu wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 9:40pm
You can’t whinge mate. You might get called a knob or worse… a cabbage
u got called a cabbage , pissant

coz like the little sniper u are , you ran in in and clocked an unsuspecting combatant in an argument that had nothing to do with you

even worse , it was /is one of our long term posters

none of the original crew acted like dogs

except a couple of grubs

so if u reckon u've been around here longer than me
that means u were one of those grubs

u pathetic piece of shite
Woah woah woah

He took a snipe at me because I was the original whinger. Then you came in and took a snipe at me so a bit pot calling kettle black mate!

Your grammar is atrocious… who taught you at school Mrs Spud? Can’t even read your insults… THEY DONT MAKE SENSE!

All a bit over the top.

Sounds like someone needs a hug. 🫂

SaintPav wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 10:20pm
RTB will sort it

🤦😂🤣
You have no faith in the coach?

Killa

In games decided by such narrow margins incidents across the 4 quarters can be identified - and mostly those late in the game are given attention

What you do is learn - and recommit

True, both sides had 23 players on the park - but the fact is we can put a superior 23 on the park from today

Except for King, most are long term injuries

Norwood Oval is a tight playing surface so we will need to address clearances - and contest

Norwood beat Sturt on Thursday night on the back of near 100 tackles to 60

Back in the day, the ground held 20,000 but OH&S now says significantly less

Killa

From a personal point of view, and from school days, it would be nice to see the Saints honour Allan Killigrew who coached both sides

Allan bought many St Kilda players with him

Past that, a few years later St Kilda played a pre season practice game versus a developing Norwood side and won with experienced players including Ross Smith

So we trust the contest St Kilda brings sees a second win at the historical ground, the Club now 145 years old

The Fireman wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 10:43pm
RTB will sort it

🤦😂🤣
Not blind faith.

SaintPav wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 10:57pm
RTB will sort it

🤦😂🤣
Not blind faith.
Good on you
I personally think he is a very good coach and will have us playing finals..so keep your bridge you maybe the one that needs it

RTB will sort it

🤦😂🤣
It's going cheap too. It's second hand but was very reliable and in use for over 50 years....

... in Baltimore

Sorry... couldn't help myself. Tragic event

Back to the coach/coaches.

I feel like some mistakes were made from the coaches, but for a large part of the game today we were travelling well and could have even pinched it in the end.

We needed a goal kicker in that last quarter. Sharman should have stayed on the park imo

Ross set the team up and prepared the players as best as he could. Unfortunately we missed too many set shots.

Look at Stringer, the bloke is a flog, but look how he stepped up in the last quarter, the set shot he converted was more difficult than every set shot we missed today.

Our leaders all went missing in the last, very telling.

The Fireman wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 11:01pm
SaintPav wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 10:57pm
RTB will sort it

🤦😂🤣
Not blind faith.
Good on you
I personally think he is a very good coach and will have us playing finals..so keep your bridge you maybe the one that needs it
I won’t need a bridge, but I do need anti-nausea tablets every time I read your posts about him.

🤢🤮

Killa

The ground is what it has always been, with the Western Grandstand unique, for the lack of a better description, its brick wall right on the playing boundary

The Wolf Blass Centre has been added recently but not impacting crowd size

The days of 20,000 crowds are long gone from the post AFL SANFL competition, some 5,000 present last Thursday night for the season opener

The narrowness of the wings reinforces “up the guts, Sonny” so the contest and forwards who can contest and mark

The big scores have not been a feature for many a year because of the contested nature of SANFL games and no space being offered

So the chances are a tight, contested game with perhaps 12 goals getting the result

wtf was done about Martin?!