Newby to the forum

Hi Guys (first time poster)

Used to live in beaumaris and follow the saints but moved away for work.

Kept following the saints but just by TV, newspapers, etc. I found this website recently and enjoyed the opinions so I decided to get on board and start posting.

Did anyone here go to the animal enclosure during the 80's at Moorabbin?
(Great memories)

Look forward to throwing in the odd :?: opinion.

Cheers

Welcome PJ.

Yes I spent every second winter Sat arvo standing in the animal pit in the 80s.
Terrible football.
But some of the happiest days of my life. :D

Hey Enrico

We lost plenty of games but there was always plenty to cheer or laugh about - Geoff Fehring's goal for one was a stand out for me.

Went to TD for the first time this year great atmosphere but wasn't quite the same not being able to abuse the umpires and opposition as they run out.

Re: Newby to the forum

PJ wrote:Did anyone here go to the animal enclosure during the 80's at Moorabbin? (Great memories)
yeah i was in there.

it had an atmosphere that you don't get in modern footy and some great, funny characters.

there was a loudmouth who stood a few back who used to crack me up with some of his calls.

he probably comes on here now, so put your hand up if it was you.

Could possibly have been me oops!!

PJ wrote:Could possibly have been me oops!!
nah, this bloke was funny :D :wink:

welcome to saintsational pj

Cheers big carl

perhaps it was the VB :lol:

evryone loves hearing their own voice

Pilgram

welcome PJ and dont worry you can still abuse people at the dome. :D

Welcome, old timer. :lol:

Never stood in the AE, but always undr the Prez's box right up against the social club's fence.

Does anyone know who the guy was, and what ever happened to him that used to call out:

Caaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarn, Sainters!

Wetracked him to WAverly, where I believe he sat on the members side. If the wind blew the right way, we could hear him on the outer wing.

ctqs

WayneJudson42 wrote:Welcome, old timer. :lol:

Never stood in the AE, but always undr the Prez's box right up against the social club's fence.

Does anyone know who the guy was, and what ever happened to him that used to call out:

Wetracked him to WAverly, where I believe he sat on the members side. If the wind blew the right way, we could hear him on the outer wing.
He used to stand right behind me, next to the walkway separating the Huggins Stand from the other stand, and virtually right below the TV commentary box. He also used to shout out "Where's me pie-warmer?" to the police patrolling the boundary. He was always threatening to burn down the house/FJ of whichever umpire was in control. He also used to tell the umps to get their wives to take a bath. :lol: Good times!

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

ctqs wrote:

He used to stand right behind me, next to the walkway separating the Huggins Stand from the other stand, and virtually right below the TV commentary box. He also used to shout out "Where's me pie-warmer?" to the police patrolling the boundary. He was always threatening to burn down the house/FJ of whichever umpire was in control. He also used to tell the umps to get their wives to take a bath. :lol: Good times!
So you were right behind me. I was about 2 rows from the fence, so you would have stood up against the grandstand wall.

ctqs wrote:

That bloke used to stand on a wheelie bin sometimes and wait for the right moment to let lose. I was always right behind the players box next to the race. Before that in the animal enclosure. The funniest day there was when Danny Hughes playing fior the Crows was dragged after Plugger had kicked his 9th late in the 2nd Quarter!! And he had to run right past the AE from the South Rd end to come off.. That was hilarious and probably really embarassing for Danny!! :lol:

Welcome PJ :D

I only joined in recent months myself, look forward to your input and opinions. Did any particular recent events inspire you to find this site?

yipper wrote:
ctqs wrote:

That bloke used to stand on a wheelie bin sometimes and wait for the right moment to let lose. I was always right behind the players box next to the race. Before that in the animal enclosure. The funniest day there was when Danny Hughes playing fior the Crows was dragged after Plugger had kicked his 9th late in the 2nd Quarter!! And he had to run right past the AE from the South Rd end to come off.. That was hilarious and probably really embarassing for Danny!! :lol:
Ah the memories. Used to sit in the stand behind the animal enclosure. Best of both worlds really, comfort and entertainment. Pity about the football however. :wink: Met a lot of the players rellies up there; gday to the Bowey family if they visit the site.

welcome mate

stevoscity008 wrote:deleted by mod

Livewire.

Round 1 Saints vs Sydney.

I, and plenty of others, will show you the respect you deserve.

ctqs

Livewire.

Mate, the girl barracks for Carlton. She's going to be a front-runner like everyone else associated with that club, who gets scared and goes missing when things get tough. There's no way she'll show.
Besides, given Carlton hasn't beaten us since 2001, which is the best part of a decade, I don't know why she's so cocky.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

WayneJudson42 wrote:

welcome PJ
the "howler" never caught his name but i reckon he looked like Mick Dwyers' twin brother...yep he followed the Saints out to Waverly, but went missing after that, maybe his throat gave out in the end. He would have been perfect for a closed roof TD

saint1974

Hi pj

only new to this forum too.

Oh the days at the animal enclosure spent my teen years barracking for the sainters .

Love the memories from there even copped the tinnie of beer across the head that then went on to hit Gary Sidebottom.

Use to love watching Mad Dog Muir when he was benched to see his reaction.
Now I sit in the social club area nothing will replace those wonderful memories of the animal enclosure.

Great topic.

Livewire.

What make you think a gutless, moronic t%rd like that would ever front up?

Thanks all look forward to a few more AE stories

OWTS - no there was no particular thing that led me here but it's a good time to be starting as wee gear up with the new intake of sainter hopefuls.

:lol: :lol:

There will only ever be one AE

Memories pity times change

Ah yes, the can and G SIdebottom! Now, what year was that do you think? I was very young, Im thinking early 80's? It was right in front of me, as we used to sit in the stand directly behind the cage.

If it clipped someone on the back of the head on the eway through, it must have been a one in a millino shot. As I can recall it hitting him FLUSH in the head and him dropping like he had been shot.

welcome PJ
enjoy the ride .......

This place is the closest thing to the AE......

Be strong. :wink: