Am I right???

Now I haven't watched any of the game nor listened on the radio... all i know is that we lost with a very negative brand of football. Now I'm going to make a little prediction here...

The brigrade of players on our list that many forumites refer to as "Not so skilled but make up for it with their endeavor and try so hard and always give 100%, run all day, chase, tackle and apply pressure... with big hearts"
or as I refer to them as "Have no skill, never have any positive influence on the match but get away with spot in the team due to their defensive cough cough abilitys"
all had average matches

That's Blake, Rix and L. Fisher

The scary part is that we also have Dempster and Baker in the team who are defensive players and Attard who would be in the team if he was fit. Any player less talented than Baker of Dempster should not be in the team

It boggles my mind that Blake in particular continues to get regular games at senior level... can some1 tell me what he actually contributes... other than trying so hard with his heart the size of phar lap's... give me Raph Clarke, Ferguson, Jack Stevens and McEvoy any day

Blake is not up to it..

He tries hard sure,

I posted last year that we would not bea fair dinkum finals chance till he and a few others were squeezed out. Problem is that we do not have enough players playing well enough to squeeze him out....

However having sad that he probably delivered more than the much praised Dal who was spanked while his oppent had heaps of valuable ball.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 27 Apr 2008 11:07am, edited 1 time in total.

saintsRrising wrote:Blake is not up to it..

He tries hard sure,

I posted last year that we would not bea fair dinkum finals chance till he and a few others were squeezed out. Problem is that we do not have enough players playing well enough to squeeze him out....

However having sad that he probably delovered more than the much praised Dal who was spaned while his oppent hand heaps of valuable ball.
But if we criticise Dal or Blake or Rix or Fisher we get hammered from pillar to post who think that these players playing the way they are at present will one day win us a flag!

How about Goose, Dal, X, Dempster, Birss, BJ, Gram, Armitage, Kosi, both Fishers, Gardiner, Bakes and Rix in no particular order.

Blake was not the worst.

If the other 21 had put in the same effort as Blake, the result would have been different.

Statsman

That's the problem. The "effort" comes from our GOPs like Blake while our "stars" don't come to play.

"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates." - Earvin 'Magic' Johnson

Bernard Shakey wrote:How about Goose, Dal, X, Dempster, Birss, BJ, Gram, Armitage, Kosi, both Fishers, Gardiner, Bakes and Rix in no particular order.

Blake was not the worst.
Dal, Birss, Gram, Armitage, Dempster, Bakes, Gardiner, X, BJ and Bakes at least have some good games

I know I will get shot down for this, but I love Blake. Yep he makes mistakes, but at least he is no pretender like most of our team. If only everyone tried as hard as he does, he wouldn't get a game. To be honest I am sick to death of our so called "star's" being put up on a pedestal. If players arn't playing well enough they should be dropped, I don't care who they are, maybe they might try harder next time. Tonight was a disgrace.

Mooksy

There is no doubt whatsoever Michael Rix played his last game of senior footy tonight.

Blake gets quite a bit of the ball. I think he would be well suited on the forward flank, providing his accuracy in front of goal improves. His kicking lets him down a bit, but I think he has the potential to be a 25-30 goal a year player in that position.

Blake played quite a decent game - he had a crack, took some good marks and didn't fork up too many of his disposals unlike most of his teamates.

But there will be those who will call for his head again this week, just like a broken record.

barneyboyz

Re: Am I right???

skeptic wrote:Now I haven't watched any of the game nor listened on the radio... all i know is that we lost with a very negative brand of football. Now I'm going to make a little prediction here...

The brigrade of players on our list that many forumites refer to as "Not so skilled but make up for it with their endeavor and try so hard and always give 100%, run all day, chase, tackle and apply pressure... with big hearts"
or as I refer to them as "Have no skill, never have any positive influence on the match but get away with spot in the team due to their defensive cough cough abilitys"
all had average matches

That's Blake, Rix and L. Fisher

The scary part is that we also have Dempster and Baker in the team who are defensive players and Attard who would be in the team if he was fit. Any player less talented than Baker of Dempster should not be in the team

It boggles my mind that Blake in particular continues to get regular games at senior level... can some1 tell me what he actually contributes... other than trying so hard with his heart the size of phar lap's... give me Raph Clarke, Ferguson, Jack Stevens and McEvoy any day
I have been a big fan of both Blake & Rix, but probably you are right, though people like Montagna etc. seem to get off lightly sometimes too, probably because of sheer ability, but where Blake gives his all (although without the talent), Leigh goes missing, s*** even Lenny does at times, even Roo & Kosi, but nobody asks for their heads. tonight was about 22 players not putting in enough, if they had've we would have won

I would keep putting CJ. in there, sure swap him in and out, but surely his grunt can spark something, surely

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:
One Eyed Saint

Out - (for a while) Rix, Blake & L Fisher
In - (for a few weeks) Allen, Geary & McEvoy

If we don't play our young kids, other teams will and will continue to pass us by on their way up the AFL ladder.

Mooksy

One Eyed Saint wrote:Out - (for a while) Rix, Blake & L Fisher
In - (for a few weeks) Allen, Geary & McEvoy

If we don't play our young kids, other teams will and will continue to pass us by on their way up the AFL ladder.
You cannot be serious re Leigh Fisher. He has been good.

battye wrote:Blake gets quite a bit of the ball. I think he would be well suited on the forward flank, providing his accuracy in front of goal improves. His kicking lets him down a bit, but I think he has the potential to be a 25-30 goal a year player in that position.
Has he kicked 25-30 goals in his career?

skeptic wrote:
battye wrote:Blake gets quite a bit of the ball. I think he would be well suited on the forward flank, providing his accuracy in front of goal improves. His kicking lets him down a bit, but I think he has the potential to be a 25-30 goal a year player in that position.
I made it quite clear that it would only happen if he improves his accuracy and if he stays around the half forward line for an extended period of time. He gets enough of the ball to allow him to kick a goal or two match... in fact, it seems at the moment every match he plays he gets a shot at goal anyway.

LENNY LEADS THE WAY

battye wrote:
skeptic wrote:
I made it quite clear that it would only happen if he improves his accuracy and if he stays around the half forward line for an extended period of time. He gets enough of the ball to allow him to kick a goal or two match... in fact, it seems at the moment every match he plays he gets a shot at goal anyway.
IF i improved my fitness and IF i improved my skills i could also be a afl player who could kick 25 to 30 lot of IF BUTTS AND MAYBES though reality is reality

100 percent behind the saints 100 percent of the time
ratismeat

Not a big Blake fan but have to agree with one comment from Bev, if everyone on the team put in the same effort as Blake - he would NEVER get a game. Indictment on the team that he does get games, not an indictment on Blake.

saintwill66

Saint Bev wrote:I know I will get shot down for this, but I love Blake. Yep he makes mistakes, but at least he is no pretender like most of our team. If only everyone tried as hard as he does, he wouldn't get a game. To be honest I am sick to death of our so called "star's" being put up on a pedestal. If players arn't playing well enough they should be dropped, I don't care who they are, maybe they might try harder next time. Tonight was a disgrace.
An excellent post Bev.

Last night was very much a disgrace and an embarrassment for the players and entire football department. I watched the Adelaide v Carlton game beforehand and the contrast in game plans was stark. With a list that most observers rate at least equal to if not better than the Bulldogs, it is incomprehensible that St Kilda refuse to play fast-flowing, attacking football like the Bullies are doing this year.

Why is it that when Saints midfielders run towards the forward 50 they invariably look for a short to medium pass to a double-tagged Riewoldt or Koschitzke, instead of roosting the ball 50 or 60 meters into goal. Is it lack of confidence or part of the game plan? It often results in a costly turnover, and it is just not working. And it's bloody painful to watch!!

I'm not for sacking coaches or players, but I do hope that the team will lreview the first 6 rounds of this season and come up with a brand of footy that is working so very well for the leading teams in the comp.

I would much rather see St Kilda go down displaying a fast-flowing, aggressive and attacking style of football than this short-pass "keepings off" garbage that they have adopted this year.

Maybe it's time for the Westaway Board to make the football department accountable because these sorts of performances are going to drive supporters away, and it will. With the Saints coming to Brisbane in May to play the Lions I dread the thought that we're going to suffer yet another shocker against a team that is very hard to knock off on their home turf.

The old cliche "have-a-go ya mug!" expresses how I feel watching the Saints in 2008.

Saint Bev wrote:I know I will get shot down for this, but I love Blake. Yep he makes mistakes, but at least he is no pretender like most of our team. If only everyone tried as hard as he does, he wouldn't get a game. To be honest I am sick to death of our so called "star's" being put up on a pedestal. If players arn't playing well enough they should be dropped, I don't care who they are, maybe they might try harder next time. Tonight was a disgrace.
Blake shouldn't be playing AFL footy, however as long as his output and efforts are better than guys being paid 5 times what he is - then he deserves a game.

Our 'stars' aren't stars at all. Our depth is fine, always has been, it's our top 6 that is sub-standard.

I know I will get shot down for this, but I love Blake. Yep he makes mistakes, but at least he is no pretender like most of our team. If only everyone tried as hard as he does, he wouldn't get a game. To be honest I am sick to death of our so called "star's" being put up on a pedestal. If players arn't playing well enough they should be dropped, I don't care who they are, maybe they might try harder next time. Tonight was a disgrace.
well said Bev
If only everyone tried as hard as he does, he wouldn't get a game
exactly!

actually if you think about the preamble to the Anzac medal , which ive heard a few times this weekend, courage etc up against enormous odds Blakes game last night , especially in his rucking efforts again, probably fits the bill c/f the Cornes who got heaps of posessions against little opposition pressure in the main

said it in another post but some of our blokes should have been awarded an Anzac Medal for going missing in action last night
And for those advocating a change to the
Pies/ Bombers format at the G, just thank hell the pittiful efforts of some of our troops were not witnessed by 90 odd thousand at that shrine, instead of in far away SA on a cold dark night infront of 2 and a dog!

indeed...

Simple fact is playing at Adelaide they start with a two goal plus advantage. Throw in the fact there strength is the ruckwork of Lade and Brogan compared to RIX and theres another 4 goal minium advantage. Lade single handedly gave Port 4 goals at least through his ruckwork last night.

what we need?

Simple fact - the saints ARE good enough, but never are good enough - now if we could discover the switch that turned Geelong from potential champions to champions we WILL be champions.

I have an idea it's about motivation -the will to win, the strength to push harder, the support of your team mates, the unfettering of a natural game plan, the enjoyment of fast furious footy - but looking at where Ross is taking us i must be completely wrong!

U know who else tried really really hard...

Mark McGough

didn't make him a good footballer

I just son't understand this mentality of he tries so lets play him even though he sucks...

Do u realise that instead of playing Jason Blake consistently over the past few years that Raph Clarke, Armitage, Gilbert etc (ppl that actually have talent and can play) or players that had limited opportunity and didn't make it though were very talented Murray, Watts, Brooks, etc could actually have had a further 30 games under their belts

instead we've put all this game time into Jason "I'm the same player now as when I debuted except my disposals a bit worse but I can run on the spot for longer" Blake