Preliminary final scheduling: "Not happy, Jan"

Kilda

Preliminary final scheduling: "Not happy, Jan"

Is it just me or has it struck people as odd that our match will be played on Saturday night? Since there have been 2 preliminary finals, I thought one was on Friday night and the other on Saturday afternoon. This was always the case until last year's Collingwood -Geelong clash which was held on Saturday night.

Can I be cycnical and claim it is all about the AFL maximising a national TV audience at the expense of fairness in both sides' time preparation for the Grand Final?

Haven't the majority of them been saturday nights this decade? The last 4-5 years anyway

Kilda

In 2008, St Kilda played Hawthorn on Saturday afternoon.
In 2007, Kangaroos versus Port Adelaide on Saturday afternoon
In 1997, Bulldogs versus Adelaide on Saturday afternoon

Winmar

2008 was a night game, when the Hawks caned us.

works out well for me

might hit the markets for a gander in the morning then cruise down to the corner around 4.30/5 for a feed this time.

Kilda

In 2006, Adelaide v West Coast on Saturday afternoon
In 2005, West Coast versus Adelaide on Saturday afternoon

Kilda

O yes, you're right about 2008...I stand corrected.

TV ratings rule when games are played.

Only exception is the GF where TV wants it at night, but AFL has not yet relented.

Cirra

Kilda wrote:In 2006, Adelaide v West Coast on Saturday afternoon
They were played in the day because the teams were from interstate.
If we were playing the Swans we would be playing during the day too.

Doesn't worry me....when was the last time we lost on a Saturday Night?? 2003 I think.

"When we get back on November 5 and walk through that door, we're getting on a bus together and we're going down the road to a premiership. You're either on the bus or you get run over," Roo at the B&F 2007

In 2012, I'm still on the bus.

Go to Bunnings buy a bag of cement and harden the f*** up

Not even the slightest of problems.

If this bothers us, we don't deserve to win the flag - or even make the GF.

mick13

Cirra wrote:

Doesn't worry me....when was the last time we lost on a Saturday Night?? 2003 I think.
We haven't lost at the Telstra Dome on a Saturday night since 2003.

Pies v Cats was played on the Saturday night last year. It's sort of a reward for finishing on top.

Now kinda wishing we were playing Sydney then I may have been able to go :(

bozza1980

Cirra wrote:
This.

I don't think any of us were complaining when we played our prelim on Friday night last year while Geelong and Collingwood slugged it out on the Saturday night.

At the end of the day if Collingwood win, they'll have a day advantage over us after finishing higher than us, if Geelong win they'll have 1 days break after playing 1 game more than us this month.

Neither is disadvantageous to us.

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.

matrix wrote:works out well for me

might hit the markets for a gander in the morning then cruise down to the corner around 4.30/5 for a feed this time.
Sounds like a plan..

I reckon we might hit the corner around 4.30...have a coupla and a meal before the game.

bigred wrote:
matrix wrote:works out well for me

Sounds like a plan..

I reckon we might hit the corner around 4.30...have a coupla and a meal before the game.
done
see ya there
pwoit...get planning

'm not keen on night games at the "G".....if it's raining i might watch it at home......there's just not enough cement available....... :lol: :lol:

as long as we're tehre don't really care when or where

But arvo would have been convenient

but the day and the game will be a joy because the Saints are in it.. :)

it is only a saturDAY game if there is an interstate team playing.
this allows the team to fly home saturday NIGHT and have the best preperation for the GF they can get (if they win), as im sure you know neither of the dogs or us are interstate, so it will be a night game. if Sydney ended up winning it would of been a day game.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

Yeah, would have preferred the afternoon. But I'm just stoked we made qualified for a Prelim in the first round of the finals.

The last two teams to win a flag played the Saturday night Prelim. Just saying...

think its to accomodate a maximum crowd. maybe a lot of people would be a saturday arvo grand finals?

Maxstar22

They could play it at 3am on Mars for all I care.

As long as we WIN!!!!

PS - Matrix, BigRed, Pwoit and Co. See you at 4.30pm 8-)

Re: Preliminary final scheduling: "Not happy, Jan"

Kilda wrote:Can I be cycnical and claim it is all about the AFL maximising a national TV audience at the expense of fairness in both sides' time preparation for the Grand Final?
I think you are right to be cynical about the AFL's motives.

So often the dollar rules, even at the expense of providing a level playing field for all clubs.

The draw is hopelessly compromised and weighted in favour of certain clubs.

Collingwood is a case in point.

They haven't played away from the MCG since July 9. That is nine matches and more than two months.

Meanwhile, Fremantle, having earned a finals spot, turns up for its semi-final against Geelong having not seen the MCG once this season. No wonder those kids were overawed and blown out of the water by quarter time.

It doesn't say a lot for the competition's intergity. A level playing field ... the same rules for all clubs and all players ... is not a lot to ask. The AFL doesn't deliver it.

Maxstar22 wrote:They could play it at 3am on Mars for all I care.

As long as we WIN!!!!

PS - Matrix, BigRed, Pwoit and Co. See you at 4.30pm 8-)
Good !!

You lot will have 1/2 Hour to roll out the Red Carpet for my arrival around 5.00 :wink: !!

HSVKing

Kilda wrote:In 2008, St Kilda played Hawthorn on Saturday afternoon.
Which game were you at?

The game was most definately a night match.

They walk amongst us...

Re: Preliminary final scheduling: "Not happy, Jan"

bigcarl wrote:It doesn't say a lot for the competition's intergity. A level playing field ... the same rules for all clubs and all players ... is not a lot to ask. The AFL doesn't deliver it.
how could they possibly give fremantle the same number of games at the mcg every year as a melbourne team? logistically impossible.

there are always going to be teams who have their home ground at the grand final venue, unless we play it at homebush in the vein of wembley or the millennium stadium in the uk.