All anxiousness aside

Rubyjo

All anxiousness aside

That was a great win . Great comeback ..we can flick the switch.

Re: All anxiousness aside

You’re not telling me anything but some on here need convincing 😉

Oh, and be careful you could be called a troll :D

TheGreatZacsby

Was a good comeback

It was a good response but I hope we don’t start like that against GWS.

Norwood Oval. Fair dinkum. AFL is pretending its a top professional outfit.
It's show me the money. We will pretend SA is amazing and get our foot soldiers to perform. Of course Pies only have to play at the one ground up to scratch.

Of course everyone else is anxious about the conditions.
Gather Round is marketing nonsense. Good for AirBnB, hotels not for football.

1 goal in a half of footy....umm...erhh...yeah great win.

Vortex wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 9:04pm 1 goal in a half of footy....umm...erhh...yeah great win.
here he is

We won the clearances, even though Nankervis is a heaps better tap ruckman than Marshall.

Nobody will agree with me, but I thought Jones played a part in that result. He stood his ground in stoppages and made it hard for the Tigers to get the ball out. Yes, he stuffed up in other respects, but he made an impact.

agree on Jones

Me too on Jones (Oh damn am I becoming Woke)

The stats show he only played for 52% of the game time but when he was on the ground he fought hard.

meher baba wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 9:32pm We won the clearances, even though Nankervis is a heaps better tap ruckman than Marshall.

Nobody will agree with me, but I thought Jones played a part in that result. He stood his ground in stoppages and made it hard for the Tigers to get the ball out. Yes, he stuffed up in other respects, but he made an impact.
Jones had a shocker, got subbed out, not looking good for selection next week, should lose his spot to Windi you'd think.

Yorkeys wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 8:52pm Norwood Oval. Fair dinkum. AFL is pretending its a top professional outfit.
It's show me the money. We will pretend SA is amazing and get our foot soldiers to perform. Of course Pies only have to play at the one ground up to scratch.

Are you saying our coach and players were anxious about Gather Round?

Why do fans come on here and make excuses for the way we played? Do you want to live in a delusional world of 'We are a good team'

Are you (and others * see link) blaming the fact that we kicked 1 goal for a half of footy on Norwood Oval?

* https://www.saintsational.net/viewtopic ... 4#p2050724

I certainly think there's some big-hearted footballers and some good leaders in our team, but we're a fair way off.

meher baba wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 9:32pm We won the clearances, even though Nankervis is a heaps better tap ruckman than Marshall.

AMEN brother

Others saying 'only got 12, lost his mojo' 😳

I saw him actually think about his kicking, not take on 2-3 guys (OK, he did that once) and used his body like Dunstan used to, but with much better effect.
I give him a big tick

It's funny.

People are getting pissed off when we lose or look like losing and then really relieved that we got over the line. Seems they're really happy that we won and not too fussed about how we achieved the victory.

Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the win and I'm happy for the players, but...

I'm still pissed off (concerned is probably the more appropriate feeling) at the way we played. I don't buy into the 'blame the game style' on our youth theory.

I think some people are more worried about themselves and how their friends or colleagues at work will treat them, rather than worried about how the team is travelling or how the game plan is developing
Last edited by Scollop on Mon 08 Apr 2024 2:05am, edited 1 time in total.

It's NOT a game I'll watch again, anytime soon, if ever.
A lot of it was rugby union scrums.
In a few weeks, 17 teams will work out how to beat our -'scrum' tactic, and we'll get monstered unless we can reinvent our clearance work and be more fluid and free-flowing.
Until we find a Lachy Neale and Andy Brayshaw, we'll struggle.
Windy is on a terrific trajectory, but Steele, Ross, Crouch aren't the sublime mids we need

The "oval" didn't suit us. We were only beaten in 1 qtr in reality. We just happened to have a better 3rd qtr (the premiership qtr) than they did in the 1st qtr. We kicked for goal badly again. Lots to work on but I don't think it was too bad, considering.

Scollop wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 1:10am
Yorkeys wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 8:52pm Norwood Oval. Fair dinkum. AFL is pretending its a top professional outfit.

Why do fans come on here and make excuses for the way we played? Do you want to live in a delusional world of 'We are a good team'

Are you (and others * see link) blaming the fact that we kicked 1 goal for a half of footy on Norwood Oval?

I certainly think there's some big-hearted footballers and some good leaders in our team, but we're a fair way off.
I am saying Gather Round is an artificial contrivance that should not be part of a professional football league.
Its about SA tourism, god bless them. AFL has lost perspective, selling its product for proverbial 30 pieces.
I am slightly surprised there is not talk of a match on Kangaroo Island or at Port Pirie.
The novelty will wear off. People get fed up with over priced accommodation, suburban venues and of course SA - how many times can you go to Glenelg, Rundle Mall and the Casino.

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 10:27am
Scollop wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 1:10am

I am saying Gather Round is an artificial contrivance that should not be part of a professional football league.
Its about SA tourism, god bless them. AFL has lost perspective, selling its product for proverbial 30 pieces.
I am slightly surprised there is not talk of a match on Kangaroo Island or at Port Pirie.
The novelty will wear off. People get fed up with over priced accommodation, suburban venues and of course SA - how many times can you go to Glenelg, Rundle Mall and the Casino.
Have you attended Gather Round before? Don't think you'll get much negative feedback from people who went.

Last year I was thinking about going for this year, but didn't organise anything. I've had a few mates suggesting we book for 2025.

Looking forward to visiting Barrossa Valley. There's some great scenery on the coast near McLaren Vale plus of course wine tasting plus the restaurants.... and Mt Barker for the bakeries.

I've been there a couple of times. Once on a family trip in 2005 which took in towns including Mt Gambier and once when I was single and we used to go for the Grand Prix in the late 80's.

I just googled the Crazy Horse. I see it's still on Hindley Street 8-)

Yes I have been.
Seen all of that.
One might wonder why those delights don't attract people on their own merits.
AFL as a circus attraction just leaves me cold I'm afraid.
Seems the comp is moving further away from its roots, becoming the CEOs legacy vehicle.

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 1:06pm
Seems the comp is moving further away from its roots
Would you rather we go back in time?

Bring back the drop kick. No blood rule. Clothes lining players is back. Shirtfronts are not worthy of a suspension

...and what about those beautiful mud heaps the players used to play on? Those were the days Bobby. They certainly were Louie.

I must say though...Well done to those who catered to the Neanderthals with the boxing. Got to look after every demographic

Brunswicksainter

Im sorry but how can you say this. He had one clearence for the game and his direct opponent for most of the game (graham) had 3 in the 1st quarter alone. He also had 6 broken tackles in q1 which i beleive is the most by any player in a quarter this year. When he was taken out of the middle we were far more competitive. I dont just think he misses next week, i think his career is in serious jepardy.

Also wanted to point out richmond have been consistently the worse clearence team in the league for the past 8 years, even in their premiership years they were last or second last in the league, so beating them at clearnence is meaningless.

Brunswicksainter wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 2:29pm

Im sorry but how can you say this. He had one clearence for the game and his direct opponent for most of the game (graham) had 3 in the 1st quarter alone. He also had 6 broken tackles in q1 which i beleive is the most by any player in a quarter this year. When he was taken out of the middle we were far more competitive. I dont just think he misses next week, i think his career is in serious jepardy.

Also wanted to point out richmond have been consistently the worse clearence team in the league for the past 8 years, even in their premiership years they were last or second last in the league, so beating them at clearnence is meaningless.
Stats aren’t everything. Jones is a strong physical presence in the middle. I agree that Richmond’s midfield was very weak and that Jones stuffed lots of things up. But he was in there contesting at every bounce. I think there is room for both him and Windhager against GWS. We won’t want all those forwards on Manuka Oval. Garcia has looked promising, but GWS are going to be tough and we have enough developing players in the team as things stand.

Obviously, if Crouch were available, I’d want him ahead of Jones

Vortex wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 9:49pm

Jones had a shocker, got subbed out, not looking good for selection next week, should lose his spot to Windi you'd think.
So Jones goes out .... and Hastie stays in :lol:

At worst Jones goes to sub ... or Byrnes does

Actually prefer Jones in over Byrnes .... at least he puts his head over the ball and doesn't crap his dacks fumbling

Devilhead wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 6:29pm
Vortex wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 9:49pm

So Jones goes out .... and Hastie stays in :lol:

At worst Jones goes to sub ... or Byrnes does

Actually prefer Jones in over Byrnes .... at least he puts his head over the ball and doesn't crap his dacks fumbling
I don't know what's happened to Zac, I used to love how he played but he's a fragment of what he was a couple of years ago.

Yeah Byrnes will always be a fringe player IMO, I think he's reached his ceiling unfortunately. But you have to have some fringe types and that may be just what his spot on the list is.

Didn't see Byrnes bursting through the middle yesterday lacing a perfect pass to King who then turned and bombed a 50m pass to Higgo for a goal

Jones has been beset by injuries however he adds a bit of x-factor and grunt into our mid field ... good for short manic bursts ... maybe that's how we best play him