Possible start time change fro the Geelong game

http://www.theage.com.au/news/rfnews/la ... 84920.html

Looks like a 1500ish start now if this goes ahead

Just goes to show that Ch 7 care more about the ratings than the game itself

There goes seeing the song if we win :roll:

casey scorp

"The AFL wants the match televised live so Channel Seven is pushing for a later start time so that the telecast runs straight into its evening news to boost ratings.

McLachlan said a decision was expected to be made this week. "We haven't made any decisions yet regarding that game but we are looking at what we might do, considering we were unable to move the game," he said.

"In the end, we're looking at the context of having the most amount of people see the game as we can, given it's almost certain to be a sellout."
The AFL want most people to be able to see the game. Ch 7 want a later time so that the match runs straight into its evening news to boost ratings."

I don’t believe that people will choose to not watch the match because it doesn’t run straight into the news.

There are two different objectives here:

• the AFL want to maximise viewing of the game
• Ch 7 wants to maximise viewing of the news

Why should the game be delayed so that more people watch Ch 7’s news than Ch 9 news?

casey scorp wrote:"The AFL wants the match televised live so Channel Seven is pushing for a later start time so that the telecast runs straight into its evening news to boost ratings.

McLachlan said a decision was expected to be made this week. "We haven't made any decisions yet regarding that game but we are looking at what we might do, considering we were unable to move the game," he said.

"In the end, we're looking at the context of having the most amount of people see the game as we can, given it's almost certain to be a sellout."
The AFL want most people to be able to see the game. Ch 7 want a later time so that the match runs straight into its evening news to boost ratings."

I don’t believe that people will choose to not watch the match because it doesn’t run straight into the news.

There are two different objectives here:

• the AFL want to maximise viewing of the game
• Ch 7 wants to maximise viewing of the news

Why should the game be delayed so that more people watch Ch 7’s news than Ch 9 news?
Because the AFL want to get more money for the next broadcast rights so that we continue to improve the best game in the world. Really makes no difference to us surely. If in the long run it helps all clubs I'm all for it.

LOL..so Ch 7 showing the game at 3 rather than 2 is gonna maximise the viewing audience?

I guess its no big deal when push comes to shove, but it shows how much leeway the AFL are prepared to give the broadcasters in the name of cash.

If this goes through, dont expect live Friday night games or compulsory telecasts of weekend Saints (and other Melb clubs) games in WA in the next rights agreement. If the AFL are happy to play fast and loose with game times for the sake of news ratings (and thats what it is) then they sure arent gonna play hard ball with stuff like that

saint66au wrote:LOL..so Ch 7 showing the game at 3 rather than 2 is gonna maximise the viewing audience?

I guess its no big deal when push comes to shove, but it shows how much leeway the AFL are prepared to give the broadcasters in the name of cash.

If this goes through, dont expect live Friday night games or compulsory telecasts of weekend Saints (and other Melb clubs) games in WA in the next rights agreement. If the AFL are happy to play fast and loose with game times for the sake of news ratings (and thats what it is) then they sure arent gonna play hard ball with stuff like that
I actually didnt say they would get more viewers but if channel 7 want it to go straight into the news who cares. Lets complain about things that matter. Does this matter at all apart from people getting upset that TV stations can change broadcast times. Well get real of course they will have a say if they pay a billion for the next TV rights. Other options of course is to get a hell of a lot less for broadcasting and let the AFL have complete control of when it is on TV with the 12 clubs that will remain if we dont get the big money.

saint66au wrote:LOL..so Ch 7 showing the game at 3 rather than 2 is gonna maximise the viewing audience?

I actually didnt say they would get more viewers but if channel 7 want it to go straight into the news who cares. Lets complain about things that matter. Does this matter at all apart from people getting upset that TV stations can change broadcast times. Well get real of course they will have a say if they pay a billion for the next TV rights. Other options of course is to get a hell of a lot less for broadcasting and let the AFL have complete control of when it is on TV with the 12 clubs that will remain if we dont get the big money.
Nah didnt say you did Plugger..was Gillon Mc-thingo's quote I was referring to.

As you say, lets worry about things that matter..and no the start time of this game is not a masive deal (unless youve already booked an 7.30 pm flight outta town that night of course lol) but I reckon that it illustrates where the AFL sit on things like this. Its seems we all should just be grateful for the broadcast cash every time the WA fans have to watch their team 7 hours later becuase two stations are showing the same game. I reckon that matters.

Surely theres room for compromise...fr instance..

Ch 7: Hey we want a say in what games are on Friday nights so we get good ratings

AFL: OK thats fine, but you have to show them live so kids dont have to stay up til midnight to watch them

Does that not sound reasonable?

Nah didnt say you did Plugger..was Gillon Mc-thingo's quote I was referring to.

As you say, lets worry about things that matter..and no the start time of this game is not a masive deal (unless youve already booked an 7.30 pm flight outta town that night of course lol) but I reckon that it illustrates where the AFL sit on things like this. Its seems we all should just be grateful for the broadcast cash every time the WA fans have to watch their team 7 hours later becuase two stations are showing the same game. I reckon that matters.

Surely theres room for compromise...fr instance..

Ch 7: Hey we want a say in what games are on Friday nights so we get good ratings

AFL: OK thats fine, but you have to show them live so kids dont have to stay up til midnight to watch them

Does that not sound reasonable?
I think you will find the AFL will try to do that next season but all they can do is try. They arent going to knock back 50 million or something like that to get games live. We also cant have it both ways and if a Friday night is live and its cold and wet and no one goes and the home club playing loses money we then cannot whinge about the money lost.

Go Sainters Go

Stuff Channel 7 I say.

Solution - Give the game to Channel 10, who's got the better coverage anyway with less interference from ads, by swapping the Saturday night game (Bulldogs/Hawthorn) with ours v Geelong.

Channel 10, as shown yesterday, are prepared to change their news time to fit in with a full footy coverage including summary of the game etc.

Once a "Saint" always a trueblooded "Saint"

lets not care that those that can't get into the game have to wait an hour for the game now because channel 7 asks.

You know what, let's go the whole hog and do what the ice hockey do. Stop the game every few miutes for the ads not the other way around. Why not have no crowd, pre tape it and channel 7 can put it on anytime they want.

Solar wrote:lets not care that those that can't get into the game have to wait an hour for the game now because channel 7 asks.

You know what, let's go the whole hog and do what the ice hockey do. Stop the game every few miutes for the ads not the other way around. Why not have no crowd, pre tape it and channel 7 can put it on anytime they want.
I suppose the other option for those who dont go to the game is to wait until the same time and see it an hour behind. Surely if you have to wait anyway it is better live. Yes I know there is radio but live football on TV has got to be better than live radio even if you wait one full hour. As you will probably live for 800,000 hours one hour surely will not kill you.

they would never have shown it at 2 anyway- it would have been delayed and they are thus trying to make it really LIVE !!!!!!

they are trying to get onto the coat tails of the Blockbuster without cahnging their programming- of those who may know JUST how difficult is it to drop a show and show another???

We can "SPIN" this either way but the fact remains; This arguement/discussion is taking place because there is/will be a massive interest in this game. Approximately 50% of that interest is in St Kilda FC. It is now up to the club to make the most of/cash in on this !!

therabbitinthehat

ffs, I was going to go to this game, but as I have to be at work at 4 I guess I am not.

Eastern wrote:We can "SPIN" this either way but the fact remains; This arguement/discussion is taking place because there is/will be a massive interest in this game. Approximately 50% of that interest is in St Kilda FC. It is now up to the club to make the most of/cash in on this !!
is there time to organise a "LIVE" site somewhere for the overflow?

Mr X from the West

Does this matter at all apart from people getting upset that TV stations can change broadcast times.
Well, yes, it matters to people in Perth, because if they push back the start of the game there will be no hope in Hades that we will get to see the game live or even delayed.

"Blow out the candle I will burn again tomorrow"

Some may think big deal if the game starts at 3 rather than 2, but for some of us that take young kids to the game an hour later does make a difference.

For this reason alone, I'd far prefer they stick to the schedule of a 2pm start!

saintspremiers wrote:Some may think big deal if the game starts at 3 rather than 2, but for some of us that take young kids to the game an hour later does make a difference.

For this reason alone, I'd far prefer they stick to the schedule of a 2pm start!

what about the interstaters that have already booked their flight home ffs......

The media runs footy these days. :evil:

Officially confirmed by AFL

3.10pm start

doppler effect

that's shite!

Im guessing that a 3:10 start means a 6:00 finish? bugger. I have to be at the airport no later than 6:55 due to Tiger airways strict check in policy. I will now probably have to leave the match before the final siren.

Thanks Andy D.

doppler effect wrote:that's shite!

Im guessing that a 3:10 start means a 6:00 finish? bugger. I have to be at the airport no later than 6:55 due to Tiger airways strict check in policy. I will now probably have to leave the match before the final siren.

Thanks Andy D.
Probably 5.45-5.50 unless the quarters go unusually long for an injury or something.
I reckon you could catch the end if you stand at the back and wait for the siren,then do a runner and get a taxi outside southern cross station.Should be heaps there waiting

jonesy wrote:
doppler effect wrote:that's shite!

Thanks Andy D.
Probably 5.45-5.50 unless the quarters go unusually long for an injury or something.
I reckon you could catch the end if you stand at the back and wait for the siren,then do a runner and get a taxi outside southern cross station.Should be heaps there waiting
There is a Skybus at 6.00pm which takes 20 minutes or one at 6.10pm or 6.20pm which will both still get you there in time if you like cutting things fine. A lot cheaper than a taxi and right at SC.

doppler effect

Thanks for the info guys.

Hopefully i'll be able to watch the whole game and make to the airport in time. I'm just going to have to do a piss bolt straight after.

and hence why is a terrible decision

totally pandering to a crap TV station who don't give a flying .... about the football public!!!

Game of the season and there wont even be the team singing the song :roll: channel 10 would not let it happen like this!!

Solar wrote:and hence why is a terrible decision

totally pandering to a crap TV station who don't give a flying .... about the football public!!!

Game of the season and there wont even be the team singing the song :roll: channel 10 would not let it happen like this!!
I am not sure if you realise but if it wasnt live you wouldnt hear the song anyway. Great decision for the thousands who cannot get in that it is now live.