Family Day

joffaboy wrote:Where the F*** is Frankston?
nowhere near Altona !!
Just to put everyone in perspective...

I travel 300 kms to watch the Saints. Those who complain about go across town to see the Saints are not fair dinkum.

I would prefer them in St.Kilda for sure if not they still get my support.

I would watch red, white and black paint dry.

SaintWodonga wrote:
nowhere near Altona !!
Just to put everyone in perspective...

I travel 300 kms to watch the Saints. Those who complain about go across town to see the Saints are not fair dinkum.

I would prefer them in St.Kilda for sure if not they still get my support.

I would watch red, white and black paint dry.
Yes those who find it necessary to bleat about distance, it's a joke.

It can't be close to everyone, and the club's hands were tied a bit. How bout we embrace it? Help keep our club alive not punish it by going off and having a sook.

joffaboy, I have and will stand up with your issue about L2, but not on this.

You claim to have a 6 figure income, buy yourself a flowering GPS :idea:

I have the upmost respect for ALL of our country & Interstate members. I have even heard of O/S members. I know that some of our Interstate & Overseas members are FULL members (Incl Social Club). They do it because they LOVE THIS CLUB. !!

Still haven't been told where the F*** Frankston is.

We had the Bayside Festival on at Altona today and my girls were in it.

I am supposed to abandon my girls activities and travel 60 klms to a Family Day?

Oh well i suppose I put my Family over a football team activity.

I must not be a real supporter :roll: :roll:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

joffaboy wrote:Still haven't been told where the F*** Frankston is.
It's about 20km south of our heartland.

But it's where they hope to attract the next generation of StKilda supporters.

To achieve maximum penetration of this market all our players will be growing mullets in 2010,
and moccassins will be added to the official team travelling uniform.

I am supposed to abandon my girls activities and travel 60 klms to a Family Day?

Yes you have...
St Fidelius wrote:
joffaboy, I have and will stand up with your issue about L2, but not on this.

But, of course your family comes first in any case, I really could not give a rats if you and others don't attend, but the issue about some posters is the travel to get there, and to me that shows me what a person they are.

Again, I was serving members that came from regional areas.

Enrico_Misso wrote:
It's about 20km south of our heartland.

But it's where they hope to attract the next generation of StKilda supporters.

To achieve maximum penetration of this market all our players will be growing mullets in 2010,
and moccassins will be added to the official team travelling uniform.
Yeah good on ya...

With that attitude it really surprises me that you would bother to travel over 20km to watch a match...

You can shove those moccassins where they will no doubt fit IMO

HarveysDeciple wrote:Was good to travel all the way from Gippsland to see the family day, but fair enough to those who think Frankston is too far....maybe they can hold the next family day on your doorstep :roll:

Those there had a ball....and I cleaned up the raffle to boot :wink:
so no jumping up in excitement from the front of the kids area :wink:

St Fidelius wrote:Yeah good on ya...

With that attitude it really surprises me that you would bother to travel over 20km to watch a match...

OK, the moccassin bit (in both our posts) is a cheap shot.

But I would and have (over many years) travelled to see my team play.

My issue with Frankston or Seaford is that we have no affinity with the place.
There is no connection.

It will be a heartless, soul-less place.
Because there is NO HISTORY there

That is my beef.
And I am angry we are being forced away from our traditional base where our history is.

Without history what have you got ?

Enrico_Misso wrote: Without history what have you got ?

the future mate...the future

Enrico_Misso wrote: Without history what have you got ?

the future mate...the future
and some would say- given our history JUST as well we HAVE a future.... somewhere.

So it didnt matter to you where the family day was as you had something else.

Go Sainters Go

Hey EM, where did our greatest player come from - a tip, he wore no. 35 for about 20 years and he played his junior football at Belvedere Park. The new training base, I wouldn't mind betting, could be named after him.

Once a "Saint" always a trueblooded "Saint"

Enrico_Misso wrote:
There is no connection.

Hey and guess what that was most of us members beefed about in the late 1960's about Moorabbin!!!!!!! It was the pits to go to such a boring, bogan, suburban backblock.............................. still we got over it and eventually the Moorabbin ground became a favourite, and the Junction Oval became a nostalgic memory. I still think Moorabin the suburb is dullsville, but that's just my opinion.

Strange I even began to have an affinity to Waverley too. :shock:

Yeah for Frankston, Seaford or wherever the Saints /train/play.

Just savour the moment, who knows how long you'll have the luxury of St Kilda Football in Victoria. Remember change, like s*** happens :wink:

Enrico_Misso wrote:

There is no connection.

That is my beef.
And I am angry we are being forced away from our traditional base where our history is.

I just dont get this thing about having no history or being a soul less place. Firstly as someone else said that is probably exactly what people would have said about Moorabbin in 1965 and secondly why does it actually matter where they train. I sometimes go to training and there could be 20 people there so no one is actually watchng training so why care where they train.

No games are to be played at this ground so why does it have to have history. Do you think they will train worse because there is no soul.

Eastern wrote:I have the upmost respect for ALL of our country & Interstate members. I have even heard of O/S members. I know that some of our Interstate & Overseas members are FULL members (Incl Social Club). They do it because they LOVE THIS CLUB. !!
Thank you for those comments Eastern. My wife and I now live interstate, but that hasn't stopped us from getting full social club membership every year.

Pwoit

Everyone knows where it is - its an 8hr boat trip north of Devonport :roll:

Pwoit wrote: Everyone knows where it is - its an 8hr boat trip north of Devonport :roll:
they are building a WORLD class marina resort at Frankston
maybe they can plan a stop for the big ferry and people can stay at the Hotel on the water :)

Eastern wrote:I have the upmost respect for ALL of our country & Interstate members. I have even heard of O/S members. I know that some of our Interstate & Overseas members are FULL members (Incl Social Club). They do it because they LOVE THIS CLUB. !!
Thank you for those comments Eastern. My wife and I now live interstate, but that hasn't stopped us from getting full social club membership every year.
Ditto saynta's comments to you Eastern :P

From the palatial surrounds of the joffa manor you make your way on to the Westgate Fwy (make sure you are heading East).
Continue through the Citylink tunnell and on to the Monash Fwy.
Follow through all the lovely roadworks until you reach Eastlink.
Eastlink then joins up with the Frankston Fwy
Turn Right at the 1st set of lights on to Frankston Cranbourne Rd
Follow that road into the middle of Frankston
There is a possibility that even YOU might be able to follow these directions

If you get lost and end up at the Frankston Police Station don't bother ringing. I don't have the bail money :roll: :wink: !!

And, as for being a real supporter. I'm thinking of starting a poll on whether ppl think you are a real person :wink: !!

saintdooley wrote:
matrixcutter wrote:
snoopygirl wrote:Yet nobody seems to mind these St Kilda supporters making the trek into the city from Frankston & surrounds each week. :roll:
or from interstate a few times a year
if your a cheer squad member you will know that there is no such thing as 'too far away' to support your club.
from a 1 hour train trip down to Frankston, to a 4 hour flight to perth, its always great to see the loyalty of us saints fans.
Don't confuse loyalty with having an abundance of money.
usually you post interesting posts. but that was just verbal sh!t!

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

St Fidelius wrote:
Hope it's not $1 over that $100,000 income figure or Mr Rudd wont give him $900 to buy a GPS :lol: :lol: :lol:

Shaggy

Enrico_Misso wrote:

There is no connection.

That is my beef.

We have been the bayside club for as long as I can remember.

Frankston maybe much further south than some would like but Banger is from Seaford, Buckets from Mt. Eliza. Supporters should feel some affinity and we are going where the growth areas are in the bayside.

We are not an inner city club and have not been since 65.

Enrico_Misso wrote:

There is no connection.

That is my beef.

I just dont get this thing about having no history or being a soul less place. Firstly as someone else said that is probably exactly what people would have said about Moorabbin in 1965 and secondly why does it actually matter where they train. I sometimes go to training and there could be 20 people there so no one is actually watchng training so why care where they train.

No games are to be played at this ground so why does it have to have history. Do you think they will train worse because there is no soul.
agreed

used to go to training all the time because I lived in stkilda east and elsternwick

now I live in the east and the trip is very very time consuming. Add this to different working times, times for training ect. and I barely get there these days. Seaford is just a different suburb IMO

The thing that will get me upset is if it goes over budget or is not state of the art!