Harry O'brien decision incorrect - AFL

no surprise really but
.... :x

Re: Harry O'brien decision incorrect - AFL

link.....brat...an article?

What about the non-free kick to Kosi when he hit the filth guy? And the rest of the non free kicks we were dudded by the umps but the filth received the corresponding type of frees? Any mention of those by the dumps department?

chook23 wrote:link.....brat...an article?
afl media outlets are a little busy with' big' stories
was announced on Ch ten news right at the very end,

will await the Giesch chat.

Had a Carlton mate who went to the - hates both sides- but simply said.... You guys were dudded...simply by amount of free kicks you didn't get!

We've been screwed over I've no doubt but nothing will change and we will continue to be for years

FWIW Watters reaction is right.... blaming umps will only hide glaring pathetic execution and skill errors by professional footballers paid hundreds of k's to know better

Teflon wrote:Had a Carlton mate who went to the - hates both sides- but simply said.... You guys were dudded...simply by amount of free kicks you didn't get!

We've been screwed over I've no doubt but nothing will change and we will continue to be for years

FWIW Watters reaction is right.... blaming umps will only hide glaring pathetic execution and skill errors by professional footballers paid hundreds of k's to know better

I was with another Saint and two of his Pie mates and they were very amused at how much went their way. Winners are grinners, they kept saying they weren't used to getting all the free though.

Where's this announced???

Disgrace and Margetts ought to be demoted - just cost a side their season

Teflon wrote:Had a Carlton mate who went to the - hates both sides- but simply said.... You guys were dudded...simply by amount of free kicks you didn't get!

everyone I've passed today has said we were robbed.
but I've replied that it wasn't the last decision that was worse- it was the 4 that weren't paid or paid the other way prior that affected us more

Lenny pinged for a throw for an action MOST footballers do when pinned at the bottom of a pack
CJ being held for metres and then getting paid against
and one saint- will need to re look- who was being winged and paid holding the ball.

Dermie Believes that aletter is going to St Kilda from AFL opoligising for the state/ spate of free kicks in the last quarter including the O'brien one. free kicks 9 Pies to Saints 1

saintbrat wrote:Dermie Believes that aletter is going to St Kilda from AFL opoligising for the state/ spate of free kicks in the last quarter including the O'brien one. free kicks 9 Pies to Saints 1
also the frees that should have been paid to saints

Too late and unless they drop the umpires pointless.

And next season we'll probably wear the crap decisions as the other umpires display their resentment at the treatment of their umpire mates after this game.

tony74 actually noted this info at 11.30 this morning

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=77231&start=50
Re: Where are the umpire apologists tonight?
by tony74 » Mon 06 Aug 11:57 am

Umpire board have just admitted the O'brien free kick was unwarranted.tony74
and thinline
by Thinline » Mon 06 Aug 1:56 pm
Thinline wrote:
Umps have officially conceded the error by the way.
I should have added 'so I've heard'.
and gosaintersgo
e: Patrick Smith's view on the umpiring
by GoSaintersGo » Mon 06 Aug 1:29 pm
Umpires Dept. have reported that the free kick to O'Brien was INCORRECT. So up roars Fatprick Smith.
No mention on all the other mistakes in favour of the Filth is noted - might be embarrasing to the AFL and Dimwit.
GoSaintersGo

So we will get a bucket load of frees this week where we don't need them against the lowly Dees and get the dud end the next week against duckwood and his Cats

This is really rubbing our nose in it, we knew it was wrong, we admit it was wrong, but hey what are you going to do about it.

However like that other game that cruelled us of a bigger prize, what really beat us was a poor 2nd quarter again.
We produce the same effort we did for the other three quarters and we would have been 3-4 goals up when the siren went.

We bought 100% effort against Essendon, against the Swans at Etihad and Carlton when they we're flying high, and we won comfortably every time.

Adelaide was another poor 2nd quarter as was Sydney at the SCG.

That is a problem.

The irony is Margetts will be the one to get an arm slap :evil:

Move on from this one folks! Time to focus on the NEXT games!!!!!

R. Harvey 3 votes!

thejiggingsaint wrote:Move on from this one folks! Time to focus on the NEXT games!!!!!
Good call Jigg! Ps: I think I have seen you standing up the back at Etihad where we run out mate!

When Harvey played his first game in 1988, I was a 12yo wearing short pants and struggling with my readin', writin' and 'rithmetic in grade eight. Now, I'm a father of three and a retired AFL player. And he's still going. Amazing! - Michael Voss
ralphsmith

Get rid of DEan Margetts. Hopeless decision making, clearly not up to the standard we want frm afl umpires.

too easily swayed by the roaring collingwood fans.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

thejiggingsaint wrote:Move on from this one folks! Time to focus on the NEXT games!!!!!
What, five days of discussion on the BIG ONE against Melbourne? I don't think that's going to happen. It's worth about a day. And as far as the other games are concerned, let's take it one week at a time.

It's not the first time that the umpiring department has owned up to costing the Saints. In the 2009 GF, the review found two incorrect decisions. First, the ball hitting the post being given a Geelong goal and second, a holding the man decision not paid to the Saints (20m out) in the last quarter. When the siren sounded, we were a goal behind.

St Lenny

The are going to send us a letter, how lovely and thoughtful of them. That will help us heaps.

ozrulestrace wrote:Too late and unless they drop the umpires pointless.

And next season we'll probably wear the crap decisions as the other umpires display their resentment at the treatment of their umpire mates after this game.
First way to fix this is to make an even draw - wont happen.
Second way is to stop changing the games rules at a whim - wont happen
Third way is to provide enough time to umpires to train their skills on the games rules and application by leaving alone the AFL game rules - wont happen.
Fourth way is to hold umpires accountable for poor games - doesnt happen enough now.
Fifth way is to insist on a technology for review of contentios decisions made in teh last 10 minutes of every game - wont happen but needs to due to points 1 to 4 above and the criticality of decisions taken late in a close game (still wont happen).
Sixth way to fix the problem is to remove Herr Dictator and Anderson and drup them before making their next decision - wont happen, wont be any worse than current state but maybe fun to watch.

Unless we are players with the club, I don't see how it matters whether we focus on the next games or not.

Mrs_Seaford_Saint

Pretty simple really - the umpires hate Milne as seen by the 50 mtr plenty given for swearing (me thinks they all do it) and the free given to o'verated in the dying min of the game - not to mention the rest - what gives me more anger is filth supporters on talk back "claiming" Milne racially vilified O'verated that makes me want to punch the wall more!

Am I misssing something. So if the free hadn't been paid it sounds like from all the carry-on that we would have certainly won the match.