On The Couch - digusted

Cirra

On The Couch - digusted

Is anyone else watching this cr@p?

Gerald Healy thinks the Hawks will beat us this week because of our poor form and injuries...

WTF??

At least Mike Shehan had the balls to look at him like he was smoking something.
Mike asked him, "So you think the team that's won 18 will be beaten easily by the team that's won 8??"
Gerald had nothing...

That's the second time tonight I've heard about our "injuries".

The Ten news report spoke about rthe"Sore Saints". Again, what am I missing?

Only King is suspect fot the weekend, no??

"When we get back on November 5 and walk through that door, we're getting on a bus together and we're going down the road to a premiership. You're either on the bus or you get run over," Roo at the B&F 2007

In 2012, I'm still on the bus.

:lol: And Gerard's comment about the Swans being robbed by the Saints.

Gotta love it, I usually like Gerard but when his Swannies are involved.... :evil:

Winmar

Yeah we've got more players to come back than are in danger of missing this week.

for the 4,000,000,000th time......

A potential upset of the Saints is news....and the media will find any angle they can to exploit it!

Im getting really tired of people outraged because someone in the media isnt in religious awe of us..who freaking cares..its an opinion..you know, what they are paid for??

Would you rather we were 15th and they patronise us like a 5 y/o child when we DO win and accuse us of tanking the rest of the time

So Healy tipped us to lose??? Whats the big drama??

RL said himself on 3AW tonight that the Saints were quite sore from the weekend's game...

Sounds like Joey is a fair chance to miss and MG will definitely play....

Threw a straight bat at the Ball injury, but he didn't convince me he's OK personally...this worries me.....

St Michele

I am starting to think nothing will ever gain the team the credit they deserve. All the football experts ( and I lose the term very loosely) seem to undermine every win we have....

Won't be long I hope when they have to admit what we all know we are the real deal!!!

Michele

Michele
Goals are dreams with deadlines!!
Cirra

saint66au wrote:for the 4,000,000,000th time......

A potential upset of the Saints is news....and the media will find any angle they can to exploit it!

Im getting really tired of people outraged because someone in the media isnt in religious awe of us..who freaking cares..its an opinion..you know, what they are paid for??

Would you rather we were 15th and they patronise us like a 5 y/o child when we DO win and accuse us of tanking the rest of the time

My point is....what injuries are they talking about??

I didn't say anything about them not being in awe of us.

I agree about the bias. I don't care what the commentators say as it's better for footy usually if the underdog win.
However I thought the "Oh no..." by Lynch before Joey kicking the point was a bit poor.

But, as I said - what injuries??

Even in the last segment when they were talking about the Saints, they could not name any injuries. This isn't bias, it's bullsh@t.

"When we get back on November 5 and walk through that door, we're getting on a bus together and we're going down the road to a premiership. You're either on the bus or you get run over," Roo at the B&F 2007

In 2012, I'm still on the bus.

Meh.

Just the usual flog journo's trying to beat up an angle and create something to talk about this week.

Been happening for the past four months.

Cirra wrote:
saint66au wrote:for the 4,000,000,000th time......

My point is....what injuries are they talking about??

I didn't say anything about them not being in awe of us.

I agree about the bias. I don't care what the commentators say as it's better for footy usually if the underdog win.
However I thought the "Oh no..." by Lynch before Joey kicking the point was a bit poor.

But, as I said - what injuries??

Even in the last segment when they were talking about the Saints, they could not name any injuries. This isn't bias, it's bullsh@t.
Injuries this week may be King, Joey, Gilbert, Ball, Goose and Miles. I would say that is a few injuries. Anyway dont take it personally as saint66 says do you want to be the side everyone feels sorry for. Well i certainly dont. I want to be admired but also the side everyone including the media wants beaten.
Last edited by plugger66 on Mon 03 Aug 2009 10:15pm, edited 1 time in total.

BakesFan

At least they acknowledged The Saints....

On "One week at a time" OneHD... The Saints didn't get a mention apart from Kingy's shoulder.

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)
Sunday Red

I don't understand why this bothers people.

Beekay

St Michele wrote:I am starting to think nothing will ever gain the team the credit they deserve. All the football experts ( and I lose the term very loosely)
that's one of the funniest things i have ever read. :lol: 8-)

TassieJones

BakesFan wrote:At least they acknowledged The Saints....

On "One week at a time" OneHD... The Saints didn't get a mention apart from Kingy's shoulder.
i thought the stuff from leon cameron when we played the Dogs was pretty good.

told minson to crash the packs up forward and make gilbert think twice - fail
tried cooney and ward on montagna - fail
sat cross behind the ball to have an influence - fail
praised eagleton - semi fail
etc.

was pretty good at recognising the areas we were killing them in though. all in all pretty interesting viewing.

edit: btw on the OP, i think they are a bigger chance than their ladder position suggests, particularly if we don't get some of our better players back
Last edited by TassieJones on Mon 03 Aug 2009 10:23pm, edited 1 time in total.

backit

I have to agree with Cirra, the way Healy spoke it was not about the respect that we should have for where we are at being 18 zip, this is what I find continually annoying and frustrating. Mike Sheanan actually put him in his place.

Don't forget for many years we have been the team trying to beat those who were in the position we now find ourselves, I never begrudged a successful team no matter who they were (yes even those we love to normally despise)

worst team ever to win 18 games in a row in the one season.

amused me - they didn't even mention Sam Gilbert

or Ross T dislocating his finger :wink:

and why would Zac be doubtful?

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/ ... 42,00.html
http://news.realfooty.com.au/breaking-n ... -e74z.html
Last edited by saintbrat on Mon 03 Aug 2009 10:42pm, edited 1 time in total.

Following on from OTC, Open Mike is supposed to be Richo-man, but here we have the reply of the Visy ambassador...even though the Richo interview was mentioned on OTC?

Iceman234 wrote:Following on from OTC, Open Mike is supposed to be Richo-man, but here we have the reply of the Visy ambassador...even though the Richo interview was mentioned on OTC?
noticed that- they have been advertising richo for a week or more

Fox producers asleep today...

Iceman234 wrote:Following on from OTC, Open Mike is supposed to be Richo-man, but here we have the reply of the Visy ambassador...even though the Richo interview was mentioned on OTC?
noticed that- they have been advertising richo for a week or more

Fox producers asleep today...
Disappointed, because I like Richo.

TassieJones wrote:
BakesFan wrote:At least they acknowledged The Saints....

i thought the stuff from leon cameron when we played the Dogs was pretty good.

told minson to crash the packs up forward and make gilbert think twice - fail
tried cooney and ward on montagna - fail
sat cross behind the ball to have an influence - fail
praised eagleton - semi fail
etc.

was pretty good at recognising the areas we were killing them in though. all in all pretty interesting viewing.

edit: btw on the OP, i think they are a bigger chance than their ladder position suggests, particularly if we don't get some of our better players back
Did Minson really fail? He was told to stick a knee into Gilbo's back. Did Gilbo play this week.

plugger66 wrote:Injuries this week may be King, Joey, Gilbert, Ball, Goose and Miles. I would say that is a few injuries.
Let's get real plugger66. Goose and Miles haven't plated all year and don't look like getting a game.
Ball is on the outer, Gilbert and Joey will be fine and King has done this before and still managed to play well.

I'd say we're looking fine.

See who does what at training tomorrow.

What they don't take into account is mentality of the Hawks, which would be fairly fragile at this point I reckon.
They would have had their hearts ripped out by Geelong, and their souls by the lost to Pt Adelaide.
We hit them early and they will fold like a deck of cards.

I was looking forward to watching the Richo interview....

I am unsure of the Hawks at the present time, was matching it up to Geelong at the present moment really as indicitive as they (and Gerard) thought it was? I think people are still measuring teams against Geelong, but on current form, perhaps this lead the Hawks into a false sense of security against Port?

As far as the media's perception of us, I do not let it worry me. We are not behaving arrogantly, so we do not deserve a spanking or a serve of humble pie....

TassieJones

Bernard Shakey wrote: Did Minson really fail? He was told to stick a knee into Gilbo's back. Did Gilbo play this week.
failed to make Gilbo think twice, failed to have any impact up forward and failed to do anything to prevent his team getting thrashed.

so yeh I would say he failed to do what Cameron asked him

can't see a problem with healy's comments to be honest.

we just survived sydney, have a couple of injuries to key players (king, gilbert, montagna, ball) and now face the reigning premiers away at a ground where we haven't always done well.

while the hawks have stunk in general this season they have some stars who can really hurt you if they are on.

i think we can win, but it will be a test - make no mistake.