King ...out of form or

Re: King ...out of form or

Were you at the game?

We were given a pretty nice ride by the umps

B.M wrote: Mon 06 May 2024 7:53pm Whinge whinge whinge

He got one charity free

He is 8cm taller than Corr and was out pointed

BTW - I was at the game

His body language was pathetic- he fkn sooked!!!

His effort was deplorable- did not work hard at any point!

As I said - so easy to defend - even Aidan Corr (a D Grade defender) made him look ordinary
Bloody wank wank wank
You were at the game??????
Here’s another arm chair
Were you the guy in the crowd dressed in full saints footy kit? You should’ve jumped fence ran training at half time?

Wanted to point this out after sifting past some max King slander.

The game was umpired different either end.
Fast on the whistle if Doogs got too close to larkey,
But corr could have been pulled up for holding Max at least half a dozen times and no whistle.

So we are relying on free kicks (that aren’t there) to get the footy

A young Nick Reiwoldt took 256 marks and was AFLPA MVP and won his second B&F when he was a year younger than Max currently is

Use all the excuses you want, blame Harves, or even be happy with that from a 6’8” key forward. If you like

To me
Straight up
That ain’t fkn good enough - insipid actually

Howard gave one free kick to Larkey

Pushed him fair square in the middle of the back (when he actually didn’t have too!)

I’ll tell you what
If you are playing to get free kicks - give it away

Never waited for an ump to get me the footy. Preferred to win it myself. You, if you ever played (doubtful) we’re probably one of these guys who whinged to the umps because you couldn’t get a kick

B.M wrote: Mon 06 May 2024 8:10pm Howard gave one free kick to Larkey

Pushed him fair square in the middle of the back (when he actually didn’t have too!)

I’ll tell you what
If you are playing to get free kicks - give it away

Never waited for an ump to get me the footy. Preferred to win it myself. You, if you ever played (doubtful) we’re probably one of these guys who whinged to the umps because you couldn’t get a kick
I’ll have you know I played at the LOWEST level??
You wouldn’t survive down there with us bottom feeders
Not an AFL star that never quite was …like you
That aside, you couldn’t tie Kings shoelaces so spare us your sanctimonious BS and next time try watching the game instead of sitting there thinking to yourself….”I’m better than that guy”
Sad really .

Teflon would have been a star under the roof at Marvel. I've heard he hated it when it was windy or it rained. He preferred to sit on the bench and wait for ideal conditions

That's how he gained most of his footy iq. Observing his team mates winning the footy and getting cold and wet

Haha

Never played AFL - obviously

Did play in three state leagues (albeit reserves in one of those)

Mate, I am actually a cricketer, who played footy in the winter for fitness and to get some pocket money. I did play the game for 27 years though, wish I didn’t as my body is now fkd. Not that me playing has anything to do with King?! But you did comment on it, so I’ll fill you in!

aaron82

Turns 24 shortly so he should be in his prime but he has so many flaws. I can handle games where he is beaten by good defenders & doesnt kick many goals. It’s the lack of forward pressure/inferred pressure that he provides when he doesn’t have the ball. Allergic to even attempt to chase or tackle so far throughout his career. Plays his football like he is still playing schoolboy footy from behind far too often

and that's the bottom line

B.M wrote: Mon 06 May 2024 10:07pm Haha

Never played AFL - obviously

Did play in three state leagues (albeit reserves in one of those)

Mate, I am actually a cricketer, who played footy in the winter for fitness and to get some pocket money. I did play the game for 27 years though, wish I didn’t as my body is now fkd. Not that me playing has anything to do with King?! But you did comment on it, so I’ll fill you in!
Any chance of an autograph?
Who shall you make it out to “Dear Mr Mart?”
Good for you champ

aaron82 wrote: Mon 06 May 2024 10:14pm Turns 24 shortly so he should be in his prime but he has so many flaws. I can handle games where he is beaten by good defenders & doesnt kick many goals. It’s the lack of forward pressure/inferred pressure that he provides when he doesn’t have the ball. Allergic to even attempt to chase or tackle so far throughout his career. Plays his football like he is still playing schoolboy footy from behind far too often
Go take another look when most KPF hit their peak
Curnow numbers ??? Hawkins numbers same age ?
BTW - Curnow AND Hawkins never had to be the main man from day 1 by themselves…,
King (cause Saibts fans have a complex) has had to be Lockett from 19
Just utter garbage
Threads bookmarked
Muppets tallied.
Oh….put him up for trade ….I guarantee 17 other clubs line up
Sheer stupidity from some …but am I surprised??😂

Did Scollop say something Unintelligent again?
Never mind…it’s foe time and loving it!!! 😊

B.M wrote: Mon 06 May 2024 7:53pm Whinge whinge whinge

He got one charity free

He is 8cm taller than Corr and was out pointed

BTW - I was at the game

His body language was pathetic- he fkn sooked!!!

His effort was deplorable- did not work hard at any point!

As I said - so easy to defend - even Aidan Corr (a D Grade defender) made him look ordinary
The free was obvious, thrown down off the ball.
Corr played very well. He is no D grader.
He did not sook, kept at it. Well beaten but ball didn't fall his way, one of those games.
Effort was not deplorable, moved up the ground at times, set up a goal with a contested mid field mark.
Continuity needed after suspension and injury.
Cameron shanked a couple of easy kicks for goal v Melbourne. The superman shrinks under the krptonite of pressure.
Comparing Cameron who has played in grand finals with two great teams with terrific ball users feeding him is a stretch.
Different skill sets, different career points.
If Max was/is so easy to defend how come oppositions go to the trouble to double and even triple team him. Give them a heads up its not necessary. That would be fun to watch.

Lots of valid points on king here .
However having watched the replay , In the first quarter the heat was on , both teams were flat out .
After that the intensity dropped and we mostly had the game on our terms . A 10 goal victory was there for the taking only our delivery of the ball into the forward was far Ken woeful.
Players with time sprayed kicks giving King and others little chance of marking .
It was good to have Hayes back and he and Romo when there in the forward line seem to be our only players who can keep there feet in a marking contest .
King and others go to ground far to easy

say something Unintelligent again?
Teflon can't win the footy arguments so he foes me instead... Tosser!

It's so funny when you try and be a smartarse and it backfires on you

Does unintelligent have a capital letter does it?
Last edited by Scollop on Mon 06 May 2024 11:34pm, edited 1 time in total.

Buckley savaged him on Radio today

Called him a liability

If you defend that s*** - you accept mediocrity

And gee, that hasn’t been a problem at StK over the years has it!!!

King was putrid.

mr six o'clock wrote: Mon 06 May 2024 11:15pm Lots of valid points on king here .
However having watched the replay , In the first quarter the heat was on , both teams were flat out .
After that the intensity dropped and we mostly had the game on our terms . A 10 goal victory was there for the taking only our delivery of the ball into the forward was far Ken woeful.
Players with time sprayed kicks giving King and others little chance of marking .
It was good to have Hayes back and he and Romo when there in the forward line seem to be our only players who can keep there feet in a marking contest .
King and others go to ground far to easy
I think thats fair
As N Buckley said on radio today - King refuses to take the ball at the highest point, refuses to lead up at the ball carrier…he wrestles when built like a grasshopper…not smart
IF he leads up and jumps …he’s 8ft
My question is: who at the club is teaching him his forward craft???? Rob Harvey??? Cmon
Hayes lead up took a few marks but let’s also be real …King lead and immediately drew a crowd of defenders…freeing up Hayes
Point is we don’t need King kicking 6 each week …give us a couple …get others involved….we be one multifaceted and hard to be stop
Surely the club knows this…. THATS the type questions I’d love media to be ask RTB after a game …what do we get ?
“Hey Ross ….do u fink you guys will get on a roll…?”
FMD

Buckley was referring to the amount of inside 50's St Kilda was getting against North Melbourne, when he said King is a liability

He said that King doesn't work hard enough. Maximum effort isn't there.

Buckley said King needs to understand his strengths and use them, which he's not doing

The guys in Fox Footy compared him to Jack Lukosius, where the coach has tried him in different positions to get him back to form.

They weren't saying that Lyon will probably shift him, but they definitely think Lyon will demand better work rate and effort from him.

Here’s some champion Key forwards to check out at the same age

Jeremy Cameron - AA
Matthew Lloyd - AA
Chris Grant - Star
Nick Reiwoldt - AFL MVP
Jack Reiwoldt - Coleman Medal
Wayne Carey - Captain
Tony Lockett - Brownlow/Coleman
Jonathon Brown - Triple Premiership player
David Nietz - Gun Swingman
Garry Lyon - B&F
John Longmire - Coleman
Stephen Kernahan - Captain of Premiership
Dermott Brereton- Superstar premiership player

Could go on and on

Max was billed to be the best key forward of this generation

He’s looking like being an inconsistent B Grader who drops his head - like Joe Daniher

B.M wrote: Mon 06 May 2024 11:45pm Here’s some champion Key forwards to check out at the same age

Jeremy Cameron - AA
Matthew Lloyd - AA
Chris Grant - Star
Nick Reiwoldt - AFL MVP
Jack Reiwoldt - Coleman Medal
Wayne Carey - Captain
Tony Lockett - Brownlow/Coleman
Jonathon Brown - Triple Premiership player
David Nietz - Gun Swingman
Garry Lyon - B&F
John Longmire - Coleman
Stephen Kernahan - Captain of Premiership
Dermott Brereton- Superstar premiership player

Could go on and on

Max was billed to be the best key forward of this generation

He’s looking like being an inconsistent B Grader who drops his head - like Joe Daniher
What in gods name is the point of that post?
WTF - you can list mostly retired great players.
Very well done
King comes in - off an injury - Nth clearly targeted him (he’s had f’all help to this point …let’s hope Hayes can keep it up and take some pressure) does t have his best game now he’s destined for Daniher territory?
Are you ok?

No comparison to Roo at the same stage of his career.

None at all.

SaintPav wrote: Tue 07 May 2024 12:12am No comparison to Roo at the same stage of his career.

None at all.
Correct
One was a CHF the other a FF

66Iwasthere

Watched Max in pre season and early games and he was very aggressive, playing on immediately if he missed a mark, he was up and about. It was a new Max. Then the injuries and lack of continuity
and an unsettled forward line. Even players down the field must be finding it hard to get used to the forwards leading patterns. The team dynamics would have changed with the introduction of Jack Hayes, Mason Wood and Jimmy and the like. Max also had NM only experienced full back tied
up so perhaps he was just doing a job

Upup

Sick of excuses for him

Time to man up and have a crack

repta

Saints also very tall in the forward line at the moment.
King, Hays, Membrey. arent exactly known for their crumbing ability. Therefore mark the ball or lose it.

King is dreadfully out of form. Playing with no confidence at all (ability or body). Looks to want to curl up and cry most of the time.
He should be hitting his peak. Maybe it is time to try him in the ruck as a chop out for Marshall. Get him around the ball although I believe his body will pack in pretty quick.

If 17 other teams want him I would start the auction. 2 first rounders as a minimum.

KIng will get better, but will never be a great.

B.M wrote: Tue 07 May 2024 10:36am Sick of excuses for him

Time to man up and have a crack
Never heard so many excuses for a player not performing. Best way to counter that is to go get the ball, make the play, not sit back and demand it on a platter close to goal. Lyon just needs to play him up the ground as a high half forward.