Pumping up the rookies tyres...

Couldnt help but smile at this bio from todays rookie draft..

70. St Kilda - Ross Tungatulum
Small forward who is dangerous around goal and displays electrifying speed. Exceptional skills on both sides.

..yet he fell through to Pick 70 in the rookie draft? ;-)

NOTHING against the lad at all...I'm sure he's very talented..but those attributes when put in AFL context..well..sounds like a Top 10 National Draft pick really

Re: Pumping up the rookies tyres...

saint66au wrote:Couldnt help but smile at this bio from todays rookie draft..

Small forward who is dangerous around goal and displays electrifying speed. Exceptional skills on both sides.

NOTHING against the lad at all...I'm sure he's very talented..but those attributes when put in AFL context..well..sounds like a Top 10 National Draft pick really
Yeah unfortunately what they don't say is that he is only 35kg and 5 ft tall (well he looks it from his photo) :wink:

Seriously though best of luck to Ross and all our rookie listed players :twisted:

Must admit,know nothing of the lad. But I'm happy with the pick.

That Tiwi island clan are dangerous,freaky skills. Just whether he can adapt to City life,and AFL footy.

One thing we lack apart from Milne and Schneider is players with smarts around goal. Most of our players have terrible goal smarts. This guy could be a handy pick up if he adapts,big ask,but worth the punt

True Blue Sainter

jonesy wrote:Must admit,know nothing of the lad. But I'm happy with the pick.

That Tiwi island clan are dangerous,freaky skills. Just whether he can adapt to City life,and AFL footy.

One thing we lack apart from Milne and Schneider is players with smarts around goal. Most of our players have terrible goal smarts. This guy could be a handy pick up if he adapts,big ask,but worth the punt
Reckon he might be best off to give Aussie Wonaeamirri a call - see how he's adapted to Melbourne lifestyle... Also got our two NT boys in the Clarke brothers that could help him adjust. Best of luck Choo Choo - we all hope you'll make it!

The Saints are coming!

He looks about 9yo.....

Pick 70 in the RD is no shame.....

How many 22-17yo's play footy in Australia......

He was picked about 140th....nothing to be embarrassed about....

The club said "He played with the Northern Territory Under-18 team. We got a bit of feedback he was best on ground in the grand final in Darwin and kicked a few magical goals."

Played for St Mary's NT - the same club as the Clarke brothers.

Beej

"Exceptional skills on both sides" is rookie-talk for "has attempted to kick with his opposite foot and has managed to get boot to ball on at least one occasion".

OLB wrote:

"Exceptional skills on both sides" is rookie-talk for "has attempted to kick with his opposite foot and has managed to get boot to ball on at least one occasion".
LOL, maybe in the mould of clinton Jones who is undoubtedly great both sides

True Blue Sainter

fonz_#15 wrote:
OLB wrote:

Or Jayson Daniels, whose left foot was equal with his "preferred" right side?

The Saints are coming!

True Blue Sainter wrote:
fonz_#15 wrote:
OLB wrote:

Or Jayson Daniels, whose left foot was equal with his "preferred" right side?
I actually thought it was better

Sounds like a porn star

The Tunga is coming.

I just can't wait to see him play seniors, it will be so exciting he may

even teach Milney a thew tricks on not being greedy :wink:

homework wrote:I just can't wait to see him play seniors, it will be so exciting he may

he is ONLY a rookie- l9ong way to go

bets chance to check them all out will be the Intra club in Feb.

a friday night hopefully- BBQ going and fans out in force.

homework wrote:I just can't wait to see him play seniors, it will be so exciting he may

he is ONLY a rookie- l9ong way to go

bets chance to check them all out will be the Intra club in Feb.

a friday night hopefully- BBQ going and fans out in force.
Yeah wouldn't mine that..... what date do you rekon Saintbrat?

Beekay

I'd say about 4.56 pm on the 13th day of the second month, homie. Mark it on the calendar.

I'm just going to come out and say it. I am excited about picking this kid up simply because he is a black fella.

Beekay wrote:I'd say about 4.56 pm on the 13th day of the second month, homie. Mark it on the calendar.

I'm just going to come out and say it. I am excited about picking this kid up simply because he is a black fella.
Exactly we need more of them up in the midfield, forward line etc. :)

Beej

Beekay wrote:I'd say about 4.56 pm on the 13th day of the second month, homie. Mark it on the calendar.

:lol: :lol:

10 pages, this thread.

He's an Indigeny, so I'm happy :lol:

saintspremiers wrote:He's an Indigeny, so I'm happy :lol:
Mate out of respect its spelt Indigenous :wink:

StNoodles

If he's anything like Wona, he'll be very valuable. Can't wait to see him play!

StNoodles wrote:If he's anything like Wona, he'll be very valuable. Can't wait to see him play!
Same :P He will be valuble up forward in the future Milney's retirement

Who's gonna draft someone who's bio reads "Never heard of him, average kick, couldn't hit the sticks with a cricket bat"? Sheesh you guys, join the real world and give the bloke a chance...until you've seen him in action, the best anyone can do is pump his tyres. I'm sure we didn't just pick him up because he's got a great nickname.

degruch wrote:Who's gonna draft someone who's bio reads "Never heard of him, average kick, couldn't hit the sticks with a cricket bat"? Sheesh you guys, join the real world and give the bloke a chance...until you've seen him in action, the best anyone can do is pump his tyres. I'm sure we didn't just pick him up because he's got a great nickname.
No one knew anything about Wonameri..... Look at him now :P

homework wrote:
degruch wrote:Who's gonna draft someone who's bio reads "Never heard of him, average kick, couldn't hit the sticks with a cricket bat"? Sheesh you guys, join the real world and give the bloke a chance...until you've seen him in action, the best anyone can do is pump his tyres. I'm sure we didn't just pick him up because he's got a great nickname.
Good point. Plenty of low rookie picks have cut the mustard...who knows what Choo Choo might do? In any case, the guy's bio is all about selling his talents, nothing more, nothing less.

degruch wrote:
homework wrote:
Good point. Plenty of low rookie picks have cut the mustard...who knows what Choo Choo might do? In any case, the guy's bio is all about selling his talents, nothing more, nothing less.
True there but he could be the next Leon Davis or have an impact like Rioli or Wonameri :wink: