Vilification?

I see there is an ongoing uproar over comments allegedly hurled at Buddy Franklin and calls to hunt down the perpetrator, yet it is pefectly ok to call our players "rapists". Has the AFL/media ever heard of "criminal defamation"?

Re: Vilification?

Furphy wrote:I see there is an ongoing uproar over comments allegedly hurled at Buddy Franklin and calls to hunt down the perpetrator, yet it is pefectly ok to call our players "rapists". Has the AFL/media ever heard of "criminal defamation"?
You can call someone any name you like if you know they are going to be fearful of responding because of dredging up the past. Malthouse knew this.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Those sort of comments, together with racism and homophobia, are completely unacceptable in today's society.

It only proves how immature the insulters are.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

Remember when "sticks and stones" was rolled out as a repellant.

GrumpyOne wrote:Those sort of comments, together with racism and homophobia, are completely unacceptable in today's society.

Or how the underbelly of Australia is inhabited by ignorant, blissfully incapable, undremployed, overvalued rock apes.

Spend an hour in Gold Coast traffic and you'll see a fair swag of 'em.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'
ThePunter

I remember the 05 Prelim against the Swans at the G.

I was standing next to a group of about 8 blokes (one had his kids with him) and they were Swans fans.

The racist filth directed at James Gwilt coming from their mouths all night was just vile.
I've been going to the footy for probably 26 years, and they were by far the worst people I've ever come across.

They were disgusting.

Fair or not, I've harboured a hatred for Sydney ever since that night.

Does Damien Monkhurst live in Tassie now?

Thinline wrote:
GrumpyOne wrote:Those sort of comments, together with racism and homophobia, are completely unacceptable in today's society.

Or how the underbelly of Australia is inhabited by ignorant, blissfully incapable, undremployed, overvalued rock apes.

Spend an hour in Gold Coast traffic and you'll see a fair swag of 'em.
Yep... Not just Gold Coast traffic either...

Enrico_Misso wrote:Does Damien Monkhurst live in Tassie now?
He is ruck coach at hawthorn, but he played for Woori Yallock on Saturday so I'm sure he wasn't there.

Re: Vilification?

Furphy wrote:I see there is an ongoing uproar over comments allegedly hurled at Buddy Franklin and calls to hunt down the perpetrator, yet it is pefectly ok to call our players "rapists". Has the AFL/media ever heard of "criminal defamation"?
Well if they have they better get hold of the Saints fan about 3 rows behind me at GF2 who screamed "Farking Murderer" at Didak every time he went anywhere near the ball. Had his primary age kid with him too..and not a stich of Saints colours on at a GF :roll:

I know I've posted my visit to M10 for the Richmond game, but to hear James Gwilt to be referred to as "Jemima" a racial slur for Black Americans consistently throughout the game made my stomach churn.

And yes I did challenge the idiot who called Gwilt that terrible name.

I never thought I'd agree with Derek Humphrey-Smith about anything but speaking about the Buddy incident in Tasmania he made a valid point.

Who was standing near this person and did none of them challenge this idiot? If you don't at least try to stand up for what is right then silently all appear to agree with him.

My issue what is the point of then approaching the gate attendant or security or the police to walk up to the abuser and silence the abuse because there is every chance they will walk way and say "no my job"

i have heard racist comments at the footy...robbo said he has heard them too....directed at indigenous footballers...i once heard the filthiest of comments directed t neon leon...by his own supporters,,,,and yes...you guys might not like it...but i have heard racist comments directed at raph by our own supporters...they should all be banned for life from attending afl games....

i actual love watching buddy as a footballer...just as i do a number of indigenous players from the dons and the hawks....

karnak

as much as you may hate what they're saying, protecting freedom of speech is far more important.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!

Racism and freedom of speech aren't on the same page. Ridiculous notion.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

karnak wrote:as much as you may hate what they're saying, protecting freedom of speech is far more important.
If that's freedom of speech, I demand freedom to kick arse.

karnak wrote:as much as you may hate what they're saying, protecting freedom of speech is far more important.
Karnak is a raping, faggot c***.

Yeah, see. Doesn't work, does it.

Thinline wrote:

Ohhh! F*** me. I think we're going to need a box of tissues for this one.

Cairnsman wrote:
Thinline wrote:

As an FNQer I'd expect nothing less. Tell me how are those race relations going in that town of yours?

Thinline wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:
Thinline wrote:

As an FNQer I'd expect nothing less. Tell me how are those race relations going in that town of yours?
Are you a born again Victorian by chance?

I can say what I like, Klansman. Go f*** yourself. Boring faggot boong basher.

Thinline wrote:I can say what I like, Klansman. Go f*** yourself. Boring faggot boong basher.
And see this is where I say the education system has let people like you down. You can be be a better person but first you must think before speak. Think, Speak.

This looks interesting. I might sit and watch for a while.

Cairnsman wrote:
Thinline wrote:I can say what I like, Klansman. Go f*** yourself. Boring faggot boong basher.
And see this is where I say the education system has let people like you down. You can be be a better person but first you must think before speak. Think, Speak.
See, mate, you have helped me illustrate my point. Not that I should l expect you to realise it.

Thinline wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:
See, mate, you have helped me illustrate my point. Not that I should l expect you to realise it.
Look most people are this and that but don’t think they are. It’s called self perception. I’m observing your level of public self righteousness and concluding that you are delusional in your belief that you think you don’t have one prejudice bone in your body and you reinforce this belief as publically as possible at every available opportunity.