"I was wrong"- amazing

http://www.sportal.com.au/afl-news-disp ... lda-179476

Walls: I was wrong about St Kilda

31/5/2012 7:11 PM
AFL commentator Robert Walls says he is pleased to eat his words after dismissing St Kilda's premiership chances prior to this season.

When the Saints bowed out of the finals in the first week last September and lost coach Ross Lyon to Fremantle just a few days later, Walls was convinced the club's premiership window had been slammed shut after they went agonisingly close in 2009 and 2010.

But the former Carlton and Brisbane coach has liked what he's seen of the Saints so far in 2012, with impressive results in the last three weeks over Carlton and Sydney suggesting St Kilda could go deep in September.
with video

andrewg

Re: "I was wrong"- amazing

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat!! Wow! He hates us.

Walls comments are meaningless and this is no different

Ironic that he mentions that we are averaging 3 goals a game better this year than last…

I seem to remember Ross saying that we wanted to try and kick about 3 more goals a game before last season, does anyone remember that?

dragit wrote:Ironic that he mentions that we are averaging 3 goals a game better this year than last…

I seem to remember Ross saying that we wanted to try and kick about 3 more goals a game before last season, does anyone remember that?
Ross was saying things like that for 3 years!

p!ss off Walls - we dont need that flog hop on/off us like a cheap u know what..

dragit wrote:Ironic that he mentions that we are averaging 3 goals a game better this year than last…

He said it at the AGM after the 2009 season.

dragit wrote:I seem to remember Ross saying that we wanted to try and kick about 3 more goals a game before last season, does anyone remember that?
Yeah, he used to pay lip service to that idea every year and then never deviate from his dull and unimaginative game.

He's a liar.
Last edited by bigcarl on Fri 01 Jun 2012 11:49am, edited 1 time in total.

Enrico_Misso wrote:

I found it bizarre that any coach would put such a statistic on approximately scientifically according to my notepad kicking 3 extra goals per game.

Surely take it as it comes. Surely if the team is doing what it is meant to do but also talent is reaching almost full potential then one would assume a team would be successful.

Not just with the addition of 3 extra goals per game.

andrewg wrote:Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat!! Wow! He hates us.
Nah just Lyon and Dawson.

Fazer

He rates Richmond better than us though in today's AGE

Fazer wrote:He rates Richmond better than us though in today's AGE
That's a relief. I have such a low opinion of Walls's football expertise that the fact that he has started rating us again had me a bit worried. But, if he believes the Tigers are better than us, at least I can feel that we are a pretty good chance to win tonight.
Last edited by meher baba on Fri 01 Jun 2012 11:55am, edited 1 time in total.

The Redeemer wrote:I found it bizarre that any coach would put such a statistic on approximately scientifically according to my notepad kicking 3 extra goals per game.

Surely take it as it comes. Surely if the team is doing what it is meant to do but also talent is reaching almost full potential then one would assume a team would be successful.

It is an odd figure…
I always got the feeling that when we played Essendon, they just thought that if they could slam on 10 goals in the first half, it is not within the Saints game plan to comeback…
When you win 70-odd - to 60-odd most of the time, it's pretty hard to combat a side trying to score 150 if they are any good.
Footy does change, maybe the game has moved on from Ross's strangler-plan… let's hope so. If the dockers miss the finals this year or lose one easily, and then start the same next year it will be interesting to see if he can adapt.
Winning ugly fine, but losing ugly has a pretty short shelf-life.

The Redeemer wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:

I found it bizarre that any coach would put such a statistic on approximately scientifically according to my notepad kicking 3 extra goals per game.

Old adage - attack for memberships, defence for premierships

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

I don't read any footy journalists anymore,though I do over indulge on Fox Footy shows.

The most reactive 'proffessionals' I have ever come across. They will write a side off one week after one bad performance. They will talk about the cracks that are appearing and doomsday scenarios. There is rarely a side that go's through a year without a few weak performances,it's part and parcel of the caper. You can't be up every week in such a cut throat competition,everyone's out there trying there best,and sooner or later you'll have a flat spot no matter how good you are. As soon as a top side has there bad weak,the crumbing media are ready wit there knifes out

So when they jump on a sides bandwagon after 1-2 good weeks I find it equally as laughable.

It's uaually pretty predictable. Be in the top 4 or be within striking distance of the top 4,and compete well against the top 4,then you're in with a chance. Having a season that stops and starts 3-4 times,you're generally just making up the numbers.

FortiusQuoFidelius

saintly wrote:

One goal per year... :lol:

saintbrat wrote:http://www.sportal.com.au/afl-news-disp ... lda-179476

Walls: I was wrong about St Kilda

31/5/2012 7:11 PM
AFL commentator Robert Walls says he is pleased to eat his words after dismissing St Kilda's premiership chances prior to this season.

When the Saints bowed out of the finals in the first week last September and lost coach Ross Lyon to Fremantle just a few days later, Walls was convinced the club's premiership window had been slammed shut after they went agonisingly close in 2009 and 2010.

But the former Carlton and Brisbane coach has liked what he's seen of the Saints so far in 2012, with impressive results in the last three weeks over Carlton and Sydney suggesting St Kilda could go deep in September.
with video
Walls is such a wanker i am still amazed he has a job in the media.

ShanghaiSaint wrote: Walls is such a wanker i am still amazed he has a job in the media.
Surely being a wanker is a plus if you're working in the media :P

well its about time

jonesy wrote:I don't read any footy journalists anymore,though I do over indulge on Fox Footy shows.

The most reactive 'proffessionals' I have ever come across. They will write a side off one week after one bad performance. They will talk about the cracks that are appearing and doomsday scenarios. There is rarely a side that go's through a year without a few weak performances,it's part and parcel of the caper. You can't be up every week in such a cut throat competition,everyone's out there trying there best,and sooner or later you'll have a flat spot no matter how good you are. As soon as a top side has there bad weak,the crumbing media are ready wit there knifes out

So when they jump on a sides bandwagon after 1-2 good weeks I find it equally as laughable.

It's uaually pretty predictable. Be in the top 4 or be within striking distance of the top 4,and compete well against the top 4,then you're in with a chance. Having a season that stops and starts 3-4 times,you're generally just making up the numbers.

That is exactly what happens on here with a lot of people.

ShanghaiSaint wrote: Walls is such a wanker i am still amazed he has a job in the media.
Surely being a wanker is a plus if you're working in the media :P
Cool. I'm now officially the greatest media figure in the country, my wife reckons!

By the same logic, Onionhead McFadden is a Pulitzer Prize winner

FortiusQuoFidelius wrote:
saintly wrote:

One goal per year... :lol:
Maybe Ross meant he would try and get Freo to kick at least 3 goals a game...

there's another little saints hater on SEN, I think it's Anthony Hudson 'Huddo' I might be wrong but he never gave the saints a break.... really pissed me off.

and that d**khead Barnes on Marngrook last week.

That old hammer was also spotted in The Age today pumping the Tigers' tyres. It's a good thing he's a fossil as he can get a pensioners pass for all the bandwagons he jumps on.

Seriously, his opinion is of absolutely no value.