500 000 bet

wasaintsfan

500 000 bet

so do you guys think they put it on because

A. believes we will win the premiership

B. we've got the best odds atm with plenty of upside to go into the finals

C. believes it will boost the players and change their mindset to make them contenders

D. on drugs

E. other, please explain

Beej

Re: 500 000 bet

wasaintsfan wrote:so do you guys think they put it on because

A. believes we will win the premiership

B. we've got the best odds atm with plenty of upside to go into the finals

C. believes it will boost the players and change their mindset to make them contenders

D. on drugs

E. other, please explain
IMO some minted Geelong supporter has put so much money on the Cats winning the flag that he's now decided he should start hedging his bets.

Or two multi-millionaire mates were drunk one night and one of them made a bet that he regretted the next day ie "I bet you $2mill the Saints won't win the flag this year!" and is now not only covering himself, but ensuring a profit either way.

D

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

or that his a multi millionaire or won the lottery and is having fun so he can win a small amount for himself

Milan Faletic

Maybe it's a movie star who is a prominent supporter. Bit of an incentive for the boys?? Was at the club this week. Word is that the punter opened his account in April this year.

#1GILL

Milan Faletic wrote:Maybe it's a movie star who is a prominent supporter. Bit of an incentive for the boys?? Was at the club this week. Word is that the punter opened his account in April this year.
Yes, and this is the only bet made by this particular punter.

Sportsbet have already laid it off and I'm sure the punter has made other bets, not necessarily with Sportsbet.

laid it off?

matrix wrote:laid it off?
They owe 3 million if Saints win so they actually back the Saints with other bookies to limit the damage. That is called laying off.

so the guy who made the bet spreads it over more than one bookie?
or the bookies spread it?

never heard the expression b4

matrix wrote:so the guy who made the bet spreads it over more than one bookie?
or the bookies spread it?

never heard the expression b4
No the bookies bet with other bookies so they limit what they lose. It isnt done all the time. It deoends if the Saints win is a good or bad result for them. Oweing 3 million if they lose suggests a bad result.

ta

i reckon its eric 8-)

I put $500 on them at 5.5 to 1 with bet-star , the day before the Geelong match, becuase I thought we would beet Geelong and keep winning ...that having been said
(1) I felt a lot better (confident) when the mystery punter puts that sort fo money on, I was strting to woory
(2) I hope I didn't put too many zeros on my bet !!! (and I don't have that kind of money to punt)
(3) I will lay off my $500 bet (providing we win a preliminery) to recoup my $500 outlay .. on the grand final apponent. so I still clear $2,250 if we win

supersaints wrote:I put $500 on them at 5.5 to 1 with bet-star , the day before the Geelong match, becuase I thought we would beet Geelong and keep winning ...that having been said
(1) I felt a lot better (confident) when the mystery punter puts that sort fo money on, I was strting to woory
(2) I hope I didn't put too many zeros on my bet !!! (and I don't have that kind of money to punt)
(3) I will lay off my $500 bet (providing we win a preliminery) to recoup my $500 outlay .. on the grand final apponent. so I still clear $2,250 if we win
Im not sure you can say you will still win $2250 if we win. If we played a side that was $1.20 you would have to bet $2500 to get your $500 back.

35...LEGEND

supersaints wrote:I put $500 on them at 5.5 to 1 with bet-star , the day before the Geelong match, becuase I thought we would beet Geelong and keep winning ...that having been said
Im not sure you can say you will still win $2250 if we win. If we played a side that was $1.20 you would have to bet $2500 to get your $500 back.

1.20 in a granny :shock: ................some team is gonna hit some serious form soon.

#1GILL

35...LEGEND wrote:

1.20 in a granny :shock: ................some team is gonna hit some serious form soon.
Either that, or in the week leading up to the Grand Final our team bus crashes, and non of our first 22 can play.

When footy betting with NT bookies you get your money back as well as the odds, (just like bookies used to in Victoria for the races). . If I outlayed the $2500 on our opponent at $1.20 I would get back $5,500 should we lose...........
I expect the Saints to be favourite , I would expect around the even money ... or maybe $1.85 for whoever we play, with even money my money back that means an outlay of only $500 to recoup my $500 bet.. should the worst happen....

supersaints wrote:
When footy betting with NT bookies you get your money back as well as the odds, (just like bookies used to in Victoria for the races). . If I outlayed the $2500 on our opponent at $1.20 I would get back $5,500 should we lose...........
I expect the Saints to be favourite , I would expect around the even money ... or maybe $1.85 for whoever we play, with even money my money back that means an outlay of only $500 to recoup my $500 bet.. should the worst happen....
What are you talking about. If you bet on anything that is $1.20 and you bet $2500 you would get back $3000. I wish I knew a bookie like the one you are talking about. There is no such thing.

If we were playing the pies right at the moment they would be about $1.60 and we would be $2.10 so you would need to put $950 on them to get your money back. The point I was actually making is it is impossible to say what you will yet. Hopefully for all of us you do win.

SaintTom

Practical application of this bookie that gives what you've bet back on top of your winnings.

Say both teams, for arguments sake, are paying $1.50.

You put $1,000 on both teams, $2,000 in total. If either team wins, you get $1,500 back, plus the $1,000 you bet, totalling $2,500.

So you've only bet $2,000. Yet you're a certainty to profit $500. These betting agencies don't exist, and if they did, they wouldn't ever make profit.

It is for this reason you'll notice that there is NEVER a game where both teams are paying over $2. Plugger is correct.

SaintTom wrote:Plugger is correct.
You were making sense right up till then.... :wink:

emmdee

i put $500 on Saints for the flag/hodge brownlow......at 25/1 abt 4 weeks ago ...........need dane swan to fall over i think

Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy

emmdee wrote:i put $500 on Saints for the flag/hodge brownlow......at 25/1 abt 4 weeks ago ...........need dane swan to fall over i think
He won't win. The tatts make him look like too much of a bogan. He's not graceful enough to win the Brownlow

Moccha wrote:
emmdee wrote:i put $500 on Saints for the flag/hodge brownlow......at 25/1 abt 4 weeks ago ...........need dane swan to fall over i think
He won't win. The tatts make him look like too much of a bogan. He's not graceful enough to win the Brownlow
Swan simply doesn't poll well.

And that's good.

I think he bites arse.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

I have a confession to make. I'm the one who's made the bet but please keep it to yourselves because I don't want the wife to find out that I've remortgaged the house.

Moccha wrote:I have a confession to make. I'm the one who's made the bet but please keep it to yourselves because I don't want the wife to find out that I've remortgaged the house.
that's some house.........