kosi looked a broken man during the team song

was really sad to see.

the bloke is completely out of his game mentally. instead people here saying that his career is over and that he is useless how about we get behind the big bloke? he is clearly shattered with his current form.

people will argue that he is not as good as he should be and people will argue as to how much better he could be but we all agree he is not on his game at the moment and is better than his current form so lets get behind him and show him some love.

Come on Kosi - I for one love your clusmy self!

Go the kos man

Re: kosi looked a broken man during the team song

i love kosi, but it is clear to me his future is in the ruck rather than as a key forward.

i feel especially bad about this as i was one of the people who pushed for him to go forward full time in the first place.

it worked okay last season with riewoldt drawing the best and second best defender and kosi getting the dregs, but now he is ineffective and his confidence is shot.

though not a tap out king, around the ground he has much to offer as a follower and would kick more goals drifting forward.

i think he needs a spell at sandy to regain touch ... in the ruck ... with a view to slotting him back in depending on the form/fitness of gardy and mcevoy. could be a wildcard for us later in the season.

The problem is that our structure needs him till roo comes back. We could play him in the ruck more but then one of maccaor gards would need to play more forward and I'm not convinced on that. Spell him and play a 2 gamer as the main key forward?

I or one will be totally behind the big fella and needs to go back to basics. Gut run to as many contests as possible, work hard with roo on timing his run and just get involved. Agree that it's all mental right now

Solar wrote:Spell him and play a 2 gamer as the main key forward?
nah, i still think goddard at ff.

but big tommy walsh might not be as far away as many think going on the sandringham reports from yesterday.

Solar wrote:Spell him and play a 2 gamer as the main key forward?
nah, i still think goddard at ff.

but big tommy walsh might not be as far away as many think going on the sandringham reports from yesterday.
If stanley was a more experienced player then I would agree, nd BJ showed what happens when you allow him to play onball (resting forward). Walsh looks like he needs at least a couple more weeks as a forward (there were several times where he should have lead into different areas but can't believe he is so close after so little games)....

Was he singing it one phrase behind everyone else?
Did he drop his water bottle?

Banger724

He's out of form but needed for structure so we need to stick with him... needs to forget about being the lead up man (stanley fulfilling this ok at present) and simply be stay at home in the square, as he is with roo in the side.

At very least we're scoring from the crumbs. Feel positive he'll come good and have a big game soon.

In the past few years (myself included) have called for the trading/delisting of:

Dal santo (he'll never be any good soft front runner?)
Lenny Hayes (when coming back from injury remember the nay sayers? we should trade him for what we can)
montagna (what a waste of a pick should try and get a round 3er for him)
blake (will never be anything at st kilda)
Milne (soft runner, now apparently the highest scoring FP in the competition over 100 games?)
CJ (that was my big call, how wrong was I?)
fisher (4th of 5th tall only)
dawson (note how our defence shored up when he was back out there?)
Goddard (why did we pick this raging hack?)
etc etc etc

Now i also wonder how much of the desire to leave st kilda has had to play with the constant abuse some players get on this and other forums.

some players who wanted to leave are certainly having solid careers else where despite being told here and in he press that they are finished, done for, gone, hacks, blah blah blah blah.

Kosi needs time and in trust we ross :D

I just watched and the small amount of song I saw he looked fine- tired but singing with gusto?

did you get a longer version McGusto?

does anyone think he might have an eye sight problem...he is just not judging the flight of the ball.......
Last edited by stinger on Sun 30 May 2010 7:29pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dan Warna wrote:In the past few years (myself included) have called for the trading/delisting of:

Lenny Hayes (when coming back from injury remember the nay sayers? we should trade him for what we can)
Milne (soft runner, now apparently the highest scoring FP in the competition over 100 games?)
etc etc etc

Now i also wonder how much of the desire to leave st kilda has had to play with the constant abuse some players get on this and other forums.

some players who wanted to leave are certainly having solid careers else where despite being told here and in he press that they are finished, done for, gone, hacks, blah blah blah blah.

nice to see you posting again in here dan......and sensible posts too.....

stinger wrote:does anyone think he might have an eye sight problem...he is just not judging the flight of the ball.......
i've said in various threads that i don't think he is watching the ball. he drops far too many sitters for this not to be a factor.

this is a common problem for batsmen in cricket. they are worried about their backlift or their footwork or some other technical problem and forget the most important thing of all.

perhaps he is suffering the same problem in footballing terms.

watch the damn ball, kosi

saintbrat wrote:I just watched and the small amount of song I saw he looked fine- tired but singing with gusto?
at the final siren he was on the wing and leant straight forward, hands onto knees and stood motionless. we laughed because about five players on the wing from both sides did exactly the same thing, but kosi held it for longest, maybe forty-five seconds.

it suggested to me that he was running hard and was absolutely rooted. maybe that carried through to the song.

StNoodles

he's a brilliant bloke, i love him

def down on confidence but doesn't stop trying

has been frustrating to watch, really hope he turns it around

Dan Warna wrote:In the past few years (myself included) have called for the trading/delisting of:

etc etc etc

+1 EXCELLENT POST!

Every week there is a new scapegoat. Unfortunately for Kosi, Raph is performing very well, so he has to wear the brunt of it. It is OK Kosi, I am sure they will find someone else to pick on next week....... :P

saintbrat wrote:I just watched and the small amount of song I saw he looked fine- tired but singing with gusto?
at the final siren he was on the wing and leant straight forward, hands onto knees and stood motionless. we laughed because about five players on the wing from both sides did exactly the same thing, but kosi held it for longest, maybe forty-five seconds.

it suggested to me that he was running hard and was absolutely rooted. maybe that carried through to the song.
most of the players around the ground were like that for a few seconds- was amazing to see- combined with schnieds hurling.. there was a lot of gut running going on..

and Kos was presenting heaps without the team' seeing ' him

rexy

Fortius quo fidelius

Kosi will be fine, getting to the right spots, making the right contests, putting defensive pressure on in the zone, going into the ruck and competing strongly when asked and floating back to sure up defence at the end of quarters.

Clunking a few and kicking well in the same week is only around the corner IMO.

Kosi 9 posessions 1 mark
Stanley 8 posessions 1 mark

Maybe this year?

Fact:

1 Kosi is an opersiton coaches worst nightmare when he get up and firing
2 Coaches know even though it doesnt happen often they always have to be mineful of his impact
3 Kosi will draw the best defender every week while Roo is out
4 form is fleeting just ask fev last night his game looked like it was going to be a shocker but for a few bounces falling his way at critical moments was one of the game breakers

kosi will be fine !!!

vergs

I think Kosi is worth persevering with. He's not clunking the strong marks like we know he can but from what I've seen I believe he is working his arse off. He is running hard to create a contest and he is applying some big tackles in the forward 50. Kosi more than anyone in the side is a confidence player and although he is severely lacking in this department at the moment, it may only take a handful of strong marks and goals for him to improve his ability to effect the scoreboard consistently.

rexy

Cant beleive that many on here would drop Kosi and base the forward line around Stanley. I understand that people are disappointed and that Kosi is not delivering everything we want, I to would like to see more from him too but, look at the facts.

Stanley was one of only 2 guys to get less of the footy than Kosi on the weekend, he has played 2 senior games, he is 19 and very very lightly built. Kosi is a veteran forward who is heavy and strong, can play in the ruck and is not lost drifting back late in quarters to block up space etc. He also knows that whilst he is not in great form, he is capable of great things at this level, he has done them before.

Does anyone honestly think that Stanley is more likely to have a break out game this week than Kosi is to break out of his slumber and impose himself on a game?

The forward line will continue to work around the 2 of them, it draws defensive numbers to 2 targets and has freed up smalls and mids to be one on one or get space to score.

Eddy might get dropped for Lynch which I think would improve forward structure even more.

Maybe this year?

rexy wrote: Does anyone honestly think that Stanley is more likely to have a break out game this week than Kosi is to break out of his slumber and impose himself on a game?
yes

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
rexy

saintdooley wrote:
rexy wrote: Does anyone honestly think that Stanley is more likely to have a break out game this week than Kosi is to break out of his slumber and impose himself on a game?
yes
You are kidding your self then, who would you rather have on your list, Natinui, Watts, Hurley or Stanley?

1 of them is a saint and the other 3 are top 5 draft picks who play as KP players, not one of them has dominated a game of football or carried the load for the forward line in a match yet.

Get a grip people.

Great to see stanley out there but Kosi is the guy who is most likely to come good in Roos absence.

Maybe this year?

Let's remember that Kosi is getting the best defender every week, that honour usually goes to Roo.
Actually thought Kosi had turned the corner a bit against Essendon, took some towering marks and kicked a few goals, unfortunately it's dried up again.
He needs a game where he feels he contributed, all the players are giving him heaps of support as I am sure the coach.
Let's hope he can get involved against Richmond on Friday night.
But, I bet he's looking forward to the return of Roo as it will take the heat off him a bit and give him a bit more freedom to perform.

Leo.J

Is Kosi carrying an injury?

His shoulder has been heavily strapped since the 1st quarter of the 1st round of the NAB Cup.

Could he have some off field stuff going on? Family?

Who knows, his confidence is way down, the reasons behind this? who knows again...

While we are winning, I can't see him getting dropped.