Channel 10 Commentators

Again, and as per usual, they were absolutely appalling.

Robert Walls virtually calling Sam Fisher a squib because he dropped a mark (of a wet ball, which he recovered and then kicked it to Milne for our first goal :roll:).

A minute later he called Fisher lazy, and in the second quarter he was labelling the Saitns as dumb footballers.

Dim Lane was coming every time Footscray went near the ball and then tried to talk up a suspension for Goddard because of an accidental high contact in the third quarter. Even though you could hear the umpy saying "it was accidental but high" Dim was adamant he should go, but would get off because it was a GF coming up.

Luke Darcy :roll:

Went a bit quite in qtr 3 and had to grudgingly give the Saints some credit for the 7 goals to 1 quarter, but then tried to say it was all Riewoldt.

Really pathetic in the first half and barracked for the Dogs.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Thought it was just a dumb move by Ten to get Darcy, so obviously emotionally involved (Dogs by 2) to call the game. Should of just given him the mic and the licence to handle all the after game Brad Johnson related stuff, not the calling of the game.

Agree mate but who cares...winners are grinners and guess who is playing in the GF :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

sRaf

They had a go at Kosi like a dozen times. I'm not one to normally dislike commentating (don't really pay much attention to it) but last night's blatant attack on Kosi went a bit overboard.

Just call the game and keep your side gags to yourself (unless your name starts with a Dennis and ends with a Cometti of course).

At least Luke Darcy had an excuse.

Tim Lane is embarassingly biased against the Saints.

And Walls is just a twit: international grand master of random word generation.

meher baba wrote:And Walls is just a twit: international grand master of random word generation.
During the game he talked a bit about "referred pressure".

When Johnson tried to kick the ball off the ground and didn't see Dawson's body inbetween his boot and the ball, Lane and Darcy couldn't work out how that could be kicking in danger.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

What really annoyed me was the constant referrals to 'Bulldogs footy'!!

Saw a lot of that in third didn't we?

Elvis

Walls is a serial grim reaper. 90% of his remarks always centre on negatives. It is a genuine blight on the game and takes away from the ability to just enjoy the game as a spectacle.

.. ..especially hard for those of us that don't live in Melbourne and rely on tv. I turned the sound down and listened to Gilly and the boys on NIRS, best commentary going around.

An increasing trend for Walls to make a comments up from nothing (Fisher's 'dropped' mark, Kosi's 'low confídence', Dal's severed leg etc) show his days are over. You would have thought we were twenty goals down in the first half.

What's with Lane's pronunciation of 'dour'? I always thought it was pronounced 'dower'. Not 'dooer'.

Even if he's right he sounded like an idiot.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Watching for a second time now. Seem fine to me.

plugger66 wrote:Watching for a second time now. Seem fine to me.
I didn't think Darcy was anywhere near as bad as he has been.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Thinline wrote:
I thought he was fine. he played for the WB for 15 years. He is going to have a little bias even if he tries not to. Anyway we have channel 7 to complain about next week.

Absolute claptrap as usual from you plugger!

Where's the blatant bias/barracking for the Saints????

There's none of it.
Instead we have to put up with Luke (bulldog) Darcy and Look at how clever I am at using big words/terms Tim Lane pumping up the bulldogs.

We won ffs - where's the equivalent 'orgasmic gushing' for us that was oh so evident in the call of the Filth/Geelong game?

One solace - at least we didn't have to put up with Rohan (bulldog) Smith telling us repeatedly that Dale Morris has a great record on Roo adn always beats him!

Can you imagine these 2 flogs will probably be joined by Brad Johnson in the media next year.

BTW, just enjoy the unashamed biased joy for our beloved Saints this week. :)

saintnick12

Thinline wrote:
I thought he was fine. he played for the WB for 15 years. He is going to have a little bias even if he tries not to. Anyway we have channel 7 to complain about next week.
Thought Darcy was ok considering. No more biased than Frawley and Aussie Jones are towards us on the radio.
Darcy certainly gave a lot of credit, especially to Nick.

I have only watched the replay once so far, but found both Lane and Walls to be overy negative. They tend to be more positive on 7

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.

Thinline wrote:
Understand that. But biased commentary is unnecessary, highly irritating and a distraction from the game.

By the same token, Wall's verbal dry rooting of Ross Lyon also grates.

Professional broadcasters should never show their colours during a call.

Ch 7's a different beast. The bias may not show through, but (should I not actually go to the game) I will have to tolerate the sickly syrupy gushy effeminate McAvaney. But that's just a question of my personal taste. Bias doesn't come into it. That's a plus I guess.

Walls is always negative, no matter what game I watch or what team. He always finds a player who is struggling or down on confidence and then highlights all their mistakes. Its not just us he does it for everyone.

derby Street

My wife reckons they should simply pick the best commentators :roll: :roll:
Not sure if that would mean we would have any. That aside they should make a serious effort to get the bias out of it (Darcy) - Tom Harley can do it why can't he? I accept he played for the Dogs for 35 years but still ???????

Didn't really have a prob with them ,even Darcy. I missed the first qtr so might've missed the neg comments.

What did annoy me was Rocket after the game. Usually have a lot of time for him but he has been a bit annoying this year.
He said that the 24 point margin was deceptive and that it was only a '2 or 3 goal game'!!???

I know he was sticking up for his players - and they did have a go - but he conveniently forgot about the 7 goal lead we had before we took off FIVE players and started cruising!!

Off topic, but re Stevie above...If Eade didn't have Cooney and Higgins out, I wonder whether he'd be coaching the Dogs next year... Reckon those injuries gave him his last chance...

Three prelims for two meek exits and one near miss...hmmm. He'd be line ball I reckon.

Lane and Walls are from an era when the Saints knew there place. A lot of old guys have the same attitude- poorly run club with a heap of unprofessional party boys. Can't come to terms with them climbing above their establishment clubs who have a natural supremacy.

The bit on Kosi where they were laughing at him calling him captain calamity. f*** off and look at how you handled Brenadan Fevola you piss weak c$#@.

Thinline wrote:Off topic, but re Stevie above...If Eade didn't have Cooney and Higgins out, I wonder whether he'd be coaching the Dogs next year... Reckon those injuries gave him his last chance...

Three prelims for two meek exits and one near miss...hmmm. He'd be line ball I reckon.
Depends. Do you honestly think he had sides that should have beaten those other sides in the prelim. I certainly dont especially the last 2.

that would be right.... :roll:

I dunno why pepole don't have a go at the little boy with the big head - Anthony Hudson. He's hopeless. The number one thing a caller must do is get the players right. As a clearly biased Cats supporter, he hasn't bothered to learn the name of half our team.

Here are my best callers in order:
Dennis
Tim
Bruce
and that is all

Specialist commentators:
Leigh Matthews
Robert Walls
Tom Harley
and that is all

Anyone in radio only is obviously no good otherwise they would be on TV. After all, you don't have to be a blond bimbo to get a gig calling footy, unlike every other job on TV these days.

that would be right.... :roll:
I'm glad you follow every post I make around. I think the problem is that you that old everything you learn off my posts goes in one ear and out the other. I really hope next Sunday you can still remember we had won the GF on Saturday at least so you get 2 days enjoyment.