Seb Ross

footynut

Seb Ross

I have this feeling that this kid is going to be a ripper this year.
Could anyone tell how his pre-season has been going?
With Watters as coach and looking to give the young blokes a go, does look like pushing for selection early in the season?

Re: Seb Ross

dunno. all i know he lives with crippsy.

I'm hoping he'll follow Lenny around and develop as our next inside mid that can read the play, get it and give it off - acurately.

Sick Nal Danto

PJ wrote:I'm hoping he'll follow Lenny around and develop as our next inside mid that can read the play, get it and give it off - acurately.
Lenny has already chosen Tom Ledger as his main student and really believes he can make it

Scott has said the Seb is similair to Nicky Dal.......I'm sure most of us wouldn't mind another Nick Dal Santo :D

StGoddard18

I have put him in my dream team. I've gotta a feeling..

Follow me on Twitter @Prestie18

i'm with you on that. my only worry is that ethical bunch at essenscum will poach him 2-3 years time

defacto wrote:i'm with you on that. my only worry is that ethical bunch at essenscum will poach him 2-3 years time
seb ross = future skipper of saints. after bj.

defacto wrote:i'm with you on that. my only worry is that ethical bunch at essenscum will poach him 2-3 years time

What happened to Farren Ray?

I heard Farren would be coach - after Harves, before BJ, who will be before Seb.

(But then my source may have been on the sauce.) :?:

he's listed at 187cm and my first thought was 'that can't be right' - but if so he's taller than I thought
same with Lenny a little bit at 186cm but I knew he was taller than he looks
blokes with shorter legs and longer bodies can have misleading heights
I don't know how insightful my post is

stkildathunda

Possibly but this bit in recent article on him really stood out.

"Although just starting out on his blossoming football career, Seb’s ultimate dream is to win a Premiership with St Kilda, but for now, he’s content focusing on his pre-season."

http://www.saints.com.au/news/newsartic ... fault.aspx

Sick Nal Danto

Don't put too much pressure on the young man :D

Seb Ross has a good pedigree but that doesn't always guarantee anything but pressure. I heard whispers about him before we got him comparing him to James Hird so he comes with some good credentials also, he seems a very driven and serious young guy.

At the end of the day it is up to the players we drafted to take their opportunity and run with it. I met a guy when I was in Tassie and he thought Jimmy Webster would be a gun for us, any one of our new guys could bolt or fall away. They have talent to have got this far, just need to apply it.

Sam Fisher, Sam Gilbert, Gwilt etc. won't the guys that on paper jumped out at you but all have become very good players for us. I don't care if it's Seb, Milera, Webster, stanley anyone, just want a bolter this year.

lefty

I think Seb is going to be good.

You can just tell, hes not the joking kind of bloke, he looks serious and solid. Look forward to seeing him, just hope he doesn't leave after a few years.

Reminds me of when Steven Baker was in his first preseason at the club.

Sick Nal Danto

Zed wrote:Reminds me of when Steven Baker was in his first preseason at the club.
Didn't bakes nearly get sent home by Sebs uncle (Tim Watson), for not being serious enough ?

All I can say is I've never seen a first year rookie compared to as many players, Pendles, Dal and Hird to name a few...

It would surprise me to see him in the first half of the year but I so think he'll be a beauty.

So I take it he is the new Rhys Stanley or Tommy Walsh? Never pulled the boots on for us and the captaincy and brownlow should be handed over now.

No wonder he looks a little uptight. Just a little expectation. Go the new James Hird.

If he is any good it MUST be assumed Essendon are talking to him.
Demetriou has proven that the AFL can not be trusted to enforce no poaching rules.

That means if Seb Ross is ever allowed pass through a trade period with less than 12 months on his contract, he will be lost for no return.
He simply says lets talk at the end of the season.
Then come the end of season he makes it known to the world that he will only be happy at Essendon.
He rejects all trades and refuses to talk to any other club like Luke Ball.

There is no place for the incompetent imbeciles who wait until a player has less than a season to go on there contract before starting negotiations.

He must be re-signed the year before.
If he refuses to sign then he is traded to the highest bidder.
He has to go or St Kilda wont give him a game all the next season.

It is time for the club to show a glimmer of professionalism.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

ace wrote:If he is any good it MUST be assumed Essendon are talking to him.
Demetriou has proven that the AFL can not be trusted to enforce no poaching rules.

That means if Seb Ross is ever allowed pass through a trade period with less than 12 months on his contract, he will be lost for no return.
He simply says lets talk at the end of the season.
Then come the end of season he makes it known to the world that he will only be happy at Essendon.
He rejects all trades and refuses to talk to any other club like Luke Ball.

There is no place for the incompetent imbeciles who wait until a player has less than a season to go on there contract before starting negotiations.

He must be re-signed the year before.
If he refuses to sign then he is traded to the highest bidder.
He has to go or St Kilda wont give him a game all the next season.

It is time for the club to show a glimmer of professionalism.
Like most 18/19 year old first year players he's just happy to be on an AFL list. Don't read into it too much.

dont all draftees get mandatory 2 year contracts?
and the whole essendon thing is a media beat up. They always say his uncle AND his cousin play/ed for essedon likes it some thing big thing. well yes thats 2 people just cos tim is jobes dad. big whoops. i seriously doubt he gives a hoot.
i remember the press conference when we drafted him and they tried to say oh i wish u were drafted by essendon and he was like oh well i kind of went for them but u know im happy.
reality is he could easily be at gws or gc or port adelaide or brissie . so im tipping hes happy to be a saint.
sheesh. bombers fans brobably think oh jack newnes shoud be a bomber. its a national league. this kind of rubbish is way out of school. seb will be like everyone else. if we treat him right and he gets mates he will stay.

After around 20 months, it is the end of July and a 2 year contract has only 3 months to run.
A player can be stood down for all of August and maybe September if they refuse to re-sign.
The player can then nominate for the drafts in November having had their agent make it clear to all that they are only going to Essendon.

On the other hand after around 10 months it is the end of September.
The 2 year contract has 13 months to run.
A player can be offerred a contract extension.
If the player refuses to re-sign, he can be told he will be traded to the highest bidder.
His only alternative is to stand out of football for the following season.

This is what happens in international soccer.
The player either re-signs or is traded with the club getting full trade value for the player.
Those soccer clubs never allow a player to enter the final season of a contract.
The contract is ALWAYS extended first or a trade made.

Tommy Walsh went to Sydney for squat because his contract had not been extended a year earlier.
Luke Ball went to Coliingwood for nothing because his contract had not been extended a year earlier.

Both a result of amateurs in charge of list and contract management.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

ace wrote:After around 20 months, it is the end of July and a 2 year contract has only 3 months to run.
A player can be stood down for all of August and maybe September if they refuse to re-sign.
The player can then nominate for the drafts in November having had their agent make it clear to all that they are only going to Essendon.

On the other hand after around 10 months it is the end of September.
The 2 year contract has 13 months to run.
A player can be offerred a contract extension.
If the player refuses to re-sign, he can be told he will be traded to the highest bidder.
His only alternative is to stand out of football for the following season.

This is what happens in international soccer.
The player either re-signs or is traded with the club getting full trade value for the player.
Those soccer clubs never allow a player to enter the final season of a contract.
The contract is ALWAYS extended first or a trade made.

Tommy Walsh went to Sydney for squat because his contract had not been extended a year earlier.
Luke Ball went to Coliingwood for nothing because his contract had not been extended a year earlier.

Both a result of amateurs in charge of list and contract management.
what are u talking about? the guy is 3 months in to a 24 month contract.
what would a professional do?

re european soccer. they have 2 trade windows per year. so usually when a guy is out of contract and does not re-sign they trade him 6 months from the end of the contract. in the afl. realistically it is about the same. if someone hasnt signed 6 months before november(of their final year) u are in trouble. but in this case we have 21 months. in november 2012 the club would be fully in control . in december it probably shifts toward the player with 10 months left. so really we dont have to do jack for at least 8 months. but really april 2013 would be the crux point. what are you on about?

I can only guess the following:

1. You are some kind of saint hater
2. You are sebs manager or dad.
3. You are Darren Gaspars Manager.

Seriously. Lets not discuss this guys contract until minimum October 2012. IF he shows promise then ill be worried IF hes not re-signed by June 2013. A full 16 months away. Until then lets just enjoy the ride.
FFS.

Question, did Jack Voldt sign with the Saints? Have the Selwoods changed clubs? Seb is a saint and until he says otherwise he is a champ and a saint for life now. I reckon we are creating a culture where we can and will retain talent for their career!

Yeah, just like Brendan Goddard left us to go to Carlton after one or two years.

No need to panic at this stage. The sky is not falling.......