Shut the bloody roof

LENNY LEADS THE WAY

Shut the bloody roof

Sick of the roof being open and fans having to put up with the glare of the sun.

As paying fans hand over there hard earned they should be able to watch the game in comfort and not have to shield there eyes all day.

U've got a roof bloody shut it

100 percent behind the saints 100 percent of the time

I was cold- needed a rug- But could see-

mve to the other end :)

The Saintsational Man

I'm still defrosting.....

esaint66

Re: Shut the bloody roof

LENNY LEADS THE WAY wrote:Sick of the roof being open and fans having to put up with the glare of the sun.

As paying fans hand over there hard earned they should be able to watch the game in comfort and not have to shield there eyes all day.

U've got a roof bloody shut it

Wasn't the sun today mate ......... Was the bloody cold. Hooray winters arrived :wink:

anyone who was higher up- can you tell me what the cloud/ shine straight up into the sky toward the city was??

was it the setting sun reflecting of Eureka Towers?

rare day in Melbourne this time of year to get some good old fashioned sun on the turf I would have thought.

howlinwolf

I understand where you all are coming from. It was cold. But to be honest if you saw how much sun actually hit a small percentage of the ground today I think they just have to open it to keep the grass alive.

The Saintsational Man

howlinwolf wrote:I understand where you all are coming from. It was cold. But to be honest if you saw how much sun actually hit a small percentage of the ground today I think they just have to open it to keep the grass alive.
They use heat lamps these days bloke.

You think after years of dead yellow grass that suddenly it was a miracle that the grass is bright green this year?

Think about it :wink:

howlinwolf

Geez you're right up with it mate. And you don't think they'd open the roof when they could and save the cost and hassle of heat lamps when the could for nothing ? From mother nature.
The world needs more of your intuition "bloke"

Darren

Roof is better opened, I hate it closed. I get better reception on my phone. :D

The Saintsational Man wrote:
howlinwolf wrote:I understand where you all are coming from. It was cold. But to be honest if you saw how much sun actually hit a small percentage of the ground today I think they just have to open it to keep the grass alive.
They use heat lamps these days bloke.

You think after years of dead yellow grass that suddenly it was a miracle that the grass is bright green this year?

Think about it :wink:
They also have a new turf consultant, crannypete. He's an expert in all things grass :roll: :wink: !!

midas_touch

open roof > closed roof.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)

Oh dear...winter in Melbourne and it was cold today...who would have thought???? :roll: Toughen up people lol

Agree on the roof though..but only cos the damn ground is aligned 90deg the wrong way and the sun is seriously in the players eyes if they are facing the Lockett end

Its also damn nearly unwatchable on TV with the ball jumping between sun and shadow 5000 times

saints11

wear a jacket and your fine :roll:

My concern is not the cold.
Memories of those cold days in the shade at Moorabbin.

But the contrast between shade and sunlight at Docklands seems really great, and plenty of times players lost sight of the ball.
For that reason the roof should be closed.

As mentioned, A 500 MILLION dollar stadium and they face it the wrong bloody way! :roll: Good one!

I spent the arvo at Woori Yallock oval, and the roof was definitely open there.

Cracked a bit of a tan actually! :oops:

jill

Watching replay - they showed glare off Rialto - Huge!!
Was Robbo's injury courtesy of Telstra Dome turf?
We have to play well on all surfaces /under all conditions if we're contenders- it's a LONG SEASON -& we ain't done yet! GO SAINTERS!!!!

It was cold mainly because of two things:

(1) The roof was open, letting the heat generated by 27K people out of the stadium

(2) The crowd was about 10K+ less than what we normally getting, providing less personal heat.

The night games with a big crowd I find sometimes get too warm - they should open the roof up about 10% to let some of the heat out and make it less stuffy.

Day games when it's either sunny or really cold outside the roof should be shut to make it less glary and warmer.

Telstra Dome has made us supporters soft.

Remember, we have 2 night games at the MCG this winter.

Prepare to freeze big time!

The Saintsational Man

iwantmeseats wrote:As mentioned, A 500 MILLION dollar stadium and they face it the wrong bloody way! :roll: Good one!
Maybe we could all push one side and turn it 90 degrees :wink:

No wonder we can't win finals, they are played in the open.

Wouldn't want to be exposed to the elements.

Why don't you follow basketball? Ross likes it. Trained on a basketball court on Wednesday.

If you live in Melbourne, you should know how to dress for Winter.

Raven

I wore a t-shirt to the game with my scarf and beanie - people were giving me weird looks. Well I'm sorry, I just don't feel the cold!

esaint66

midas_touch wrote:open roof > closed roof.

Yep its how footy used to be and IMO still should be :D

I'm positive I heard on radio/tv that one of the reasons we trained at MSAC during the week was to replicate the indoor conditions of Telstra Dome?

If that is the case then it would appear that the Football Dept were told or assumed that the roof was going to be closed for yeterday's game?

Raven wrote:I wore a t-shirt to the game with my scarf and beanie - people were giving me weird looks. Well I'm sorry, I just don't feel the cold!
What if you were dressed like your avatar?!?