Wangaratta Weather

Just checked BOM weather observations for Wang. Apparently they have had over 78mm of rain in the last 24 hours. To put this in perspective, the March average in the region is 45mm. They are also saying that the whole North East of the state could get over 200mm by Saturday and towns around Shepparton are starting to sandbag.

We were planning to drive up on Saturday morning, but now might just forget it.

Re: Wangaratta Weather

Strange circumstance, I don't reckon the club would want to risk any players on a rain sodden oval either.

SainterK wrote:Strange circumstance, I don't reckon the club would want to risk any players on a rain sodden oval either.
We may have no choice.

I reckon the game will happen regardless of the weather.

The AFL will put fans first and player safety second IMO.

The trick is to play the kids and rest up all our guns if necessary.

But if it's not too horrendous it's good wet weather practice - we will most like cop a few rain effected venues during the real season.

Leo.J

Not alot to gain from a match practice persective, if this weather continues.

Alot to lose if something goes wrong.

Lets hope the AFL uses logic and calls it off.

Hang on... the AFL and logic!

Whats the word ... Oxymoron???

iremember66

hamstrings anyone???

Well schools have been cancelled here. 100mm expected Saturday and Sunday.

Buckets wrote:Well schools have been cancelled here. 100mm expected Saturday and Sunday.
Something somehow appropriate about you giving us the news with that username :P

hellorocky

from someone that knows the ground very well - "the ground has perfect drainage, it will be wet but not water logged"

The cycle track is concrete and the area behind the boundary fence for standing is fully grassed.

The Ovens floods every time there is heavy rain, there will be localised flooding around the place but it won't 'cut' Wangaratta off.

Leo.J

hellorocky wrote:from someone that knows the ground very well - "the ground has perfect drainage, it will be wet but not water logged"

The cycle track is concrete and the area behind the boundary fence for standing is fully grassed.

The Ovens floods every time there is heavy rain, there will be localised flooding around the place but it won't 'cut' Wangaratta off.

I don't know the area so I trust you, however, when was the last time you guys copped that much rain?

That much I mean by what is forecast?

Buckets wrote:Well schools have been cancelled here. 100mm expected Saturday and Sunday.
Something somehow appropriate about you giving us the news with that username :P

Haha nice :)

Thankful to be home after an interesting trip on water covered roads!

SainterK wrote:Strange circumstance, I don't reckon the club would want to risk any players on a rain sodden oval either.
We may have no choice.

I reckon the game will happen regardless of the weather.

The AFL will put fans first and player safety second IMO.

The trick is to play the kids and rest up all our guns if necessary.

But if it's not too horrendous it's good wet weather practice - we will most like cop a few rain effected venues during the real season.
Pretty sure the AFL has a duty of care to provide a safe Work Place. Surely the AFL wouldnt risk anything. :roll:

stkildathunda

Bordermail are reporting that large part of Wang Showground, which is slated for Ess-St.K match on Saturday night, is under water, some parts up to 25cm deep.

Foz

The district received up to 100mm Wednesday night into Thursday morning.

We received about 80mm Monday night.

My contact has spoken to the events co-ordinator at Wang Council at 10am today. The teams are coming up still and my contact said on email "The ground is very wet currently, but procedures are in place to get the water away before the big day."

The new drainage will be tested! The rains currently cleared near Wang and the forecast is just showers for Friday, though rain is forecast Saturday.

I'll see if i can get another update Friday morning.

philtee

Chance for some of the young players to make a splash.

http://www.weeklytimesnow.com.au/articl ... footy.html

WANGARATTA Showgrounds will be "better than the MCG" for Saturday's NAB Cup clash, despite heavy rain in the region. "The ground had 92mm on it on Sunday night and by 11am on Monday you wouldn't have known it had been raining," he said. Wangaratta received another 79mm in the 24 hours to 9am today, bringing its total to 177mm in the week to 9am today.

"There's a lot of water on it at the moment, but the rain is easing off and if it stops this afternoon like it's supposed to, (the surface water) will be all gone tonight."

@HarfTimeSEN: Robson says club (Essendon) is working in consultation with AFL as to whether Saturday's clash with Saints at Wangaratta will go ahead.

I put in a vote for Casey Fields if it doesn't go aheat at Wang.

Look at the positives, may slow em down....and Saints actually have a chance :wink:

stkildathunda

What are people whinging about, the ground looks great :lol: :lol:

stairwaytoheaven

We are expecting another 20 to 40mm on Satusrday. They are working hard to get rid of excess water and the ground does drain welll
It would be really disappointing if they called it off, all the hard work and eveything that has been to date .
Anyway folks if it goes ahead bring ya warm clothes, raincoats and gumbies and hopefully will see a great game without injuries.
If they do happen to call it off i will undestand, we will have copius amounts of food left over.

"We'll be monitoring the situation over the next 24 hours, but the way the forecast is at present and the way it's looking outside, it's not so bad."

AFL spokesman Patrick Keane said the League was not making contingency plans.

"We're watching it, but there's no intention to do anything different," Keane said.

"The ground may well be very heavy, but we're a winter sport and sometimes we have wet grounds.": http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:"We'll be monitoring the situation over the next 24 hours, but the way the forecast is at present and the way it's looking outside, it's not so bad."

AFL spokesman Patrick Keane said the League was not making contingency plans.

"We're watching it, but there's no intention to do anything different," Keane said.

"The ground may well be very heavy, but we're a winter sport and sometimes we have wet grounds.": http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx
No contingency plans for a praccy match?

Fair Dinkum, time the AFL get their heads out of their arse and see what's happening!

Another big drink Saturday night and the ground will be knee deep in water again.

I can't imagine it has the ability to soak up another big dump after around 200 mills has fallen in a few days.

There is talk of another 80mm dump in parts of Nth Vic on Saturday night, but maybe they're confident it won't affect that area. It could get ugly if it does, though. They'd better take their bathers. Then there's the issue of getting everyone out of the area if there is local flooding on the roads, which would make things interesting.

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:There is talk of another 80mm dump in parts of Nth Vic on Saturday night, but maybe they're confident it won't affect that area. It could get ugly if it does, though. They'd better take their bathers. Then there's the issue of getting everyone out of the area if there is local flooding on the roads, which would make things interesting.
Remember that the sandpit at AFL house is about a kilometer deep!

Terrible situation.

Nothing to gain but sore bodies and injuries. Leave all the ok to elite back here

It's alright Peakeys taking precautions
http://twitpic.com/8qj4aa

and Milney's putting in pracice.
http://www.twitvid.com/IS32V

But AFL 360 had two photos one morning and one afternoon and you couldn't tell there had been water over- high rise to centre of ground and it's drained.