Rix considered by the Lions

Raven

Rix considered by the Lions

http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/ ... wsId=70798
He said the club was looking at three possible options next week - snapping up a crumbing forward like Davis, an extra midfielder or a ruckman like delisted St Kilda player Michael Rix.

Despite not ruling out Davis, it is Rix, 27, that appears to be in the box seat for selection by the Lions.

Rix was part of St Kilda's biggest clean-out in eight years at the end of the 2008 season, one of eight players delisted in October.

Rix would add welcome depth to a Lions ruck division relying on Jamie Charman and youngster Matthew Leuenberger.

"I guess Michael Rix has been trialled and obviously listed at St Kilda so he's one that springs to mind," Voss said.

"We've got three ruckman now but (draftee) Bart (McCulloch) obviously is a bit younger and Michael has got a little bit more experience."
It'd be great to see Rix get another chance, I hope he gets picked up.

They could have saved a lot of time and traded Rix for Begley.

last I heard Rixy was at the retirees luncheon on Friday .

along with Charlie Gardiner.

saintbrat wrote:last I heard Rixy was at the retirees luncheon on Friday .

but B4E has just a bought a house in Brisbane.

Get with the picture!!

Saw Rix at my office the other day - looked like he was prepping for a job interview.

and here's me thinking that voss had a clue......

Vos = the next Timmy Watson...

saintsRrising wrote:Vos = the next Timmy Watson...

could be right on the money there.......

stinger wrote:and here's me thinking that voss had a clue......
And there I was thinking Voss had no clue, this is obviously cause for a rethink!

RIXROXRUX4eva

saintbrat wrote:last I heard Rixy was at the retirees luncheon on Friday .

but B4E has just a bought a MANSION in Brisbane.

Get with the picture!!
:lol: :wink: !!

TassieJones

Not as bad an idea as it sounds at first, Brisbanes ruck stocks are the shallowest in the league by a mile. Surely they could do better than Rix though, what about Jeff White? I still reckon they'll take Nick Davis anyway, small forwards are their biggest immediate weakness.

Hope Rix does get picked up, terrible player but not from lack of trying and a top bloke.

great to see him still playing in the big time

Watch out for Brisbane applying to the AFL to have Hooper listed as a 'Mature Age Rookie' apparently due to him not being 'enthused enough' to play league footy.

This will give them an extra pick in the PSD and enable them to take both Davis and Rix.

Good luck to Rix if he can get another crack, but I don't think Voss is fair dinkum

Mr Magic wrote:Watch out for Brisbane applying to the AFL to have Hooper listed as a 'Mature Age Rookie' apparently due to him not being 'enthused enough' to play league footy.

This will give them an extra pick in the PSD and enable them to take both Davis and Rix.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

n1ck wrote:
Mr Magic wrote:Watch out for Brisbane applying to the AFL to have Hooper listed as a 'Mature Age Rookie' apparently due to him not being 'enthused enough' to play league footy.

Sorry, but I fail to see the humour in it....

In fact, it's a p1ss poor effort IMO...

St Fidelius wrote:
n1ck wrote:

Your not in a good mood tonite, are you?

I can see the irony.

WayneJudson42 wrote:
St Fidelius wrote:
n1ck wrote:

I can see the irony.
oh, you noticed...

Yes I am in a crap mood....

and I have my reasons....

but I don't see the humour in it at all IMO

St Fidelius wrote:
WayneJudson42 wrote:
St Fidelius wrote:
n1ck wrote:

I can see the irony.
oh, you noticed...

You might say I'm a bit of an Einstein... :lol:

St Fidelius wrote:
WayneJudson42 wrote:
St Fidelius wrote:
n1ck wrote:

I can see the irony.
oh, you noticed...

Not so much humour St Fid - more cynicism and sarcasm pointed at what I believe is Richmond's cynical use of Polak's injury to break/bend/rort the draft rules.

So if Rix gets picked up .....and I'd be flabbergasted, would he's new nic be Rix Rux Sux?

rix would not be the worst in the afl just needs time

Best of luck to him.

He always gave 100% & is a top bloke.

Real Footy today reckons it's a done deal.

Onya Rixy! I'll follow his time at the Lions with interest.

Also, I just think M Rix's attitude, the way he goes about things fits very comfortably with Vossy's coaching mantra.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

jays wrote:rix would not be the worst in the afl just needs time

not far off it....can't kick...can't mark........can't even find the footy.....